We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place with a Great Mission”
Review of Animal Ark

Animal Ark
Ranked #9 of 125 things to do in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
309 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Great Place with a Great Mission”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Although it takes a bit to get there, it's about 12 miles off the highway, it is well worth it. The chance to see a white tiger, cheetahs (one actually hissed at me this trip) and lounging mountain lions is time well spent. They also have bear feedings, she apparently likes the sweet strawberries best.

The Ark is also interesting for alternative energy fans as the entire place is off the grid. There are solar panels everywhere (they have to power electrical fences throughout and around the park) as well as a windmill. Just a very interesting and clean place.

One other thing to look for is their Cheetah Runs and Raptor days. It is an additional charge, but when do you have a chance to see a cheetah chase a ribbon (apparently a stuffed animal makes them a little territorial) at full speed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank CoyoteIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    55
    10
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Had so much fun!”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

I love animals and was really looking forward to seeing this sanctuary for animals that could not be released back into the wild. It was a windy day with some rain but there is shelter from the rain at each animal habitat. My grandmother was not sure if she could make the walk and they had golf carts for rent so she didn't have to try to walk. Most of the animals were out and it was fascinating to be able to see their stories of how they got to be at the animal ark. I recommend this to any animal lover, it was a fun couple of hours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limon, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Loved It”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The day we visited Animal Ark it was chilly, windy, and lightly raining. This was fine because all the animals were out. Animal Ark is a wonderful sanctuary and well-managed facility. It is clear that the animals are well cared for and content. It is off the beaten path but totally worth the drive.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Joy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cohasset, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to see”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I'm so glad we got there first thing in the morning. The office was still closed when we found the Animal Ark outside of Reno. Much later in the day and it would have been too warm for me (I don't deal with heat very well).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Nikki R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

While planning a trip to Reno/Tahoe, I came across a deal for two for one admission to
Animal Ark. I am so glad we went!
Having just had knee surgery, they offered me a golf cart to do the trails. They suggested a $10 donation for the use of the golf cart, but we ended up gladly giving them $20. The work that they do is wonderful in the rehabilitation of these animals...the stories of these animals were both heart-breaking and heart-warming. Animal Ark is a must-do for animal lovers...we left feeling up-lifted and thankful that people like the volunteers here exist. Please support Animal Ark!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nancy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Animal Ark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing