We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great small Zoo!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Safari Zoo

Sierra Safari Zoo
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great small Zoo!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Even though this zoo is small, it has some exotic animals that you wouldn't find at any larger zoos such as the Oakland Zoo, San Francisco Zoo etc.. For an example would a Black Leopard, Liger, Canadian Lynx and Two Toed Sloth.

The zoo can viewed in 35 minutes but depending on if you have younger children, you can feed the deers and goats for 1 dollar so it can be longer then 35 minutes. Yes, since it is a
small zoo, this place is a little rundown(signs, cages). The cages are starting to wear down because you can see the bottom fencing appear.

This zoo is cheap and I would definitely recommend to go to if you have never seen a Liger. A lion mixed with a tiger. Overall, it was great. Also this place is all wheel chair accessed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    12
    12
    8
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lions look sad :(”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Honestly the Lions looked depressed I had fun throughout the whole experience but how they caged the Lions had me really sad. :(

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Taahinehaafeva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Only place to see such animals in Northern Nevada. Very enlightening.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Surprised at animal variety in such a small zoo. The exotic cats were the highlight as well a few other animals I've not seen for many years, since last visit to S.F. zoo and San Diago.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just right”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

For everyone putting this place down. Do your research.. This place doesnt inbreed animals, they rescue animals who have deformaties or cant live in the wild anymore. No grass or rocks to climb? Have you ever been to africa? That continent is 75 percent desert and dry savanah low lands. They live in the sun and love it. Voulenteer your time here like I did myself and youll understand the animals are all very happy and the people running it do a great job. This place saves animals, hace petting zoos for childern, and you can voulenteer and get closer to the animals while learning so much. This place is great and more zoos should look at the little guys and take notes. Keep your animals happy and worry less about the net profit.. Love reno!!

Helpful?
6 Thank jhaines0605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great zoo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I've been to many zoos, from the St. Louis to the San Diego. The first Mondays of the month are free, so it's a little too crazy. My three year old son loved it. He liked petting the deer and goats. They have an alligator, zebras, and a lot of other nice animals. It's small, but it's nice that Reno has something like this.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank britnie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sierra Safari Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing