We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Won't come back"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Reviewed September 1, 2012

First I must mention that the young man at the front desk was very friendly, pleasant, and efficient. Having said that, we will not stay here again. It is located at the corner of two VERY busy and noisy main streets, the building and furnishings are very old, the room dark, and I did not consider it that clean. We were in the rooms numbered in the 500's, perhaps it is an older section? We decided to take anything potentially considered valuable to the room with us rather than leave things in the car. One of the towels was very dirty-looking (stained?) The only reason we decided to stay here in the first place is that it was Labor Day weekend and there was nothing else available in the entire Reno area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 122 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We travel to Reno once or twice a year to visit family and discovered this place several years ago. While it's not luxurious, it is clean, comfortable and very close to shopping, casinos, freeways and just about any restaurant you can imagine. We always get the second floor king bed room which is very roomy with a large outdoor balcony, refridgerator, table & chairs as well as a recliner chair. Our room just had brand new carpeting put in and it looks like they're still working on it in other areas. The swimming pool here is great, heated (in season) and 3 - 10 feet deep. There are many trees and flowers on the property especially in the courtyard area which makes you forget that your right in the middle of central Reno! The complimentary buffet style breakfast is in the onsite restaurant and is I think a step up from most small hotels - sausage, hard boiled eggs, bagels, waffles, yogurt, juice etc. My only disappointment this trip was that the family of cats who had lived outdoors on the property for years and were very guest friendly had been removed by new management. Sorry to see them go.

Room Tip: We prefer the upstairs king bedded rooms
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amtravels54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

This was our second stay at this motel. It is an older motel, but the room was clean and we spent a quiet night. It cost $71.18 for a non-smoking, queen bed. They served an average breakfast, but the room had no table or chairs for eating. We set at a table outside the door. I would have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingBirdsWeAre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is an older property but very well kept up and very clean. The room we had was on the second floor and we had a nice balcony that overlooked the pool. Breakfast was included some hot items as well as pasterys and cold cerial.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edsel13304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

I found this inn on-line and booked it. Got there about 10 pm. Check-in was easy. The room was decent for the price. The WIFI was relatively fast.

However:

The A/C didn't work but I was too tired to change rooms. Since the fan was functioning it kept the room at a just tolerable temperature. There was a cigarette burn in the one of the bedspreads about the size of a quarter. The screen to the outdoor terrace kept sliding off its track and had to be re-set each time it was opened.

I told the person at the front desk about the A/C at checkout. He told me the system was old and needed to be replaced. Not really the response one would expect. This inn has potential but the staff need to be more responsive to the operational condition of the basic items mentioned above.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Overall my experience was very good. When I checked in the people at the desk were nice, my room was clean, larger than I thought it would be and only cost $85 in season with tax. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank goingtomontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Friendly staff, rooms were OK but the whole place was very dated. The courtyard and swimming pool area was a mess. The breakfast was OK.
I had a very cool shower. That was the "straw that broke the camels back" for me.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor and no noise from anywhere.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Reno
Vagabond Inn Reno
#37 of 64 in Reno
51 reviews
1.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
635 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#41 of 64 in Reno
229 reviews
1.3 mi away
Airport Plaza Hotel
Airport Plaza Hotel
#13 of 64 in Reno
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center

Address: 1885 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-3401 (Formerly Quality Inn South Reno)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range: $57 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center 2*
Number of rooms: 103
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Econo Lodge Near Reno-Sparks Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn South Reno Hotel Reno
Quality Inn Reno
Reno Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing