We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cal Neva Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Save
You added Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino to your Saves list
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cal Neva Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

They have a very good prime rib dinner for $5.99 that includes a salad and fries/mashed/or rice. There is ample parking across the street and if you park on level three, just take the skywalk directly to the restaurant. It was so good I had dinner and late lunch during my 24 hour stay in Reno.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    40
    39
    10
    24
See reviews for
25
53
26
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

I've stayed A good many weeks at the hotel off & on and with very "accommodating service , always given by most all hotel staff from a very courteous hotel manager "Breea"not sure of spelling, to "Tammey" on late night shift front desk, they gave me access to a secured lock box to keep some of my $ for safe convenience. then there is. "Dan" and the other courteous "bellmen", and the maids kindly make sure that I may have any room amenities, supplies refilled or replaced arerreplaced on request without having to wait long + the rooms are so nice and sound quiet & acceptably clean.. The "hotel manager " authorized a stay over an extra night, as she seemed concerned for my well being, as I might not appeared to be up to snuff to check out in a vigilant frame of mind for safety reasons! That demonstrated good old-school class professionalism like back in the day, when poeple in my age bracket remember , annybody who is a hotel guest, are kindly treated and appreciated & aknowlaged respectively The friendly security staff are for the most part, are very patient to all types of situations of guests having trouble beeing attentive due to various situations as to notice in my surroundings with maybe a guest having had one drink to many most of your employees seem to treat guests the way I'm sure they would want to be treated. The security staff are respectively patient to patrons that may be in need of being advised to inappropriate behavior as well. All in all I appreciate the all but almost reminiscent and often missed rhythm of the good ol days gone but kept alive offering a convenience of adequate service adjustments accordingly. For me, CAL-NEVA is not to small yet not to largely intimidating to represent yesterday to the pleasure of all the native nevadans who's parents that werein the casino business in tune with the present, yet reminiscent to a unique past Copper Ledge is quiet and comfortably accommodating with a high-level personal touch (very affordable priced menu) great professionally staffed with a unique over look view of the casino &entertainment action below just as well to to all but gone great lunch counter in the Top Deck Restaurant . The snack bar chef's are fast & friendly .The pasta place appropriately themed with affordable prices & great special's in all food outlets. Thanks "CAL-NEVA" for keeping a good part of Nevada's past alive, especially through challenging economic times, and allowing any Nevada native a nice memory ! PS. I was conceived at the old CAL-NEVA lodge state line north shore tahoe in 1955 as my father worked the casino floor the CAL-NEVA Reno has a great location conveniently close to great cultural outdoor events by the beautifully redeveloped Truckee river walk. In my opinion, it's a keeper!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ADRENALINEBLUE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

The day that I visited, the restaurant was very busy. The kitchen staff easily handled the rush. The menu has a great variety of dishes and a ton of great values. This is the best overall place for great food at terrific value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Five of us went to Reno to attend a family wedding so we had a few days to explore the area and decided to eat at the Cal-Neva Pasta Steakhouse Restaurant. It was a really good decision. The menu offered an excellent choice with the prices in the budget range and the quality and service of the food at the four-star level. Our server Alicia knew the menu and was great with her attention to detail. Super experience!!

Room Tip: we had no experience with kids
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mingster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fergus Falls, Minnesota, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I've been to Reno before but for whatever reason just never happened upon the Cal Neva casino. My wife and I were out for a walk and decided to try Cal Neva for breakfast, it was amazing, the food, service and value were great. We made sure we ate there the rest of our vacation. We had fun in there casino as well! Arvid

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I come here almost every weekend and I always get the $4.99 Steak and Eggs. It's phenomenal and the service is the best I've received out of all the casinos in Reno. I strongly recommend the Top Deck Restaurant for any great meal and great service for THE best price in Reno. I will continue to eat here and it is a great way to cap off a night of going out on the weekends.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

EAT HERE! If you don't go to enjoy the table games the big verity of slots or the great sports book you must go check out the the great food DEALS. We enjoyed the steak & eggs in a nice clean enviroment the service was quick,friendly and helpfull. we played keno while we ate. We stayed here 7 years ago when we first started dating we go back often for the great food options and remember great times,

Room Tip: I like staying in a corner sweet so i can see the great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
0.1 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#17 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.2 mi away
Siena Hotel
Siena Hotel
#16 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.3 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Property: Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Address: 38 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89501-1410
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing