We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
cool, ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible Experience”
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Last minute arrangements were made to stay in Reno on New Year's Eve and we like to gamble at the Cal Neva, so I made a reservation for one night. The rooms are old and dingy, the other guests are a bit scary, but for last minute plans it would be fine. After a fun night of gambling and watching a spectacular fireworks show, we called it a night. The next morning, New Years Day, upon checkout we were greeted by the hotel manager, Reggie(sp), a security guard, and the valet with the news that our truck had been damaged the previous evening by the VALET. We inspected the vehicle with all the aforementioned hotel staff and we were assured by Reggie that all damages would be taken care of by the hotel all we needed to do was get two estimates and forward them to the hotel. We were very comfortable with his honesty and sincerity and went on our merry way. The very next day we faxed over the two estimates, which totaled over $3,000, and we received a call back from a woman, who does not wish to be identified, that works with the hotel in some capacity, stating the hotel is only liable for $250 and to turn it into our insurance company. We called Reggie, the hotel manager, but never returned the call. Unbelievable??? Yes, but apparently their valet tickets state this claim!!!!!!!!! BEWARE, BEWARE, BEWARE!!!!! Obviously we will never stay or gamble in that casino/hotel/slum ever again. It really is sad that customer service and just doing the right thing has gone by the wayside, at least for the Club Cal Neva!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Not one thing!!!!!
  • Disliked — The hotel management
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank beasthunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    45
    42
    11
    25
See reviews for
29
55
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
saint helenba ca.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2007

for 29.00 i shouldn't complain but i will.room was old & small.employes seemed not to care.women at front desk seemed mad i made her put down book she was reading.ruely people wandering halls were scary & its not that easy to scare me.i've recieved free room offers since & never crossed my mind to use them.great location but it just feels like i don't care here.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything else
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank pinkyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Oakland, CA
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2007

Didn't stay there, just went to the casino, which was kind of small. Although 1st floor had more machines than the top floor but they were basically the same kinds of slots throughout the floor. The Top Floor Restaurant was pretty nice and food was good (especially the Turkey with gravy dish and spaghetti was pretty big serving). Won a few bucks using their comp card for our group.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
Helpful?
3 Thank swimpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2007

My wide and I stayed at Club Cal Neva for the first time in late February. We have stayed at most other properties in Reno including the Sands, Fitz, and Silver Legacy. We stayed for three nights. The room was adequate in size but not overly large. When we first arrived for the first night the room was stifling hot - even with the window open (20 degrees outside). We tried to sleep this way the first night but it was just too hot - even with the thermostat turned all the way down. The next day we mentioned it to the maid and she immediately called the front desk herself to get it fixed.

We got the rooms for free so weren't expecting much. The rooms were clean, we had no problems with noise or smoke smell (for those of you who complain of smoke smell in Reno - come on its Reno!). The shuttle driver to the airport was very nice and accomodating - he didn't even mind shuttling us back out there to pick up a rental car.

The security guard was present in the evening hours checking for room keys and was not just there for show - one guy who just didn't want to fish out his key was still made to - even though he complained loudly to the guard.

Overall, a good experience for a very cheap price - not on the level of Silver Legacy but then they are much more expensive.

Comps at the casino were great as well - we nearly ate for free the whole time we were there.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
12 Thank ejee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsland, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2007

Cal Neva is more of a basic gambling location and the Top Deck restaurant is kind of like a big Waffle house yet darker and seedier.

We elected to try Copper Ledge. Be aware that it can be difficult to find but the staff is nice and attentive. It is very clean and the "Pound for a pound" deals are very difficult to beat. Wife had the Prime rib and I had the Coconut shrimp. Surprising good.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
6 Thank 606zpx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 18, 2004

A very long walk for food (poor quality food). Asked for non-smoking tried to give a room with ash trays. Changed to new room. New room furniture up on the bed and floor wet (they shampooded) Third try finally got a room.

Help is friendly.

For food had to go across the street through another casino through an alley way and into another casino and then take an elevator to the second floor. Food was so poor some people sent it back and you are continously hounded by a woman calling Keno.
Not my kind of place to stay but on the other hand the rates are not bad.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2004

We recently stayed at this hotel for two days, June 19 & 20. My wife was bowling the Nationals. We have done this trip three times, this is the first we've stayed here. The casino is devided between two buildings, and the hotel is also seperated. The hotel is actually the Virginian. There was only two good things about this trip, they let us check in early, as we arrived at 1 (my wife had to be at the Stadium at one). And the NBS is close to the hotel, so we didn't have far to lug her balls. Other than that the rest of the experience was horrible. We spent 30 minuets trying to find the right place to check in, the casino staff kept pointing us in the wrong direction. Then another 30 mins finding parking. One way streets, etc, and "no", the parking is not in the hotel, it's in the casino's. There was valet parking offered, but it was impossible to find the alley, yes, I said alley, to drive down to get to it! We were running late, and after two go rounds of the dang one-way streets, we were happy just to find the dang parking garage for the casino and park ourselves! The casino's are seperated, there is only a few lame slots in the "lobby" of the Virginian. The machine's in the Cal Neva casino's across the street are older models. There were very few modern video type machines, the types we are used to. Way too many nickel and penny slots. The Copper Ledge, however serves up a substantial and delicious reuben sandwhich, and the fries are the batter dipped type. There was no room service, even though the restaurants are just accross the street. There is one lame book in the room and talks mostly about the Atlantis and Harrahs. There were no menu's in the room featuring Club Cal Neva's restaurants. Duh! The soda's in the floor machine are $1.25. Fortunately there is a small shop downstairs, near the entrance to the Virginia where we could get a whole 2 liter bottle of soda. The TV in the room had no movie channel, and no games. The bathroom was clean and adequate, but imagine my surprise to pull off the hand towel and discover that the towel rack was held together by duct tape! How lame can a hotel be, that they can't even afford a new towel rack??? I can't believe we paid $70/night for this crap. We will not stay here again until they make some major improvements.

Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
0.4 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.0 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Property: Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Address: 38 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89501-1410
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing