We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Value minded, close to everything”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
oakland, ca
Level Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Value minded, close to everything”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was my first stay in Reno in some years, and first ever at this older downtown hotel. I selected it mostly for its rock bottom price, and was pleasantly surprised to find a clean, comfortable room, pleasant staff, and walking distance to all the Riverwalk shops, bars and restaurants. Cal Neva casino ended up being myfavorite, wiith all the penny machines! Yes elevators are slow but that just keeps you out exploring more!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calJCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    42
    11
    25
See reviews for
28
55
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

We did not stay in the hotel. We are Club members and gamble in the Casino. On the past three visits; we waited in line at the club desk, while the hostess(es) "chatted" with other employees across the counter. When my wife and I reached the counter; we found that "$20 Free Play day offer" had "strings". You had to have already played through $500. We also found out that the Free Play offers from Cal Neva only apply to ONE spouse. If "A" club player is offered $10 Free play and he/or she has a spouse; they each get $5. Also simply walk into Cal Neva and take in the "smells". There is little to no ventilation. The elevators work once in a while. The parking garage is Filthy. The Cal Neva Used to be a place to go eat and have a good time. We never get any coupons or room offers anymore. We probably would not believe them or uas them :-(.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lippylemurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Sacramento, ca
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 4, 2011

The only good thing about this hotel was breakfast bufette for $9.
Hotel seems like it would fall apart any day, Carpets were dirty, lights were out, and the hallwas had the wallpaper peeling away.

Pool was all dry and Loby was old.
The only question I have- Why is it called a resort?

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukoXV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Cal Neva Hotel & Casino has been around; well almost forever and it is a minor inconveinence to walk a short 100 feet across the road to the just as old casino and having the free and very courteous and prompt valet parking just a few steps from check in makes up for it. The gambling is as fair as any place in Nevada (you decide what that means), the food is great and extremely reasonable at the Top Deck and even better in the Pasta Cafe and the Steak House Cafe, but due to the poor economy these two cafes don't operate seven days a week, but you should catch one open during your visit & the Top Deck is open 24/7. Reno is a very easy town to get around in, so save money on the hotel room at Cal Neva, spend it on gas & go to the other casinos and also don't forget the antique mall just about a mile South of the Cal Neva on Virginia Street. If you like "fancy" then don't stay at the Cal Neva, but you know once the lights go out in a hotel room they all seem just the same... for the most part!

Room Tip: Ask for a so called
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank coonclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2011

About the least expensive place to stay in Reno. Frayed around the edges, but the bedding and bathroom linen were clean and well maintained. If you want upscale - pay for it. If you want just a clean place to sleep, try this place. As others have noted, the parking is a problem. The hotel [where the rooms are] is in a separate building across the street from the casino. There are two parking garages, one is two blocks away. The parking garages are free.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2011

First off I want to say, I enjoy playing blackjack at Cal Neva. Lots of tables, not so busy as other casinos. I haven't stayed in the hotel for quite awhile and for me, it's my last resort if I can't get a decent room with my comps or offers or price. That will usually occur on a weekend if I'm up there. The last time I stayed there was the same as before. Really it's like a motel, very very basic. I can't describe staying there as nice, it's just a room to try and sleep in. The bed and pillows aren't comfortable. The pillows are junk. The hotel is actually just adjacent to Cal Neva across a very small street crossing. The people in the hotel are kind and helpful though, I will say. I just don't consider this hotel a prime option and think their pricing is not value for the rooms as they are low tier compared to the rest of downtown, not including Sands, as I haven't stayed there before.

I was inspired to write this review because of my recent visit to their steakhouse which is only open on Friday and Saturday nights. I had the unfortunate pleasure of going there recently for the second time and left flabbergasted. I ordered a rib eye steak. It took a long time to get it after ordering it. The salad was so so, the bread was good. When the steak came, I couldn't wait to go at it. Well, it wasn't worth the wait. I ordered medium rare, and it came medium to medium well at best. It was dry and tasteless. I wasn't even sure it was a rib eye the more I thought about it. I'm wondering now if I got someone else's steak? Also, my vegetables that came with it were incredibly horrible also. No taste, no nothing. It wasn't prepared with love, that's for sure. I tried to eat the meal but just stopped and asked for the bill. The staff inside were ok, but it's not professional like you would expect, but I realize this is a lower end operation. I should have asked for the manager to check if this was really what they considered a representation of their restaurant, but I was so upset that I just left. I used my comps to pay, so maybe if I paid cash out of my own pocket I would have. I should have complained. Either way, I won't be going back.

The coffee shop is to me good value. It's not going to be as nice as other hotels, but it's 24 hours and lots of cheap decent meals can be had. The service is so so, but it's cheap eats. I'll be using my comps in there. The pasta restaurant is nothing special. It's very ordinary but cheap.

The casino has lots of single deck, double deck and super single deck black jack at $3-5 minimums mostly. The dealers are mostly pretty friendly. They have other games like craps, pai gow and other side games but it's mainly blackjack for table games. On one side they have karaoke and dancing in the casino. There are some pretty decent singers on most nights and then you get some really bad ones too, but it's entertainment.

I only consider Cal Neva a place to play some blackjack and get a value meal early morning or late night at coffee shop. So many other places to eat otherwise during normal business hours.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCMontero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, Iowa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel was very nice, we stayed in a newly remodeled room for $35 a night. The Wi-Fi is outrageously expensive so we spent the night with no internet which was no big deal since they have $5.99 Prime Rib and 1/2 pound of fries in the casino right across the street then went on to enjoy a little gambling and free drinks. The hotel is nice, clean, quiet and comfortable!! Would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank casie1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.0 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Property: Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Address: 38 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89501-1410
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing