We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good value”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Reno
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Milford, NH
Level Contributor
142 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“very good value”
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Cal neva is a great place for the budget. Their rooms are old but clean and comfortable. So the TV has a tube, big deal ! I did not come here to watch tv. Some people just have to complain. Their eaterys are excellent!! Good specials with good service. They get quite busy at times because it is good.
Gambling is fun at Cal Neva. 2.00 roullette and BJ and 3.00 Let it Ride, slots that actually pay out money. They have 3 floors of fun.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank stevez49Milford_NH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    43
    42
    11
    25
See reviews for
28
55
28
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Eureka, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Very nice staff, large rooms, and personally i love the hard beds! clean, no bugs nice view of ice skaters!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steffy7238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

The hotel and casino are older, but I have never been treated better by anyplace. From the hotel staff to the casino workers, they know what it means to take care of the customer. I had the most fun I've had in any casino. The pit bosses and dealers were wonderful and made you feel like you were one of their high rollers, even though I was only betting $5 a hand. They like to have fun with the customers here. Very laid back atmosphere. The cocktail waitresses I had made sure my glass was never empty. As I said the hotel and casino are older, but I will always patronize this establishment due to the exceptional service and treatment by the staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dhank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
83 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

I was in Reno for the National Bowling tournament. The reviews for Cal Neva were mixed, but the price was good and it was an easy walk to the main casinos and the Bowling Stadium so I decided to give it a shot. The rooms were basic, but clean. The staff was very friendly. The only issue I had was the hot water. Some days it was fairly warm and other days it was luke warm. I should have mentioned to the staff, but kept forgetting until I checked out.

There is free parking 1-2 blocks away, and valet parking at the hotel. I never used the valet. There are a couple slot machines in the lobby, but the main casino is across the street. The El Dorado and other main downtown casinos are a couple blocks away as is the Bowling Stadium. Harrahs is across the street from the Cal Neva casino.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WxProphet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Unfortunately the bed we had was like laying on the floor; it was a VERY hard mattress. Some people like that kind of mattress, I do not. I don't remember the beds being that hard in prior trips; I've stayed here before. Please keep in mind the bed-thing is my personal preference and not all the beds may be as hard as ours.

However, the price is GREAT for the location so close to the ball park. Our trip was intended to go to the games, which we did. It's only like 3 blocks walking to the park. Exellent location!! Better price than the one across the street... I would definitely stay here again, if I find that other rooms have softer mattresses.

Food in the Top Deck is always good; while the wait sometimes is long, the prices of the meals make up for it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelanieAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2010

To my wife and I, it looked as if the rooms hadn't seen an update in 20 years. They are so-so clean and old. The carpet was not clean! The TV was a 19" tube without any movies available and the beds were on the very firm side. The A/C wasn't adequate in the room though in the lobby and casino they worked fine. The casino was nice and inviting. For the money... which I paid $133 for the bare bones 2 queen bed room, I was disappointed. Must have been a supply/demand situation...Disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herrodjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
195 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2010

I pass through Reno a couple of times a year and always stay here. Nice, clean room......great service.......conveniently located to the train depot.......great prices! One of the best deals in towm!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billb1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino

Property: Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino
Address: 38 E 2nd St, Reno, NV 89501-1410
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Club Cal Neva Hotel Casino 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Club Cal Neva opened on April 2, 1962 in downtown Reno, Nevada. Conveniently located in the heart of downtown Reno, is just minutes from the areas major convention and events facilities including just 2 blocks away from the National Bowling Stadium, the new MLB Triple A baseball stadium and Reno Events Center. The hotel offers some of Northern Nevada's lowest rates on comfortable and spacious rooms including rooms with views of the Truckee River. The casino features over 1000 loose slots and table games and was selected by USA Today as "one of 10 great places to court Lady Luck." Three floors of casino gaming action and six restaurants span 2 downtown city blocks! Inside you'll find downtown Reno's largest Race and Sportsbook, voted "Best Race and Sportsbook" by locals year after year. Two giant parking garages make it easy to park, stay and play! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Club Cal Neva Hotel Reno
Hotel Cal Neva
Cal Neva Reno
Cal Neva Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing