We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for an inexpensive meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Top Deck Restaurant

Top Deck Restaurant
Ranked #111 of 905 Restaurants in Reno
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hilmar, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Very good for an inexpensive meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

If you're looking for fine dining and excellent cuisine, this is not the place to go. If you're hungry and want a good meal for a great price Top Deck is a great deal. Many casinos offer prime rib specials for a great price and if you're in the mood for something else you pay three times more for typical cafe' type food. Top Deck does offer cafe' type food but everything on their menu is inexpensive and they have a huge variety to choose from. We had the prime rib twice and it came with soup or salad and fries and was good. It was a smaller cut which was perfect because we didn't want a huge slab of meat. If you like your prime rib on the rare side of medium rare order it rare and it will be perfect. If you like it on the medium side of medium rare order it medium rare. The servers were very friendly and the service was quick. We liked it enough to go back twice during our stay.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank desal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    47
    19
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clackamas Oregon
Level Contributor
187 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cheap, mediocre at best”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

The best thing about the Top Deck is its total lack of pretense. 5.99 dinners advertised by the weight. .....A pound of shepherds pie... Yes it was a generous portion of greasy ground beef with some bits of peas and carrots but as heavy and institutional tasting as you imagine. The salad is iceberg out of a bag. Service is unskilled. Decor is exhausted and grimy. It isn't open 24/7.

Generally Cal Neva is dirty and down in the heels despite efforts to clean it up, the Top deck is in this tradition.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JurgisRudkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
130 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Unbelievably good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

When you see the sign that says 4.99 steak and eggs you cant help but expect a small, fatty, tough piece of meat. Not the case at all! It was a generous portion, well cooked and very decent piece of steak. I am so disappointed I waited till the morning of my last day to try it! I will definitelyveat every meal here when I return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sean_hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I think we ate here 4 times during our trip. I tried something different everytime. It is good wholesome food at a great value. Once we ate here it was tough to go somewhere else.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tykerk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Hidden Jewell in Reno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

On our recent trip to Reno we actually stayed at an adjacent Casino but after a couple of poor eating experiences we accidentally stumbled onto the Top Deck Restaurant on the second floor of the Cal Neva Casino. We ended up eating there several times and we were never disappointed with the quality of the food. Their service is unbelievably fast especially when you see all of the customers they routinely serve. Also, a big surprise was their old fashion prices. Their menu gave you many options and prices as low as $3.99 on up for a full meal. We saw the foods for those prices and they looked awful good going by our table. I also atre a steak their for $5.99 nd was ighly impressed with the good flavor, tenderness and size of the meat. It seems like many of the other restaurants have given up on cheap prices but the Top Deck gets very high marks in our book.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Top Deck Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing