We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UPSIDE AND DOWNSIDE” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Reno
MORENO VALLEY
Level Contributor
561 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“UPSIDE AND DOWNSIDE”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Good location, about 8 miles from downtown, close to airport. Lots of restaurants nearby. Double suite is good size. Flat screen, full kitchen. SLOW wifi, which seems to be the case with all these Extended Stays. UPSIDE AND DOWNSIDE. Upside is rooms with kitchens, flat screens, and a good price. Downside is missing amenities you may be used to (like me) like more TV stations (they have 24, no syfy, msnbc, cnbc. I'm used to 50 or 60), curved shower curtain rod, bath amenities, A PLACE TO PUT YOU LUGGAGE (would it really be so hard to put folding luggage carts in each room?). Biggest downside is the reservation process. THEY WILL NOT GUARANTEE SMOKING OR NON-SMOKING, even if you do it in person the day before! In what world do they think people who don't smoke will stay in a smoking room? I've already had to cancel one reservation because of this. Makes me reluctant to try to plan ahead in this chain.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drdroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that our free WiFi was so slow during your stay and that we could not guarantee your room type because it was a 3rd party reservation. Please know, our staff strives to fulfill all guest requests, so we always try our best to provide non-smoking rooms to those who want them. Still, I am happy that you enjoyed our location and all of the amenities we offer.

Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    19
    13
    12
    6
See reviews for
14
9
11
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Greenhithe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here, easy to get around from here and to do business. Staff were really lovely and the room very good, little kitchen, good air con, clean bathroom. I would stay again no problem. From here everything you need is on S Virginia St a short hop away.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GP1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank You for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the kitchen provided. As well, that you found our staff to be so friendly.

We are so happy that you would like to visit again, and look forward to you doing so. Thank you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placerville, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We happened to be visiting Reno when the National bowling tournaments were being staged there. So nearly every hotel was either booked or had either doubled or tripled their prices. And then tack on 'Resort Fees!' Which to me is just another way to rip off the consumer and falsify their actual costs!
Extended Stay America was the only hotel we found that had a reasonable priced room available. Except for the "roach motels" of course!
The addition of somewhere to cook and store food is a plus. Even though the utensils are scant, it's a plus and the cost per night is very affordable.
There was plenty of places to eat nearby; be it for breakfast or dinner. Even within walking distance. And it's out of the main center of town so traffic isn't too bad.
The bed was a little on the firm side so my wife wasn't crazy about it but I prefer a firmer mattress so I was ok. They do put lots of pillows on it so she was happy with that.
The room was clean and comfortable enough given the price range.
Most people the complain about the accommodations forget they stayed there because they didn't want to spend $300-$400 for a bed for two nights but still want all the amenities.
I feel we got a very good deal for the $65/night we spent!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rohardy71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We very much appreciate it. I am pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff and I make every effort to provide our guests with a "home away from home" experience by providing great rooms. It is so welcoming to know we were able to do that for you!

Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

On our arrival (after 3pm) we had to wait for our room to be clean. Took almost 1/2 hour and we were in a hurry to clean up and get to a family wedding. I asked for another room - and they were ready to accommodate.


  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rita Kay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Rita - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I sincerely apologize that your room was not ready when you arrived at the hotel. We make every effort to have each promised room ready for our guests when they are checking-in to the hotel; it seems we failed in this case. In response to your feedback, we are going to focus on improving our cleaning and inspection timing so this situation does not happen again. Still, we hope you enjoyed the wedding!

I thank you for keeping us informed. If we can be of any assistance to you, please feel free to contact me directly at RSM@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will visit us again and we will do our very best for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

The room is nice and the kitchen supplies the basics. It's in a nice part of town. No major issues. In looking at the other reviews, it seems to me people will always have something to complain about. Ignore the naysayers, for the price, this hotel worked just fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Tina - Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We appreciate your comments about your room being so nice. As well, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the in-room kitchen and the amenities we supply for it.

We do hope that you will stay with us again should your travels bring you our way. Again, Thank You for your time and review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
Level Contributor
415 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We had to be in Reno for several days and thought we could save by cooking. Their complete kitchen is 1 butter knife, 1 dull steak knife, 1 teaspoon and 1 tablespoon. The woman at the desk at check in was sullen and rude. It was all downhill from there. Bed was a rock. Nothing provided in a dingy room. This place is an overpriced dump!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sndovale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
I have reviewed your comments regarding your stay with us. Please accept my most sincere apologies that your room lacked the proper utensils in the kitchen and your room was unclean. Since your stay I have inspected your room to ensure it had the appropriate quantity of utensils and the level of cleanliness was more in line with our company's standards. As well, I am sorry that the bed in your room was uncomfortable. Our bedding is chosen based on guests feedback. As we continue to improve our offerings, we will definitely keep your feedback in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback. I hope that you will give us another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reno hotels

Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is a reasonable place to stay in Reno. There are many places to eat and a grocery store very close to here and there is free parking. The problem we had is we had reserved 2 rooms with double beds and ended up with 4 singles scattered on both ends of the hotel and on two different floors. This was not very accommodating for a group of 4 traveling together. If I remember correctly, they wanted us to stay at one of there other properties the last time we were there two years ago, so maybe there is a history of overbooking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites Reno Nevada
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Residence Inn Reno
#23 of 64 in Reno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn Reno
La Quinta Inn Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Reno
4.6 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows

Property: Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows
Address: 9795 Gateway Drive, Reno, NV 89511
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Extended Stay, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Extended Stay America - Reno - South Meadows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Extendedstay America Reno-South Meadows Hotel Reno
Extended Stay America Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing