We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice spot” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siena Hotel
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Rocklin, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was the third time we have stayed at the Siena for Hot August Nights. The rooms are gorgeous and clean. We had a bit of check in frustration, room not ready on time. You can't beat the location and I have only one complaint. The smoke. We had a non smoking room and still, we could smell the smoke, the casino reeked as well. Sure wish they would improve that.

Room Tip: Better view higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annf5624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
It's always nice to hear from our guest and we appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. Taking advantage of our convenient location within walking distance of the other downtown resorts and the Truckee river is just another great reason to stay at the Siena. Good air circulation and the high ceilings inside the casino usually minimize the smell of smoke but we will certainly review to make sure all is working properly. We appreciate your business and hope to see you at the Siena again the next time you visit Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    199
    86
    33
    37
See reviews for
131
254
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

This is an excellent hotel to stay at. The staff is extra friendly and surpass the customer service level you would get at any of the other hotel casinos in reno. I've stayed in all of them and would never stay anywhere else but the Siena, I have all my business visitors that come to town booked here and they all agree with me that this is the best hotel to stay at.

It's hard for a hotel to keep everyone happy and some of the negative comments I read below are very unjust, to many people pick at very small mishaps or details and as a world traveler like myself, who has stayed in several hundred hotels the Siena is doing their job right. There's always room for improvements at any establishment regardless of it's a 3, 4 or 5 star hotel but Siena has done a magnificent job with their staff in every department and the overall facility is clean and peaceful.

I've stayed here more times than I can count and have never been disappointed!!!

A special thanks to Tim Downy and all the pit supervisors on all shifts for making the table area fun, comfortable and friendly. Five stars

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CMD B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Seriously, I did not write this review but I was overjoyed when I read it. From a world traveler and frequent guest to tell us how much you enjoy the Siena just made my day. We have many wonderful employees at the property and Tim Downey is certainly one of them. Thank you for such an outstanding review and I thank the Siena employees for doing such an outstanding job.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights during Hot August Nights, so expected crowds, but wait to check in was not bad.. Valet service was great., We had a deluxe King non smoking room, but nothing to compare it to in hotel since our first stay.. Bathroom was a little small, prefer sinks outside of shower area, but lived with it.
The ONLY larger complaint was the dated heating & A/C unit.. Although kept room cool, the fan on LOW was VERY noisy, so had to turn it off to sleep... Excellent black out shades.. Only view we had was the back of the Siena sign on the 3rd floor over Johnny Rockets, but we were not in room much anyway.... The casino was VERY WELL ventilated, so cool & not a lot of smoke.. Johnny Rockets was very cute..
The restaurant on the River for breakfast was EXCELLENT & great prices .. We did not use any of the other amenities because we were to busy with friends & family at the car show.
Siena is not the Ritz but comfortable & clean.. Thank you for the refrigerator & coffee in room !! Very friendly staff throughout ...

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIE G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review regarding your recent stay during Hot August Nights. It's always nice to hear about our friendly staff and how the property was clean and comfortable. Johnny Rockets has been a great addition to the property and the brunch on the river at the Whitewater restaurant has been well received.I've heard from numerous guest about the black out curtains in the rooms and have also personally experienced their ability to keep the room dark even in the middle of the day. We appreciate your business and hope you stay at the Siena again the next time you are in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Low rates are great - and so is the hotel, but get hit with many fees

$2 "Reno capital project" fee
$9 resort fee (pool was closer when we got there, the said it includes valet we didn't use)
$14 to switch to double beds (we prepaid, which I guess is our fault for assuming the hotel would allow this as every other has for free)

Ended up $28 higher than actual prepaid booking.

It's a nice hotel, just don't expect to pay what's advertised.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Siena. I'm happy to hear you thought the hotel was great and the rate was great as well. Every hotel has the $2 Reno Capital project fee and the majority of hotels have a resort fee which vary in price. The $9 fee at the Siena is primarily for the use of car service to and from the airport, free Wi-Fi, and use of the pool and the exercise room. Our lowest rates are for a standard room with a king size bed and any upgrades are charged according to what the upgrade includes such as bed types, views, suites, etc. We appreciate your business and we hope you visit the Siena again the next time you're in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. The casino was disappointing as it was very small and had a lot of old slots. Food and service at Johnny Rockets was good. Room was disappointing. Very small and view of roof. Biggest disappointment was that for a hotel that is supposed to be a boutique hotel, they couldn't manage to get sheets to fit. We had a king size bed and the bottom sheet was not fitted. They used a flat sheet so that the last foot of the bed had no sheet covering it.

Room Tip: ask for an upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cals503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Johnny Rockets has been a great addition to the property with a fun atmosphere and the best milk shakes in town. Thank you for bringing to our attention the situation with the sheets as this is not our standard. It's great to hear you felt we had a nice property and we hope you visit us again the next time you are in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location and nice casino promotion. Had a wonderful time here. The check in time was a little longer than we expected but the experience was pleasant overall. Rooms were extremely clean. I was definitely impressed by this little casino.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon4783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. It's always nice to hear when our guests take advantage of our wonderful casino promotions. We're very proud of the cleanliness of the property and I'm glad you were impressed with our little casino and enjoyed the great location as well. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

All the staff at the Siena was so friendly and helpful. It was so nice after a long day of driving. The room was ok, but don't expect any view at all if you are on the 3rd floor south side. They frost the windows so you can't even see a thing. Must be pretty bad if they don't even want you to see it. Price was right at $50 a night, so couldn't complain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It is always nice to hear about our friendly staff and I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it on TripAdvisor. We do have a variety of rooms going from standard rooms on the lower floors to suites on the top floor. During this busy season occupancy is very high so deluxe rooms on higher floors are the first rooms to be occupied. We do appreciate your business and hope to see you back at the Siena the next time you visit Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,717 reviews
0.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hotel

Property: Siena Hotel
Address: 1 S Lake St, Reno, NV 89501-1556
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Siena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is currently under renovation and offers limited dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Siena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing