We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great rate got nickeled and dimed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Hotel
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great rate got nickeled and dimed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

Low rates are great - and so is the hotel, but get hit with many fees

$2 "Reno capital project" fee
$9 resort fee (pool was closer when we got there, the said it includes valet we didn't use)
$14 to switch to double beds (we prepaid, which I guess is our fault for assuming the hotel would allow this as every other has for free)

Ended up $28 higher than actual prepaid booking.

It's a nice hotel, just don't expect to pay what's advertised.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank andy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Siena. I'm happy to hear you thought the hotel was great and the rate was great as well. Every hotel has the $2 Reno Capital project fee and the majority of hotels have a resort fee which vary in price. The $9 fee at the Siena is primarily for the use of car service to and from the airport, free Wi-Fi, and use of the pool and the exercise room. Our lowest rates are for a standard room with a king size bed and any upgrades are charged according to what the upgrade includes such as bed types, views, suites, etc. We appreciate your business and we hope you visit the Siena again the next time you're in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    190
    84
    30
    35
See reviews for
120
244
46
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Visalia, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Staff was friendly and helpful. The casino was disappointing as it was very small and had a lot of old slots. Food and service at Johnny Rockets was good. Room was disappointing. Very small and view of roof. Biggest disappointment was that for a hotel that is supposed to be a boutique hotel, they couldn't manage to get sheets to fit. We had a king size bed and the bottom sheet was not fitted. They used a flat sheet so that the last foot of the bed had no sheet covering it.

Room Tip: ask for an upper level room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cals503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. Johnny Rockets has been a great addition to the property with a fun atmosphere and the best milk shakes in town. Thank you for bringing to our attention the situation with the sheets as this is not our standard. It's great to hear you felt we had a nice property and we hope you visit us again the next time you are in Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San francisco
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Great location and nice casino promotion. Had a wonderful time here. The check in time was a little longer than we expected but the experience was pleasant overall. Rooms were extremely clean. I was definitely impressed by this little casino.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon4783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit. It's always nice to hear when our guests take advantage of our wonderful casino promotions. We're very proud of the cleanliness of the property and I'm glad you were impressed with our little casino and enjoyed the great location as well. We appreciate your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

All the staff at the Siena was so friendly and helpful. It was so nice after a long day of driving. The room was ok, but don't expect any view at all if you are on the 3rd floor south side. They frost the windows so you can't even see a thing. Must be pretty bad if they don't even want you to see it. Price was right at $50 a night, so couldn't complain.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
It is always nice to hear about our friendly staff and I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about it on TripAdvisor. We do have a variety of rooms going from standard rooms on the lower floors to suites on the top floor. During this busy season occupancy is very high so deluxe rooms on higher floors are the first rooms to be occupied. We do appreciate your business and hope to see you back at the Siena the next time you visit Reno.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunnigan, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

The room we were assigned was excessively tiny and was located next to a set of constantly running elevators. The desk lamp and the extra outlets that it was suited to provide was unplugged. Plugging it in didn't help, though, as it really didn't work at all. The room safe was not working as well. The bathroom was just as tiny as the rest of the room making it basically impossible for a couple to share. The room and hotel we're clean, but there was a hint of smoke. I left a list at the desk when we departed the next morning. This was the second visit for us to the Siena, and this will be our last.

Room Tip: Find a room with at least two beds, away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent visit although you were disappointed in the size of the room and the bathroom. We have a variety of rooms from standard rooms to suites and each room type varies depending on price and location. Please e-mail me at bharris@sienareno.com with your telephone information and I will call you to discuss other issues you encountered during your visit as your input is important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We have stayed here many times and enjoyed ourselves. This time we actually left a day early. The difference this time was that the hotel booked an entire little league team with their families and siblings. Why these people stayed there when their games were in Carson is questionable. There is little for kids to do here so don't know why they would want to stay there. These kids and adults were very obnoxious and rude. It felt like they booked everyone on our same floor. They were playing ball in the hallway, knocking on doors and running away, making the pool unusable. At one time the elevator opened and the kids were climbing on the railing. Where were their parents...all drinking in the casino. This hotel is way too small to have that many kids booked in, and not have it affect other guests. I went to complain at the front desk. She said they were booked as VIP guests.....guess we have different meanings for VIP. She was apologetic but didn't offer to move us or offer any solution. My husband and I said at least we can escape them in the casino, but no the kids started going in there, until they got kicked out. I complained to security and he said he was going to talk to the coach. My husband and I tried to listen to the lounge singer but the idiot parents took a table right in front of him, drinking and talking so loudly they drowned him out. Now obviously the Siena is in the business to make money, but they should have warned us ahead of time, make sure we at least were put in a different area. They have floors where dogs can stay, but at least they warn you (sometimes) in case you have allergies. I don't mind the dogs, they were much more well behaved then any of the little league people. I don't think I will be staying at the Siena anytime soon, but if I do you can bet I will search to make sure their are no little league tournaments anywhere in the area.

Room Tip: ask for river view. ask if any large parties of children are booked in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eydie68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
I appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Siena. It is disappointing to hear your stay wasn't as pleasant as other times you have stayed at the hotel in the past. During the summer months many families travel with their children for various reasons and they are expected to abide by the same rules as everyone else and I apologize this wasn't the case during the last few days with some of these rooms. Please e-mail me at bharris@sienareno.com with your telephone number so we can discuss in more detail. At the Siena we want everyone to enjoy themselves and I apologize for the disruption during this visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Wonderful, clean hotel. Had an amazing sushi restaurant. Good place to spend an evening, gambling. Wasn't too smokey. Pet friendly is a plus. Good value. Would recommend to anyone. Had a nice deck as well.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank twintipbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bobby Ray H, Director of Guest Services at Siena Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your recent stay at the Siena. We try and make all of our guests and their pets comfortable in a clean and friendly environment. We continuously get great reviews on both our Sushi restaurant and the outside deck at the Rotunda Lounge overlooking the river and it's nice to hear you enjoyed both. We appreciate your business and hope to see you back at the Siena in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,355 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hotel

Property: Siena Hotel
Address: 1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Siena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is currently under renovation and offers limited dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Siena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing