We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Best hotel in downtown Reno” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Siena Hotel
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best hotel in downtown Reno”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

I travel to Reno for work about once a year. A co-worker suggested this hotel last year. I had a positive experience, and decided to stay again this year. The beds are very comfortable, upper 10% for hotels in general, with high quality mattress, sheets and comforter. The location is right on the river, easy walking distance to anything downtown. The staff was helpful and friendly. The gym is resonably nice, as is the rooftop pool. I used the spa for a massage while I was there. They did a wonderful job. I would definitely recommend it. There is a significant discount on spa services for hotel guests, which is not listed on the standard pricing lists that the hotel passes out. Unfortunately, the spa is closed Monday, Tuesday and Wednesday. It also fills up fast. When I made my appointment Sunday afternoon, they were almost booked up for Thursday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    199
    86
    33
    37
See reviews for
131
254
47
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Anselmo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Reno's newest spa and hotel did not disappoint on our recent visit. From free valet parking, to the 24hr snack shop and roof top pool, to clean and spacious rooms and easy walking distance to all the action, this boutique location is the best choice in town.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IzaRoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This is the second trip that my husband and I have stayed at Siena both times during "Street Vibrations". Last year we stayed here for our wedding weekend. Ms. Carol at the front desk was very helpful with every question we had getting things taken care of for our wedding. Wonderful stay.

This year returning again for Street Vibrations and our 1 year anniversary started off a little shaky. The first night an air-conditioning unit was making a loud noise outside our window even with the window closed could hear all night long did not get much sleep. The next morning already tired and looking over our billing for our stay we had questions. We where being charged for and extra night that we had not booked and my husbands card was showing 2 charges for the deposit. When we went to the front desk to question the charges we spoke with Ms. Kimberly the General Manager. Long story short Siena had only charged one time deposit not two and for the sleepless night and the frustration over the extra booked night Ms. Kimberly did take off the extra night, discounted our stay and put us up in one of their WONDERFUL suites. Having a blended family of four kids now this is something that my hubby and I would not be able to do.

Thank you Ms. Kimberly for making our first anniversary very memorable. All of the staff are very friendly and helpful. I also want to thank our wonderful bartender in the lounge I feel so bad that I cannot remember his name, want to say it is Mark. He looks like the actor Christian Bale which also makes for a more pleasant Happy Hour. He is so awesome he even remembered us from the year before!

Thanks again Ms. Kimberly for your patience explaining that we where not charged and extra deposit and giving us a wonderful anniversary gift by putting us in one of your BEAUTIFUL SUITES!!!

Hoping to see you all again next year!

Tamara

Room Tip: If you can swing it you must try the suites, if not request the 8th floor the rooms have wonderful v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tamara O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Siena was a nice hotel/Casino in decent location, alongside the Truckee River that my wife and I stayed in for 2 nights. The valet is good, and free which was a big plus. The reception were so-so. Not overly helpful yet not offensive. The room was nice and large however the pillows stunk like cigarette smoke. The room was also noisy from the doors slamming in nearby rooms, so loud that it made the room vibrate. I wouldn't say that the hotel is run down as much as the whole town is run down. The casino is very small, however well catered.

I probably wouldn't visit Reno again however this property would be considered again should I need to return.

Room Tip: Get one overlooking the river if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimosabi79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canoga Park
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I stayed two (2) nights based on a reviews also very reasonable price. friendly staff and good sushi bar. I really enjoyed this place and I'm coming back bring some friend with me.
I was surprise how well organize the staff and very helpful. Except I arrived without no towels in the room and toilet flush not working good you need to hold at least 5 second to flush the water down. But I received my towel right away. I don't complained about the toilet flush as long it flush to the drainage and not cause me flooded.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southwest
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013


We Arrived To Find Our Room Needing Clean Sheets. The Maid Returned To Correct This, But Other Problems Soon Emerged. There Aren't Enough Towels (Only 2) For Our Room. Very Noisy Due To Noise From The Adjoining Room And The Street And This Is On A High Floor. Stained Carpet...This Hotel Is Tired. Cost This Weekend Night Over $170, And Not Even Close To Worth It. Very Disappointed And We Won't Be Back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MikeSouthwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in Reno for 2 nights as a stopover to break up our train trip on the California Zephyr from Chicago to San Francisco.

We didn't get off to the best start as we arrived 9 am which obviously we knew was far too early for check inn. But we explained we had just come off a train, been travelling 2 days, had barely slept and hadn't showered. So all we wanted was to get into a room and sleep an shower. Long story short, they didn't bother prioritising cleaning our room as they didn't want 'upset' the cleaners and the order they cleaned, and we didn't get into our room until 2.45 pm. Shocking really, they could see how tired we were, check out was 12, we should've got a room earlier.

Anyway, the room was lovely, modern, spacious, tasteful. And particularly good value for the price we paid. The bathroom could've done with an update. I have a thing about shower curtains! They should be long gone.

The location was good. You could walk to the Strip, although why you would want to, I don't know. Or to the river area which is much nicer with cooler selection of restaurants and bars.

We had lunch in the hotel which was really nice, and good wine too. Not too expensive either. Breakfast was reasonably good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpeakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 65 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,720 reviews
0.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 65 in Reno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,908 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hotel

Property: Siena Hotel
Address: 1 S Lake St, Reno, NV 89501-1556
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 65 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Siena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is currently under renovation and offers limited dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Siena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing