We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Siena Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Siena Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice hotel and casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The room was very comfortable and clean. The view was pretty nice too. We were there during Hot August Nights so there was a lot of activity in the area. Casino is small and as most - machines were tight! The restaurant we went to had a very nice breakfast and you could get a very nice deal by just presenting your Player's Card. It's in a nice location-very walkable to other casinos, restaurants and hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsWeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    191
    84
    30
    35
See reviews for
121
244
46
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portola, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My first time at the Siena...I loved the location...being close to the river walk, which is really neat. This hotel had a much smaller casino that I'm used to, having stayed at the Peppermill for years, but it was nice. The staff was so nice and friendly. While waiting to check in at the front desk, one of the managers asked if I would like a bottled water. I was so taken back by that customer service...something you don't really see anymore. However, the rooms were nothing to rave about. The carpet was stained and the room in general was very outdated. But I would recommend this hotel just by the location and friendly staff alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123aristia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ontario
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed there after burningman. Booked in advance and only paid about $65.00 The lobby is beautiful. It's right downtown, and they have free limo service to the airport instead of the shuttle buses that the other hotels use. I had a burger in the river view restaurant that was great. I'd stay there again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernOntarioDenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer, California, Usa
Level Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

All of our passengers raved about the rooms, service and resturant's They all said they would like to stay there when we come back for our Snowflake Trip in February. The rooms with a view of the Truckee river are the best. The hotel is 3 blocks from the Amtrak Station, 2 blocks from the Reno Ace's ball park,2 blocks from downtown and across the street from the National Automobile Museum.

Room Tip: Get rooms above the 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wade P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno , CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

I usually stay downtown at the Legacy, or far away at the Atlantis. I wanted to give the Siena a try. Great location at the river, and a "smaller" casino / hotel. It reminds me of old time Reno when service was more personable. There is so much to love about this place. The coffee maker is a coffee maker, not a mini bar upsell coffee service. You get REAL coffee mugs in the room. Room has a small safe, wifi, fridge, and LCD TV. Bed was extra comfortable.They drop a newspaper at your door in the morning. I stayed mid-week, and the room price was the same as most others in the area. Im not a big spa kind of guy, but love the smaller casino floor. I dont need 500 different slots to choose from. The checkin staff was friendly. I used the self park, but the valet staff when not attending to cars, opened the doors for me. These little things are lost in most Reno casinos. The cafe with river view windows was perfect for me.
Loved the stay. I'm glad this one survived (Holiday Casino) , when the Mapes and Riverside didnt.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sept1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Love the staff!! When you arrive your greeted buy respectful young men who know how to be a great first impression for the hotel. To often you go somewhere and your greeted buy what's up boss? Etc... The Ladies at the front desk are always professional and kind. The only negative would be the maid staff. Nothing major but they need to be reminded it is not the local store or laundry mat People have paid money to stay there and it is rude to stand in the elevator area talking LOUD!! The rooms are clean but again this time there was a salad left in my mini-fridge Really not a big deal but this hotel strives to be better than the other choices you have in town. Other than that great place to stay no matter what you are there for,business or a romantic weekend with your mate. .

Room Tip: If you are on a budget get the standard room. Be careful the deluxe room has a tub and a hand held...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Hotel is about two blocks from all the other casinos, which is perfect. Hotel itself is nice, small rooms, but updated and feels clean. Best thing about this hotel is they allow small dogs. Being near the river is perfect for dog walking. Lastly the hotel is small enough where you don't need to navigate parking stuructures and casinos to go out and get some fresh air.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kiyoshi_sf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Whitney Peak Hotel
#10 of 66 in Reno
4.0 of 5 stars 1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 66 in Reno
3.5 of 5 stars 2,361 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hotel

Property: Siena Hotel
Address: 1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 66 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Siena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is currently under renovation and offers limited dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Siena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing