We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disappointment” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Siena Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Siena Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Dixon, California
Level Contributor
148 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We have been to the Siena several times over the past few years, and I just keep getting the feeling that it is struggling. The location is good if you get a north-facing room because you can then enjoy the Truckee River and the bright lights of downtown without having to deal with downtown proper and its congestion. We had good dealings with the front desk, especially Jessica and Carol, who were quite helpful. Bad things: 1. the "smoke-free" lobby is not. 2. the disabled parking spaces are poorly marked and filled with cars without disabled placards. 3. the room carpets were heavily stained. 4. our windows did not fully close because the handles are broken. 5. what was once a nice, bright, open coffee shop has been chopped up into a bright sushi bar and a dull, institutional-appearing space for a coffee shop which was actually depressing. 6. the best feature of the hotel, the downstairs wine bar has been closed 7. the new night club area on the second level is incredibly loud 8. a "resort fee" of $7.50 per day is tacked onto the room charge without prior notice. 9. the room doors are heavy and close with a loud bang which reverberates down the long hall ways. I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tultrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    201
    86
    34
    38
See reviews for
131
255
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

First time going here I was pretty impressed with friendly staff and clean casino .the room was nice but floors need to be cleaned that's why I'm giving four stars the spa was nice friendly staff very professional I recommend this place if u just wanna relax with your wife or girlfriend deffintly not crazy or load like other casinos in reno.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

Quaint little place on the river walk. It is a Holiday Inn that has been redone. The rooms aren't large, but cute, clean and comfortable.
The staff was friendly, right down to the housekeepers. Everyone was always happy to chat and always, always had a smile.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have stayed a few times and have been impressed with every visit. The staff is very nice and accommodating as well as friendly. The Casino is much less smoky than the bigger casinos and more fun to play at the tables. We have always enjoyed our stays and will continue to make this our hotel of choice when going to Reno. The rooms are comfortable, clean and nothing beats the river view. The pool and hot tub are nice amenities as well in the summer and winter. We have stayed with our children and without and was within walking distance to anything for them as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a River View .... you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

The hotel was clean, very nice and inexpensive....the staff was very nice and I even got a greeting from the Hotel Manager....very nice lady. We got to be at the grand opening for the night club and it was very nice to get a pretty red rose for every lady.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood,Ca 94513
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I were compt a 2 night stay at this Hotel .. We were there on a Friday and Saturday Night in June of this year(2013). Every one was so friendly at check in.. I asked for a room with a River View on a high floor and that is exactly what we got...The view was so nice and if you opened the window at night you could hear the water flowing, it was so peaceful. Our room was beautiful and spacious...All of the people who work there were very nice.. We will most definitely be back again and again. We also love the couple who sing and play different instruments....wow can she blow that horn..For anyone who says a negative thing about this hotel/casino they need to try again...maybe it was an off day it does happen now and then to everyone...

Room Tip: When booking a room be sure to ask for a high floor and a river view they are much quieter and nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ammax7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

We booked at the Siena Hotel for two separate one night stays; one at the beginning, the other at the end of our Reno trip. We were in town for the Boys Jr. National volleyball tournament being held at the Reno Sparks convention center. Since the Atlantis is connected by walkway it was more convenient to stay there for the majority of our days in Reno and we're sure glad we did after visiting the Siena. In fact, we cancelled our last night at the Sienna opting to stay on at the Atlantis for the final night. The Sienna looked great on trip advisor, not so great in person. We had high hopes as we were picked up at the airport...we had arrived late but our car was there waiting and the attendant was polite and friendly, getting us to the Sienna quickly. However, once we arrived we were met at the desk by an unwelcoming staff member. The lobby was dark and extremely smoke filled from the casino. We were given our room assignment and once upstairs we found a very worn and tired looking room, much smaller than I'd have thought. We asked for a non-smoking room or floor but it clearly was a smoking room. The carpeting was disgusting with stains and dirt...the bathroom and room furnishings all a bit beat up as well. We had a King bed with only two small pillows and when we called the front desk the assured us they'd have someone from housekeeping bring a couple of extras up. When we had to call back a half hour later we offered to come get them but were told that housekeeping was closed up for the night. No pillows, no extra blankets. We've stayed in Hilton Garden Inns and Courtyards that have these items in plastic zipped bags within the room and we're staying at what should be an upgraded hotel and you can't find the same amenities! We also called for a wake-up call and if we hadn't set a travel alarm as a back-up we'd have slept through the first matches of the day over at the tournament as the call from the hotel desk never came through.
Overall, I'd say the best thing about the hotel was the ride from the airport! By comparison, our stay at the Atlantis was top-notch. Don't waste your time at the Siena, just not worth it.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for and receive a non-smoking room if you don't want to smell the smoke from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,041 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Reno Downtown/Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siena Hotel

Property: Siena Hotel
Address: 1 South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Siena Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is currently under renovation and offers limited dining options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Siena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing