We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ask About the View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ask About the View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I booked a corner suite at the hotel expecting to have great views in two directions. The suite (601) is just above the roof of other sections of the hotel. Outside each window, literally within two feet of the window, were huge air conditioners. The was no view of anything in any direction. I complained to the staff and they moved me to a two room suite on a higher floor. This suite was less expensive but had better amenities and a view. They were apologetic and I believe actually unaware of the view problem in 601. I cannot believe I was the first to complain. Staff was attentive and room service was fast and good. Casino is not big, but ventilation was good - no smoke issue.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    202
    86
    36
    37
See reviews for
133
256
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The beds are so comfortable you won't want to get out of bed! But ivf you want to eat you will have to get out since room service is difficult to contact and unreliable. We ordered breakfast but after waiting 45 minutes after the expected time we called and were told they had no record of our order. The lady was nice and held a table for us in the coffee shop but the service was incredibly slow and food was ok not great. The siena does have a great happy hour. Appetizers are half price and delicious. Seating is limited so u need to get there early.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmdaok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

The staff was very helpful. Rooms were nice and reasonably priced. A varety of specials at the restaurants was available. Shuttle service was great. Our group was well taken care of. We will definitely be back to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PCountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Creek, Nevada, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

This was the first time staying at this hotel and they exceeded our expectations. The Siena might be our place to stay when in Reno. Within walking distance of everything downtown. The restaurant was good and the staff was very friendly as was the front desk staff. Rooms were clean and well decorated.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodtimesbg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The folks at the Siena Hotel and Casino in Reno, Nevada are really remarkable. No matter what department, from housekeeping, restaurant, casino and even security always had a smile on their faces. You don't often find this in many other places. They not only would go out of their way to answer questions, give directions, or physically stop what they were doing to take care of your individual issue, but they actually seemed to enjoy it!!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the river side, other wise you be looking at roof tops and parking lots.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I recently stayed at the Siena for one night on the 21st of February and was very pleased with the quick check in and the river front room. The hotel lobby area was clean, inviting and every member of the staff that I came into contact with was professional and friendly. The casino was fun (though I didn’t make any money on the slots which is pretty standard just about anywhere in Reno, at least for me), but the wait staff was great and it was fun to interact with one enthusiastic girl on her first night. They also had a duo playing in the lounge area, which is open to the casino floor, that did a mean rendition of Carly Simon’s “You’re so Vain.” The one detractor to the stay was the pizza in the River Front Café, simply said, “Not good. “

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CW2RET96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

We recently spent two nights at Siena on a cold winter weekend. Every little detail was fantastic. Fluffy warm bedding and soft pillows and sheets. A gorgeous 4th floor hot tub under the stars in 20 degree weather.(most hotels have pools and spas closed this time of year outdoor, but you still pay for the priveledge) Bathrobes and laptop safe in base rooms. Prompt roomservice on a tray you can eat in the bed on, complete with every condiment and a caraffe of ice water. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean, bright, and beautifully decorated. Our room overlooked the river and I fell asleep each night watching the prism of lights outside change on the ceiling, it was lovely. May be minor details we liked, but we stay up there often for my husbands photograghy and this is the most impressed we've been out of of all the hotels in Reno. No arcade or tons of kids running around. Great place for adults to enjoy live music, food, and the spa.

Room Tip: Definately choose a room overlooking the river, the lights that change color on the outside of the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,173 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.6 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Address: One South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Siena Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away isn’t about holding back. It’s about indulging, rewarding and savoring every moment. As Reno’s only non-gaming, non-smoking, full-service branded hotel, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel offers a different kind of setting – one with state-of-the-art everything, incredible riverfront views, exceptional fine and casual dining, luxury accommodations, a rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, impressive wine cellar, first-rate meeting facilities, and an exclusive bocce venue to take your escape to the next level. Located in the heart of downtown Reno and on the banks of the Truckee River, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel is your ideal home base to explore the incredible Sierra Nevada setting, mere minutes from a thriving Midtown, happening Riverwalk District and endless outdoor activities. Explore nearby Lake Tahoe. Soak up the region’s rich western history. Or plan to attend one of the Biggest Little City’s many acclaimed special events, such as Artown, Hot August Nights or the Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival. This is getting away the right way. This is Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel – redefining Reno, one guest at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing