We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Local Spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Local Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

I come to Reno often for business and we have used most of the hotels for our crews to stay in. I always prefer this property.
It is very nicely located right downtown on the river, yet a block or two away from the shady casino mecca that is downtown reno. The circus circus and eldorado and stuff is all packed into the area nearby and lots of vagrants roam those streets.
The Sienna is set away from this just enough that it feels better.
It is 2 blocks away from the new minor league ball park that is a great place for a night out with friends and family, close to wonderful restaurants and the river walking just out the door is wonderful.
The beds are wonderful, best in Reno. Clean linens. A lovely pool on the fourth floor is perfect for a summer time dip and the Spa has good massages and reasonable rates.
I always want to stay here when I come to REno town.

Room Tip: Any corner room upgrade is fantastic and the bathrooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gdogg2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

672 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    312
    202
    86
    35
    37
See reviews for
131
256
48
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cameron Park, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

My father and I stayed at the Siena while he was relocating me home after being in the hospital. The front desk clerk was very friendly unlike the reservation agent on the phone that morning. She smiled and told us of all the different events at the time. She managed to change our room to a river view and helped us with other special requests. We stayed for two nights. The rooms were beautiful and the view was breath taking. Close to my favorite Karaoke Bar and we had a great stay. The food in the cafe was delicious as well and so was the service. We look forward to returning and bringing the family.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PrincessUrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pine Grove, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

Siena has it all. Beautiful hotel and casino right on the banks of the Truckee River. Friendly and accommodating staff. Very clean and pretty rooms with comfortable beds and pillows. Excellent restaurants with delicious food and generous portions with promo discount prices. Wide variety of slot machines. Affordable table game limits. Lot's of daily free promos. Pool, hottub, spa, and gym. Close to other major casinos, restaurants, museums, historical sites, points of interest and zoo. Looking forth to our fourth visit.

Room Tip: Ask for room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This resort casino gets it right. The servive is first class and friendly. The did an outstanding job with the decor, extremely nice with not over doing it.Example in the elevator corridors they have 5 star furnishings, most casinos don't have anything. It does not feel like a casino in the lobby or restaurants either. I've eaten in all the restaurants and the food is always cooked perfectly, looks appealing and of good value. The casino size is just right, it's not overcrowded and the color concept is visually appealing.Now the rooms, they simply are the best in town.The comfort of the room is so nice that you don't want to leave your room. The bed is so comfortable with it's 450 thread count and the plush pillows.The nice flat screens are top of the line too. Coffee is included along with free Wi-Fi too. The bathrooms are appointed nicely, extremely clean, no bad grout or stains and the housekeeping staff is terrific and friendly.Most of the rooms have terrific views which also makes the experience even better. I will return to this exceptional property.

Room Tip: Ask for the river view rooms or sierra views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomasbighan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Downtown Reno has made significant progress in the last few years, especially with the riverfront area. I was glad to take advantage of a great offer to stay at the Siena for a few days in early November. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are beautifully decorated, and well-maintained. I also enjoyed the easy access from the parking lot to my room, unlike other larger Reno hotels. The casino is compact and comfortable, and a little brighter than others. I had breakfast in the River View Cafe: the waitstaff was very responsive, and the rushing Truckee River was right there. The hotel staff all seemed very committed to treating guests well. My only disappointment was the almost unusable slow wifi connection in my room. I am sure that, if I had complained about it, the problem would have been solved, and I'll certainly request a room with a strong signal next time. I am glad the Siena has reopened in such a positive way.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side look over the river. The south side overlooks the parking lot. If a good wif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

What a nice suprise this hotel was. With most of Reno on the decline, the Siena was clean and didn't really have the "casino" smell. The room was clean and modern and had plenty of space to move around. ipod dock and flat screen tv were both in the room. It is only a few minutes walk to the near by casinos, but I had the best luck on the slots at the Siena. Right next to the river and the hotel has some rooms with a nice view on the higher floors.

Room Tip: try to get floor 5 or higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigMike5556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brush Prairie, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

We flew in for a Saturday night play, Guys and Dolls, and we were Welcomed in at Hotel and treated like royalty. The hotel staff, maintenance and housekeeping were all very friendly and very accommodating. The room was larger then we expected and very clean and comfortable. The bed was amazing, we slept in later then usual because we were so comfortable. I will definitely return and will recommend to anyone traveling to Reno.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gurutravel101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,164 reviews
1.7 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.6 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plaza on the River at Plaza Resort Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel
Address: One South Lake Street, Reno, NV 89501 (Formerly Siena Hotel)
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Getting away isn’t about holding back. It’s about indulging, rewarding and savoring every moment. As Reno’s only non-gaming, non-smoking, full-service branded hotel, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel offers a different kind of setting – one with state-of-the-art everything, incredible riverfront views, exceptional fine and casual dining, luxury accommodations, a rooftop outdoor pool and hot tub, impressive wine cellar, first-rate meeting facilities, and an exclusive bocce venue to take your escape to the next level. Located in the heart of downtown Reno and on the banks of the Truckee River, the Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel is your ideal home base to explore the incredible Sierra Nevada setting, mere minutes from a thriving Midtown, happening Riverwalk District and endless outdoor activities. Explore nearby Lake Tahoe. Soak up the region’s rich western history. Or plan to attend one of the Biggest Little City’s many acclaimed special events, such as Artown, Hot August Nights or the Lake Tahoe Shakespeare Festival. This is getting away the right way. This is Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel – redefining Reno, one guest at a time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Reno Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing