We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Mediterranean Food!”
Review of Naan & Kabab

Naan & Kabab
Ranked #29 of 930 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: At Naan & Kabab, we would like to think of our dishes as a culinary journey -- a chance to get away during the time you join us for your meal. Lamb Shish Kabab and Rack of Lamb Kabab grilled to perfection (all lamb is Halal). Exotic spices and seasonings that make your mouth water and your tongue dance. Creamy and comforting hummus paired with delightfully fluffy naan bread. Juicy and steamy vegetables fresh off of the grill. Our passion is capturing all of the excitement and romance of Mediterranean food in every bite. Naan & Kabab is a fantastic place for friends to meet, to celebrate moments with your closest loved ones, or for a great meal, guaranteed, any night of the week. Just to be sure you have the best experience with us, please call ahead for exact closing times in case we have to close earlier due to weather. We look forward to serving you our famous hummus, falafel, gyros, and kababs!
Cheyenne, Wyoming
Level 6 Contributor
408 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good Mediterranean Food!”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Most of the time, Mediterranean just means Greek but NOT here. This place offers Mediterranean in terms of the Middle East more than anything else. The ambience is understated Middle East with just décor slanted to the food. NO belly dancers here. Service is very courteous and prompt. Even the owner / head chef came out to talk to us about our meal.

We ordered the Manzel Dinner for two which included THREE Kababs as well as Bazmati Rice and roasted vegetables. They also throw in one small basket of Naan and Torshi. We got the Filet, Double Lamb Chops and Prawns. We thought the prawns were either overdone or frozen cause they were a trifle soft but the 2 meats were Top Notch. The seasoning was NOT hot, just right spicy. There was more than enough for two people. We also got a bottle of pacific northwest Cabernet and coffee. We split the Awesome Dudette desert of RICH Chocolate Layered Cake topped with Akbar Mashdi ice cream (vanilla-saffron ice cream, pistachios, rose water and frozen heavy cream). Bill was $80 with tax. Pretty reasonable for the amount of food.

Several Eastern people who ate there remarked that THEY thought some of the food was NOT authentic in that there was NOT enough or real saffron and the Torshi wasn't accurate. Some thought the Bazmati Rice wasn't authentic either. Personally, I thought the food was very good and worth the trip as well as the cost.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    71
    32
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Charming and flavorful”
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Don't miss this quaint Mediterranean restaurant across the street from the towering Peppermill casino resort. Naan & Kabab delivers on fresh food and attentive service. From the moment we were greeted, our wants seemed a high priority. I had the vegetable Kabab with basmati-saffron rice. The flavorful vegetables were perfectly grilled to a crisp tender, and the rice could not have been better. The plate arrived very hot and fresh. My husband enjoyed his dinner-size Caesar salad. For dessert, we shared the Awesome Dudette, chocolate layer cake with house made saffron vanilla ice cream flavored with pistachios and rose water. It's not a huge dessert, but offers a unique flavor palette. Chef Maurice greeted us during dessert and enticed us to return for a free baklava dessert. Too bad we have to come all the way from Tucson!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on our trip!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013

During our four week trip through the West, this was the best Restaurant we ate at.

If I hadn't seen the reviews here on tripadvisors, I would probably have missed this jewel. It isn't very flashy from the outside, so there is a risk that you'll just walk by. However once you step inside, you can feel the hospitality. We were greated by our outstanding friendly waiter. Service was attentive and excellent.

The food itself was fabulous. I had Sultani (Beef Tenderloin and Kabab) and my wife had a vegetarian dish. Both dishes were cooked perfeclty and very tasty. They were spicy (but not overpowered as it is sometimes in other restaurants where too much spice ruins the taste). Dessert was also outstanding. The pricing of the food was fair and I found it to be a good value for our money.

At the end of our dinner the Chef came around and asked how everything was.

If you ever come to Reno, eat here! Look no further, this is probably the best food and the best value for money you'll get in the city.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikep79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Found it”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

At the Naan and Kabab we found some really good Mediterranean food! (Especially if you like lamb.) The food was very good - the service very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere very enjoyable.
If you are looking for this style food do try eating here. Maybe we will see you there, we will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EJL545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEVADA
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Good.”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Naan & Kabab isn't Indian, so don't let the name fool you. First timer and went for lunch. Food was fresh with wonderful flavors. Dessert was saffron ice cream with crumbled baclava. Restaurant is clean with good service. Will return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newzealandtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naan & Kabab also viewed

 

Been to Naan & Kabab? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing