We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location ; great value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Ranked #2 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“great location ; great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

hotel in good location, staff friendly - not expensive - good value for money

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank noel h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    343
    152
    31
    13
    7
See reviews for
182
94
44
186
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Michigan
Level Contributor
264 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel at the end of our trip to Sparks on business, followed by Lake Tahoe and Napa Valley on vacation. We stayed here because it is really close and convenient to the airport and we had an early morning flight. Hotel is very new, with excellent rooms. The room was very large, and seemed brand new. Lots of nice accents and features made the short stay very nice. The bed was the best I have slept on in a long time. I travel a lot and would return just for the comfortable beds.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigDaddy3859
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Level Contributor
157 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We (2 adults, 2 children) stayed there on an overnight stop on our way to San Francisco. It was the first time we stayed in a Hyatt Place and I would say that the hotel lives up to Hyatt standards. The lobby is impressive, check-in on a self check-in accounter was smooth (there was a friendly employee to assist though). The room is a suite-style room with a kingsize bed and a pullout sofa, separated from each other by a little wall with a huge flat-screen TV mounted on top. The bathroom is rather on the small side with the sink being in the room. The furniture is modern and everything was well-maintained and clean. When we called housekeeping because of a blown lightbulb in the bathroom, a member of staff was in our room within less than a minute and fixed the light within less than five minutes. We were quite impressed by this kind of quick reaction.
We had a snack at the restaurant in the lobby. It is kind of a food counter run by the receptionist. Anyway, the food (we had a salad, a soup and cookies) was surprisingly good.
If you want to work out there is a small gym, which we did not use, but the machines seemed to be knew. Also there is a huge indoor pool and a whirlpool outdoors. Towels are provided and there are some loungers.

Continental breakfast was included and served as a buffet. Additional items, such as scrambled eggs and bacon can be purchases at an additional fee. The presentation of the food and the selection was above average for a hotel of this class. We were pleasantly surprised.

The only negative point is the noise. It is an airport hotel and the windows are not soundproof. Considerable noise can be heard in the room, both from the airport as well as from the highway running next to the hotel.

All in all a very nice hotel, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraugast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnemucca, NV
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

We celebrated a birthday recently and went to Reno to have fun. We stayed at the Hyatt Place for the second time. I am pleased to report that this hotel is still one of my favorite hotels of all time! The rooms are laid out well, the beds and pillows are perfect, and the service is amazing. There is a large flat panel TV, microwave, fridge, hair dryer, and coffee maker (single cup) in the room. The free Internet service (wifi and wired both) is good and fast. I did not hear a sound outside my room and the hotel was quite full. The free breakfast is very well stocked and contains a variety of food that will please kids and adults, even if you are health conscious.

This facility contains a nice, clean exercise room with an elliptical, a recumbent stationary bike, two treadmills, and a small weight bench. All were clean and in great condition. There is a small indoor pool and a small outdoor hot tub and although we didn't use them, they looked well maintained and nice.

I would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Personally, I like the suites at the ends of the halls. Some rooms have tubs, some don't, so be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CrankyNVGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2011

Since this particular hotel is situated directly between U.S. 395 and Reno-Tahoe Airport, I expected a lot of outside noise. That was not really noticeable.

What was noticeable was the loud heating-air conditioning unit under the window (as you find in most lower-cost chain motels and some business mini-suite properties). It was LOUD. If you're a heavy sleeper, this shouldn't be an issue. If you're a light sleeper - you can either reach for your ear plugs...or turn the unit off. There doesn't appear to be a way to tone down the fan. This isn't always an easy decision when, on my stay, the overnight temperature dips below freezing - or you're in the heat of a Reno summer and want the room to stay cool.

Otherwise, the features and rooms are comparable to any other Hyatt Place property, anywhere else. The rooms are big and comfortable, but not necessarily plush. The counter area has a small fridge and coffee maker, but no sink or microwave. You should ask for a handicapped room if you want a toilet-shower space bigger than a closet. You do get a decent-sized flat-screen television and complimentary Wi-Fi. What you do not get from most rooms is a decent view; since this *is* the Biggest Little City In The World, why would you stay in your room?

Hyatt Places are Hyatt's minimal-service properties that cater to business travelers. There is a lounge with coffee / soft liquor service from a bar, a front counter containing soft drinks and snacks, and a dining area that serves a complimentary continental breakfast. You can order hot entrees from a touch-screen monitor; however, the quality of service depends on the time of day. I checked in after lunch, and a guest was ordering lunch from the monitor. I came down from the room 15-20 minutes later and he still hadn't received his meal. The continental breakfast features a choice of baked goods, fruit, cereal, Activia yogurt, and coffee - just enough to get you on your way.

The desk staff are "hosts", some of them better than others in quality of service. You can deal with them at check-in and check-out, or use one of the ATM-style self-service kiosks. The hosts, when I did encounter them, seemed pleasant enough.

The property has a fitness center and indoor pool. I used neither. Don't expect much else, such as a spa, gift shop, or assistance with evening entertainment at the casinos. Hyatt Places are places where you come to Reno to do business and head home in a day or two.

Parking is plentiful - lots of spaces at the back of the hotel.

Access to U.S. 395 and Plumb Lane (either takes you to Virginia Street's casinos) is hindered by a very *long* traffic signal - this is the gateway intersection to the airport itself.

The property is quite isolated between the freeway and airport, so there isn't much going on around the hotel. There are several basic shopping centers off Plumb, on the west side of 395. There are more places to eat (and much more to do) the closer you get to Virginia Street.

The best thing about the property: as with all Hyatt properties, Hyatt Place is completely non-smoking. Compared with the rooms in Reno's casinos, this was literally a breath of fresh air. And there's no resort fee here, as is usually found in the city's casinos.

Room Tip: There's a little less noise on the airport side of the hotel. You can use the self-service kios...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cyberchomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Level Contributor
132 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

The rooms are spacious and well laid out, although the bathroom with toilet and shower is quite tiny. The drawback is that there is nothing outside the room. There are minimal staff and the front desk also is a food counter for coffee, prepackaged sandwiches, etc. No concierge. You are across the street from the airport with nothing within walking distance. Not unpleasant, just a bid odd to have such nice rooms in an establishment that is otherwise minimalist. I should note that there was some confusion about which day we were checking out and the staff handled smoothly and in a way that accommodated us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elm4154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

The staff here are always very pleasant and the rooms are very comfortable. I just wish they would deal with/change the really harsh fluorescent lighitng in the rooms. I'm all about energy saving bulbs but there are ways to soften things- it's kind of like staying in a hospital room and that isn't such a comfortable feeing.

Freeway side is fairly noisy but I do like this alternative in Reno.

Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank herculepoirot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
2.7 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Plaza Hotel
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport

Property: Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Address: 1790 East Plumb Lane, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Reno
#4 Family Hotel in Reno
#6 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Despegar.com so you can book your Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing