We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved My Stay at the Atlantis!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed October 7, 2009

We arrived on October 4, 2009 at 2 pm for two nights. Easy to find parking in the back lot by their motel section, Our comped, 6th floor king bed Atrium room wasn't ready and were told to come back at 3. When we did, still not available and the very nice girl at the desk upgraded us to the 16th floor 2 queen Atrium room. Beautiful. The spacious bathroom was marble thruout, inc the door. Richly appointed room with mohagany-like mouldings. The comfortable beds were fantastic with heavy duty cotton comforters and pillows galore. Thick, clean carpeting thruout. Outside noise minimal so room was quiet for us. Felt safe the whole time. Door had an additional deadbolt, along with the familiar lock latch. We always use it. We loved the happy hour at Napa Bistro from 4-6 pm. Drinks like dirty martinis and mojitos and small plates were half off at $4.50. Beautiful place, lots of marble and rich wood, quiet and intimate. Yet at the bar you could enjoy Monday nite football with the large plasma tv. Also enjoyed the buffets at Charlie's Toucan. Delicious. They even had an unadvertised special of 2 for 1 breakfast buffet from 8:30 - 10:00 am Mondays thru Thursdays, with your player's card. Great deal. Went to the El Dorado for their dinner buffet show package of 42nd Street. Excellent value at $50 a person and with great seats, center aisle, row K. Drove to Virginia City for sightseeing and found Leatherworks where everything in ther store was $20 or less! Everything! That included leather jackets, coats, purses, vests, etc. Started Xmas shopping while there! So ending, highly recommend Atlantis for its friendliness,(everyone from the front desk to the maid were so nice and accommodating) cleanliness, warmth, good food and nice casino. And visit Virginia City! What a place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank susienew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisManagement, Manager at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Atlantis. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your trip to Virginia City! Your comments are important to us and they will be passed along to the appropriate departments. Our goal is to provide our guests with the highest quality Accommodations, Entertainment, Service, and Food and Beverage. Your comments help us to attain these goals. We hope that you choose the Atlantis for your future visit to the Reno area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,984)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,725 - 4,731 of 4,984 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2009

Stayed here for a conference - had a nice room - they have a great sushi bar.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RASadowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisManagement, Manager at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2009

We appreciate your comments regarding your room accommodations and the Sushi Bar at the Atlantis Casino Resort Spa. Our hotel rooms are still in the process of a remodel and will continue through the New Year. We have a variety of restaurants and amenities for our guests to choose from, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed the Sushi Bar! We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2009

I too was hit with an $11.30 charge per night above and beyond the Priceline charge. I never saw it on Priceline and never saw it on check in. However, the hotel was fair to good. I would have been better off throwing my money into the street rather than gambling. It went that fast with little to no payback. Just luck I guess.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larrylpf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisManagement, Manager at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2009

Thank you for your comments. We want to ensure that our guests are aware of any additional fees upon arrival, therefore, information about the $11.30 Resort Fee is posted on all of the third party websites and upon arrival at the Front Desk. If you have any questions please contact us directly and we hope you will choose the Atlantis for your future visit to the Reno area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2009

So we go to check in and were told a higher price than we were quoted over the phone, reason being is that we reserved online. BIG MISTAKE! Reserving online meant we were to pay a higher price. apparently you have to actually call and book with the casino to get the rate they quote you. Someone could have told us this!!!!! We talked to the "Big wig" in the "VP section" and he just aplogized and said there was simply nothing he could do to change the price he quoted "we are not a part of the online service and unless you know whom you spoke to over the phone when you called then we can not do anything" So instead of letting him spoil our mini vacation we just walked out. We stayed in the so called Dolphin Room, there were no dolphins in site, not that it was a big deal but they shouldn't be called the "dolphin room". the room was nice and clean so that was the only plus of the trip.

SO BE AWARE that if you book online you will pay a higher price than calling direct. For someone like us who have never stayed here it was a HUGE SHOCK!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbum049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisManagement, Manager at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2009

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any confusion regarding the hotel room rates. Our guests have a variety of options to choose from when reserving a hotel room, especially on third party websites. Once you book those reservations, the rate is locked in for your hotel stay (similar to the airline companies). We are not sure what the circumstances were upon your arrival, but if you have any questions about your rates please contact us directly and we will be happy to assist you. We hope that you will choose the Atlantis in the future. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2009

Surprised at the quality of the room, esp for the discounted price with the players card. Disappointed that you have to ask for the players card discounts in the restaurants. Our meals were excellent, and the staff quick to correct problems.
Enjoyed our no-smoking room and floor. Hallway carpets need stretching, but there is a sign the floor will be remodeled (when?).
Didn't mind the rather large "dead" bug caught in the torn out pleat in the curtain shears when we arrived at night. But did mind that it was missing the next morning!
Casino and restaurant staff very enjoyable.
Nice pools - indoor and out - and spa facilities.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rtravels2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisManagement, Manager at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2009

Response: Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Atlantis Casino Resort Spa. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay except for the discovery in your hotel room. I hope you will accept our apologies. We are still in the process of remodeling the hotel rooms and hallways and will continue into the New Year. We hope you will come back and visit the new Atlantis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2009

Booked two nights with Priceline for a 4 star room at a set total price that was to include all taxes and service charges. Upon arrival (after a long drive) was informed by the hotel that there would be an additional $10 a day charge for spa services. My girlfriend tried to use the gym and was told that it would be an additional $7.50 per day. Our room was located on the 4th floor of the Luxury? Tower overlooking the parking lot and the two story motel section. The room was comparable to a newer Comfort Inn (but without HBO, refrigerator, microwave, and breakfast). After returning home I discovered that I could have walked in the door and got the same room for the same price. I feel ripped off. Priceline should know that the Atlantis is going to charge extra over the quoted rate. The Atlantis gave us a 2 1/2 or 3 star room for a four star booking.
Fool me once............. Never again. Be aware of the bait and switch operation at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bigbill13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisManagement, Manager at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2009

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the Atlantis Casino Resort Spa. We are disappointed to hear about your frustration about the additional fee upon your arrival and the room accommodation on the 4th floor. We apologize for any inconvenience.
We want to ensure that are guests are aware of any additional fees that our resort includes, therefore, those additional fees are posted on the third party websites, including Priceline.com and also upon arrival at the Front Desk. We are currently in the process of renovating all of our hotel rooms and corridors, including new furniture, fixtures, carpet, artwork, and bedding. We hope that you will give us a second chance and experience the New Atlantis!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009

I am remiss in writing this review. My husband stayed here in Reno last fall for business during a bike event. Prices were high due to the event. His room in the tower was decent, but not worth the pricing for the event. He stayed two nights.

On the second night, at 3 am a man walked into his room thru the connecting door between his room and the next and wandered around. The maid had left my husband's side unlocked. Security was called, the other guest went back to his room. Security started grilling MY HUSBAND about whether he had checked to make sure the door was locked. He wanted to call the police but they asked him not to and were obnoxious about it too, it was 3 am so he put a chair against hall door and connecting door and went back to sleep.

In the morning he complained at the front desk. They said there was nothing they could do about it and stuff just happens did HE CHECK THE LOCK. Well actually he had on his initial check in, but not the second day - so the maid definitely unlocked the door between the two rooms. Maybe to clean and was careless. Maybe in collusion with the guest to rob him had he been a sounder sleeper. Who knows. But it's kind of skanky that it happened at all or that they would try to blame the guest.

I called the hotel upon his return and talked to the managers asst. Four days of manager promising to call me and compensate us - and nothing happened. No room refund. No apology. No gift certificate for future stays. No promise that the cleaning staff would be better trained. Just the asst. telling me they couldn't do much because of 'liability issues.'

Interesting.

Anyway the reason I am posting now, having recalled this incident at last during a very busy year, is that I do not think any single women should stay here period. I think anyone staying here in a room with connecting door needs to place a chair against it. I think management is very poor. Insultingly poor.

I'd stay someplace else if at all possible. At the least this situation is full of incompetence. At the worst this situation bespeaks serious internal security issues.

very interested to see if anyone responds to this post and delivers on what they promised almost a year ago. (I doubt it!)

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GD2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AtlantisManagement, Ben McDonald - Publicist at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2009

I am so glad we were able to resolve this issue, and we are definitely looking forward to your stay with us this September! Again, I am sincerely sorry about your previous experience, and I am hopefully optimistic we will redeem ourselves in your eyes. It was truly a pleasure speaking with you, and I hope you have a great stay and a great time at Street Vibrations! Sincerely, Ben McDonald. Publicist, Atlantis Casino Resort Spa. pr@atlantiscasino.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.5 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
3.2 mi away
Circus Circus Reno Hotel & Casino
2.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
4,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
9.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Boomtown Casino Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Casino Resort Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Casino Resort Spa

Address: 3800 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-6005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Reno
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#1 Spa Hotel in Reno
#2 Family Hotel in Reno
#2 Business Hotel in Reno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $71 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Casino Resort Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa is honored to be a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award. This prestigious recognition signifies the beauty and attention to detail eminent throughout the entire resort. Nestled at the base of the majestic Sierra Nevada mountains, Atlantis is ideally located on the strip in the heart of Reno’s restaurant, entertainment and shopping district. Atlantis is a resplendent oasis created for relaxation, rejuvenation and celebration. A favorite of resort destination travelers near and far, and voted Best Hotel & Casino for its exceptional and friendly service, Atlantis is truly second to none. Atlantis offers a complimentary airport shuttle, free valet parking and acres of free self-parking.Experience all that Atlantis has to offer. Atlantis has rooms ranging from deluxe accommodations to Reno’s only Concierge Hotel Tower, with amenities to suit anyone from the vacationing family to the high roller or business traveler. Dine in one of our eight award-winning restaurants or enjoy our ten captivating bars and lounges, with daily social hour and happy hour. The world-class Spa Atlantis is the winner of SpaFinder’s Readers’ Choice Award for Best Hotel Casino Spa and boasts unique treatments and beneficial amenities. Our casino floor features Exclusive Premiere slots, a smoke-free poker room, Race & Sports book, and Reno’s only casino-wide progressive jackpot.Stay. Dine. Play. Spa. In Four Diamond Luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Atlantis Casino Resort Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Reno
Atlantis Resort Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing