We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regrettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Regrettable”
Reviewed February 26, 2009

I work at a hotel in San Francisco and having to actually manage to get the weekend off took some serious back breaking negotiating. There is nothing better than anxiously awaiting your vacation and checking into a great unit, with great friends.

Unfortunately, that feeling died out as soon as I arrived at 3 in the morning on Saturday and was greeted by a cold smirk and an unfriendly welcome. The girl with the black hair was partially interested and wanted to quickly dispose of us. Maria the night shift front desk manager was even worse than the associate. Every question I asked she bitterly replied as if I should know the answers. Look, it's nothing personal--but if you're uninterested and unsatisfied with your job do not take it out on your customers.

There was a leakage somewhere that didn't concern our unit but the maintenance guys decided to knocked on our door 3 times all within hours intervals to let us know.

On the bright side though room was clean.

I will not be recommending Atlantis Casino Resort to any of my future clients or friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nitamui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,321
    967
    262
    118
    135
See reviews for
1,071
1,790
437
696
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brigham City, UT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2009

My husband and I just finished up our Christmas vacation with a three night stay. We didn’t get the higher floor that we wanted or the king size bed (Oh the little pleasures in life!) but we did have a wonderful time and the customer service was outstanding! If you are a sushi lover Sherwin and Pam are the two you want to look for they will make your dining experience a reason to go back for more (and we did 3x,… the mermaid roll is a dream). Then there is the Manhattan deli everyone was so nice but you want to look for William if you want to really dine with style. Thanks to the wonderful staff and the attentive cocktail servers, we will be back!

  • Liked — customer service was outstanding!
  • Disliked — We got there at around 6pm and the room preferences were not available.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Just a quick warning: Avoid room 1137 and all those that are in line with it up and down the "luxury tower". The glass elevators slide right in front of the windows. And I mean within inches! The big cords hang in front of the windows and then the elevators woosh past. It's quite startling the first time it happens. The people in the elevator can't see into the room I'm sure, but it's very disconcerting. You certainly don't want to have the curtains open. The noise is more of a rumbling sound and I think I'm getting used to it. Light sleepers would be miserable. Other than that the place is great for the price we got on Hotwire($25).

  • Liked — Spacious room
  • Disliked — ELEVATORS!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank shelbymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2008

I went to Reno for a conference. My company booked tha Atlantis for me. I was pleasantly surprised at the hotel. While I am a frequent visitor to Las Vegas, it had been a while since I had been to Reno. The hotel was clean, easy to navigate. I liked that it did not take long to get from my room on the 16th floor to the main floor areas, casino etc.
The hotel restaurants were very moderately priced, which was an unexpected surprise. The coffee shop was O.K. The deli, and Italian places were better than average and given the price for the entrees and the size of the portions, a good bargain. The seafood buffet was better than expected.
I was happy to see that the tables did NOT start at $25 and go up from there. It was nice just to be able to gamble for the enjoyment without having to worry about mortgaging the house.
I will definately be staying here again when I return with the family.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank porscheluvva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2008

Looked online for deals, was looking for a great deal to stay a couple a days mainly to see relatives. Boy do I wish I d paid the extra to stay at the SUMMIT again!. I hadnt been to Atlantis for over 10 years, but thought how bad could it be? Try horrible overall! AND- I wont go through expedia again EITHER! What a PAIN in the BEhind!.. Upon Arrival I waited in line for more than 45 minutes to check in only to be told my our room was smoking only off in the motor lodge (my father has a smoke allergy and knee injury so that wasnt going to work). I had to pay 30 dollars extra to upgrade per night!. Then, every restaurant in the hotel was exposed to the casinos- no separate walls- so there was no way to get away from smoke or the sound of ring aling ding without leaving the hotel. The next day when I phoned to try and change the reservations and leave learly, I had to wait online with expedia phone holds back and forth for 1/2 an hor- the soonest we could check out was sunday morning, at which time we had to verify check out again for another 1/2 hour on the phone with expedia- ! What an inconvenience!! AND in to top it off- there was only one jacuzzi, and it was filled with 15 children ranging from 5years old to 15 splashing away while the parents were on deck enjoying there beverages. One pool was working, the other was being filled, which was ice cold (another reason we stayed at Atlantis over the Summit- because the pool is such a walk at the Summit--) and were not informed when making arrangements. We awoke to grinding- thats right, Atlantis is remodeling, so early Sunday morning they are grinding marble- lucky for us we were leaving early. I will never stay at at Atlantis again, and it is unlikely I will book through Expedia again, no matter how many "i'm sorry for your wait" the friendly people told me- it was not helpful!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — MATTRESS QUALITY
  • Disliked — NOISE, SERVICE, VALUE, QUALITY,
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Nataliapsychologist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2008

Few people carry as much Clout in writing Reviews as a Seasoned Travel Industry Professional.
As a Person who has been to over 33 countries, when It was Decided that my First, Legal, wedding would be a Simple Reno Affair, the Atlantis Resort and Casino was Our Choice where to spend this most Special of Occasions. Atlantis not only met, but exceeded our Expectations, every step of the Way. From the Moment our Reservations were booked by Ms. Nolan, It was a weekend we would Cherish forever. Everyone treated us like a VIP, from Marc in the VIP Reception, to Frank in the Concierge Lounge, and Monica the Front Desk Manager. Even Mark Rogers of Hotel Security went out of His Way. Atlantis is The Only Real Choice, for a Memorable Experience in Reno!

Helpful?
Thank TravelIndustryPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2008

My prior stay in their Motor Lodge unit was disappointing, but that put me on their mailing list for a $25 promotion for their basic (a.k.a. "luxury") tower rooms on certain dates. Everything on the tower side (there are several sections, varying in amenities) was well-run; my room was nicely furnished and included an iron and a safe.
Their glass elevators are as fast as they are interesting.
I didn't eat there, but many food options were offered.
The indoor pool is superb; the outdoor one is small, but the sundeck area is large and quiet. The fitness center was undergoing renovation; the temporary room was barely adequate.
Talented lounge performers filled the lobby and casino area with lively music.
The property is near a lot of shopping but several miles from the downtown casinos. A local bus passes every 10-15 minutes and arrives downtown within 25 minutes. When their huge parking lots swell up, it could take you ten minutes just to walk to your car.

  • Liked — Condition of Room
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Low-Budget-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.4 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
3.2 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Casino Resort Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Casino Resort Spa

Property: Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Address: 3800 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-6005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#1 Spa Hotel in Reno
#1 Casino Hotel in Reno
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#2 Business Hotel in Reno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#2 Family Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Casino Resort Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa is honored to be a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award. This prestigious recognition signifies the beauty and attention to detail eminent throughout the entire resort. Nestled at the base of the majestic Sierra Nevada mountains, Atlantis is ideally located on the strip in the heart of Reno’s restaurant, entertainment and shopping district. Atlantis is a resplendent oasis created for relaxation, rejuvenation and celebration. A favorite of resort destination travelers near and far, and voted Best Hotel & Casino for its exceptional and friendly service, Atlantis is truly second to none. Atlantis offers a complimentary airport shuttle, free valet parking and acres of free self-parking.Experience all that Atlantis has to offer. Atlantis has rooms ranging from deluxe accommodations to Reno’s only Concierge Hotel Tower, with amenities to suit anyone from the vacationing family to the high roller or business traveler. Dine in one of our eight award-winning restaurants or enjoy our ten captivating bars and lounges, with daily social hour and happy hour. The world-class Spa Atlantis is the winner of SpaFinder’s Readers’ Choice Award for Best Hotel Casino Spa and boasts unique treatments and beneficial amenities. Our casino floor features Exclusive Premiere slots, a smoke-free poker room, Race & Sports book, and Reno’s only casino-wide progressive jackpot.Stay. Dine. Play. Spa. In Four Diamond Luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Atlantis Casino Resort Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Reno
Atlantis Resort Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing