We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but no concept of ADA rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Ranked #1 of 64 Hotels in Reno
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely but no concept of ADA rooms”
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Absolutely fantastic resort! Some of the best food we had on the entire trip. Seriously. Lovely place, fantastic personnel. Incredible room with only one flaw. If you are in a wheelchair and request an accessible room, forget using the bathroom unless you can still use your legs enough to transfer to either the toilet or the bath that makes no space for your chair. The beautiful and highly polished granite floors are dangerously slippery for someone who might be a bit unsteady on their feet.

If I were to improve the bathroom, I would have changed the right hand grab rail to the sort that lifts so a chair could actually be moved next to the toilet to transfer, or moved down for someone who is just infirm and needs a rail on both sides. I would also change the tub out for a zero threshold shower with a fold down seat *with the adjustable height hand held shower within arms length of the seat* ( something that many hotels don't seem to understand. What use is a hand held shower if you can not actually reach it from the seat unassisted?)

Other than the room, the accessibility overall was excellent, the food was phenomenal [try the wood grilled baby artichokes, I think they are made with crack because they are addictively good!] and the service was fantastic. The rooms are very comfortable and though expensive well worth the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aruvqan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,310
    967
    260
    118
    135
See reviews for
1,069
1,784
437
694
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Culver, Oregon, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were quoted a rate when we reserved our 5 night stay. But, when we checked in, were told that rate was not available!? Losers before we even got into the Casino. When we went to sleep that night we noticed our non-smoking room smelled of smoke (all night). The desk offered another room, so we packed up and lugged everything from the 15th to the 17th floor.
there was a howling noise like "wind" through the room day and night. If we propped the door open it stopped. Parking was no picnic either, really hard to get a spot without circling for a long time.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get the rates your quoted, or a smoke free room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

After a ski trip, we stayed at the Atlantis for our early morning flight back east. The check in was a bit crazy (room wasn't ready), but took the opportunity to play in the casino. We upgraded to the conceriege level which was very nice (as mentioned in previous reviews). Stayed on the 25th floor with nice view of the mountains. Flat screen TVs in bedroom AND in the bathroom. Free WiFi worked great. All around a good experience and would stay here again. We had lunch at the Alfresco (pretty good) and dinner at Napa Cafe which was very, very nice. David and Casey took great care of us and the food and wine was excellent. Actually, all the staff that we encountered were extremely helpful and friendly, going out of their way to help us find the restaurant, elevators, etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalterBWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantiscasino, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Atlantis Casino Resort Spa on Trip Advisor. I am thrilled that you upgraded to Reno’s only Concierge Level and enjoyed all of the complimentary amenities available. I am also pleased to read that you received exceptional service throughout the resort. I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stay often in Vegas and Reno, and used to move around to different hotel/casinos in Reno. For the past several years, however, I stay almost exclusively at the Atlantis. Their customer service is outstanding, gambling opportunities wonderful, and every restaurant is great. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantiscasino, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for continuing to select Atlantis Casino Resort Spa as your Reno destination and recommending us to the fellow travelers on Trip Advisor. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Experience started with a free shuttle ride from the airport to the hotel. Considering it was 11am, I thought we may have to wait for a room, but our room was ready to go. We upgraded to the concierge tower. Semi-private elevators lead us to our 25th floor room after a quick and efficient check in. Our room had descent views of the mountain range and a strip mall. Comfortable beds, flat screens, TV in the bathroom, roomy closet space. Concierge tower was excellent, the stay includes access to the concierge lounge, where they offered complimentary snacks/coffee/newspapers and internet access, which all was great and great service! Our trip included a day at the spa, which was beyond what I expected! They have a variety of rooms to enjoy, sauna and steam room, and the services were excellent.
Paula was my masseuse, she was pleasant and made sure I was comfortable. I would definetly go back to the spa. We happen to be there on a Monday, so maybe that's why it wasn't crowded, which made it more comfortable and it didn't feel like you had to rush.
Another thing I was surprised about was the food selection. They have a wide range of restaurant options and price options. Bistro Napa by far was the best experience! Great service, great food, found my new favorite onion soup! Unexpected and delicious!
Only complain, housekeeping may need a bit of retraining, who doesn't pick up used glasses and trash? Other than that, the stay was comfortable, relaxing and fun.

Room Tip: Concierge tower is awesome, they offer access to the concierge lounge, it has semi-private elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantiscasino, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
It was a pleasure reading your wonderful experience throughout our property from the room, Concierge Lounge, Spa, and Bistro Napa. I also appreciate your feedback on our Housekeeping department. I have shared this information with the Executive Housekeeper so he can address it immediately with the staff. Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Atlantis Casino Resort Spa on Trip Advisor and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I just got back from an absolutely fabulous 4-night stay at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa. My husband and I used the resort as a launching pad for Lake Tahoe area skiing. We were able to mix skiing with fine dining at the resort, shopping and even a visit to an art museum in downtown Reno.

We were amazed by the resort's many and varied restaurants -- all with great food. Typically we are ready to come home after such a trip, but neither one of us wanted to leave. We felt comfortable, pampered and "at home" at the Atlantis. Friendly staff and clientele. The spa is to die for! We even had our first "couples massage!"

Room Tip: Get a room in the Concierge Tower: free breakfast and afternoon appetizers. Met lots of nice travele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondingLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Liked this hotel very much. I travel through Reno regularly and I hadn't stayed at the Atlantis for a few years. Loved the changes with a very classy hotel feel with the deep browns and modern style all the while in a casino. We ate at the Bistro Napa and had great food and wine as well as top rate service.

Definitely coming back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyA5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlantiscasino, Director of Hotel Operations at Atlantis Casino Resort Spa, responded to this review, March 23, 2012
Thank you for the “Excellent” rating on your recent stay. I am thrilled that you are pleased with our newly redesigned guest rooms as well as your dining experience at Bistro Napa. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.4 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
3.2 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.8 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.9 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantis Casino Resort Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantis Casino Resort Spa

Property: Atlantis Casino Resort Spa
Address: 3800 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-6005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#1 Spa Hotel in Reno
#1 Casino Hotel in Reno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#2 Business Hotel in Reno
#2 Family Hotel in Reno
#2 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlantis Casino Resort Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 824
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atlantis Casino Resort Spa is honored to be a recipient of the AAA Four Diamond Award. This prestigious recognition signifies the beauty and attention to detail eminent throughout the entire resort. Nestled at the base of the majestic Sierra Nevada mountains, Atlantis is ideally located on the strip in the heart of Reno’s restaurant, entertainment and shopping district. Atlantis is a resplendent oasis created for relaxation, rejuvenation and celebration. A favorite of resort destination travelers near and far, and voted Best Hotel & Casino for its exceptional and friendly service, Atlantis is truly second to none. Atlantis offers a complimentary airport shuttle, free valet parking and acres of free self-parking.Experience all that Atlantis has to offer. Atlantis has rooms ranging from deluxe accommodations to Reno’s only Concierge Hotel Tower, with amenities to suit anyone from the vacationing family to the high roller or business traveler. Dine in one of our eight award-winning restaurants or enjoy our ten captivating bars and lounges, with daily social hour and happy hour. The world-class Spa Atlantis is the winner of SpaFinder’s Readers’ Choice Award for Best Hotel Casino Spa and boasts unique treatments and beneficial amenities. Our casino floor features Exclusive Premiere slots, a smoke-free poker room, Race & Sports book, and Reno’s only casino-wide progressive jackpot.Stay. Dine. Play. Spa. In Four Diamond Luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Atlantis Casino Resort Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Reno
Atlantis Resort Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing