We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Always a Good Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
california
Level Contributor
59 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Always a Good Stay”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Ive stayed here a few times in the recent past. The hotel is always clean and quiet and front desk staff is friendly. Only complaint breakfast wasnt as good as it normally was the hot breakfast selection was not what it normally has been in the past and didnt seem as fresh. All in all a good stay but might start to look elsewhere for lodging still a good stay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    133
    48
    17
    13
See reviews for
198
92
31
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

What a nice place to stay away from the casinos. Hotel was super clean and decorated nicely. Great kitchen (although we didn't use this time) and nice sitting area to eat breakfast. The kids used the swimming pool which is indoors. Small but sufficient. A little hot in the room (94 degrees!) when not swimming but understand they can't cool a room with a pool in it. I would give it a five star for this class of hotel if the Air conditioner didn't keep all of us awake all night! It was just so loud you needed ear plugs. We have also had far better mattresses. Between the two it made for four grumpy guests in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citygirlinsuburbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2011

I travel to Reno 3-4 times a year on business and this is where I always stay. It's located in a nice, quiet part of town but close enough to everything you want to see and do. The hotel and rooms are always clean and it is more like a small apartment than a hotel room.

The room comes with a microwave, stove and full sized refrigerator. This is not unique, but still nice. There is a hot breakfast in the morning that is complimentary and good most of the time. Typically this would be omelets or scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, oatmeal, fruit, etc in a buffet style. In the evening, there is a managers reception similar to the Embassy Suites but without a bartender. There is complimentary beer and wine as well as a hot snack that is usually enough for your evening meal. This occurs in the same area as breakfast, just off the main lobby area.

The pool and fitness area are small but nice and well kept. The hotel also offers a washer/dryer area if you want to do laundry yourself.

This is a nice, clean and well kept hotel with a friendly staff and lots of extras for your money. I recommend it if you are in the Reno area!

Room Tip: A home away from home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jandrews28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estero, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We are staying at this wonderful, modern, super clean, great staff suites for three weeks. Breakfast served every day. 24 hour coffee service in the lobby. Complimentary dinner served Mon - Thurs, including wine and beer. The location to everything, shopping, restaurants, attractions and casinos is perfect. Short distance to Reno International airport. But no airport noise! Once a week we drive the scenic 45 minute ride to enjoy beautiful Lake Tahoe.
We have a 1 bedroom suite. So spacious. Full kitchen. Super comfy king bed. Two flat screen T.V's. Complimentary WFI. Small, but good gym. Pool (indoor) and (outdoor) sports court for tennis and basketball. Plenty of parking.

Best place to stay in Reno! We are back in October...back to Homewood Suites!

Room Tip: Best daily rate for us, AAA member.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank balzer4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dade City, Florida
Level Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed here based on the reviews and being an HHonors member. This was a nice place on the surface. We had a suite and everything seemed fine until bed time. The exhaust fan in the bathroom sounded like a freight train and there was no way to turn it off, it runs 24/7. Even shutting the bathroom door wasn't sufficient to sleep over it. But, I am a light sleeper.
"The hotel was built that way, I don't know why, and there is nothing we can do about it".
"Some rooms just have that problem."
I suggest that if you reserve here, ask about the fan, the one in our room ruined our sleep. The a/c in the bedroom was extremely loud too, the vent is too small and the air makes a lot of noise coming thru the small outlet.. Only other think of note was that the shower was cold, even when on full hot. The clerk at checkout, a seasoned gentlemen, seemed unconcerned, and unsympathetic. I wasn't looking for anything free, just an acknowledgement of my issues. I'm not usually a complainer, but I do like to let staff know of issues that I had to prevent future problems. If you don't tell them, they won't know. But this staff member seemed like they were willing to disappoint future guests. The clerk at check in was very friendly and helpful though, I think I may have received a different reaction from that young man had he been there at checkout.
We did use the room service delivery feature which we found very nice, and reasonable, with lots of choices from the local restaurants.
Reallly nice and clean, but you may want to look elsewhere for comfort and attentive staff. Not likely to return here.

Room Tip: Dont get 313.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling2havefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Our family drove from Minnesota to San Francisco to Seattle and home again. The best hotel we stayed at on the trip was the Homewood Suites Reno. This beautifully decorated hotel was south of the downtown gambling area in a more residential part of town. This hotel has a great breakfast (a step up from most other hotels, including their sister hotel Hampton Inn), a great laundry area with many machines, great pool and nice overall atmosphere. They have the free dinners during the weekday evenings like most Homewood Suites do. These dinners are not as satisfying as the breakfasts, but you certainly get what you pay for. The rooms and beds are nicely furnished, very clean and comfortable. We had a great suite with two separate bedrooms with a living room/kitchenette in between, perfect for our family. One room had a king bed, the other two queens. There is a small park nearby the hotel. The hotel is situated in a business park, and there is not much to walk to (except the park), but there are a variety of restaurants and a mall nearby accessible by car. Being south of town, you have a head start if you want to make a day trip to splendid Lake Tahoe. We wish we could have spent more time here, but we were headed for the coast. Someday we will be back for an extended stay. The workout area seemed a bit small and I ended up running outside in the neighborhood when there were no machines available.

Room Tip: Ask about the two-bedroom suites for your family (limited supply).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcus_sparkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2011

A great hotel...unless you have more than three folks.

The Good: Rooms are in excellent shape and like new. Housekeepers are fantastic -- everything is immaculate. Kitchens are clean, microwaves and full size refrigerators spotless. Kitchen is well stocked with paper towels, plates, dishwashing liquid and a dishwasher too!

Parking is free. The pool looked inviting (but we didn't try it) and there is even a basketball court.

Surrounding area is absolutely gorgeous. If you like to run, or see the outdoors, this place is for you. Outdoor parks, trails that lead to the mountains, beautiful estates surround the grounds.

The Bad: Breakfast. 2 of 4 days, tacos that were 75% hard and doughy flour and only 2 or 3 tsp of filling. Another day, eggs served with no meat. Hash browns mixxed with a gritty looking grainy brown substance. Also the breakfast workers were rude and gave my teenage son a really bad look when he put 4 tacos on his plate (which gave him a total of about 8 tsps of protein). Another guest commented on the very same experience. Perhaps management lets the breakfast attendants take home leftovers -- a really bad restaurant management policy for obvious reasons.

The Ugly: Despite being "suites" the rooms cannot comfortably accomodate a family of four unless the children are really young or unless you are willing to put two teenagers together in an undersized "queen" bed or pull out couch. So, a family of four must reserve two rooms to be comfortable. When we called a month in advance, management told me the hotel only had one size room. And they told us the same thing check in. What a rip off! The floor map clearly shows 6 large rooms on each floor. I checked out the two large rooms at the end of the hall and it appeared at least one of those was unoccupied. I wondered if management was really just cornering us into paying for two separate rooms. What a racket at about $125/room/night when area rooms at the casinos go for a fraction of that!

In summary, the faciliites are beautiful. The grounds are beautiful. Breakfast is not so good. Finally, if you have more than three folks in a room -- be prepared to sacrifice comfort or pay double charges through the nose for two separate rooms.

Room Tip: Insist on a larger corner room if you are a family -- they do have larger rooms despite what they sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank LaVida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Reno
2.8 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
6.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
4.8 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
3.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Reno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno

Property: Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno
Address: 5450 Kietzke Ln, Reno, NV 89511-2061
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Reno
#5 Business Hotel in Reno
#12 Romantic Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Homewood Suites by Hilton® Reno Nevada hotel is centrally located just minutes from downtown Reno and Reno-Tahoe International (RNO) Airport, located near numerous local businesses. We do everything we can to make our guests comfortable. The Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno Nevada hotel features a business center, complimentary Suite Start® hot breakfast buffet daily, and a complimentary Welcome Home® Reception on weekdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Homewood Suites by Hilton Reno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Homewood Suites By Hilton Reno Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing