We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smarmy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Smarmy”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Standing outside the hotel/casino, you can smell the odor of stale cigarettes. Step inside the hotel lobby and it is overwhelming. Not a great start...

At check in the man offered me an upgrade to another room with a better view of the city and mountains. But, since I had booked the deluxe room, I opted not to accept the offer. See the photos of my view... The window was so dirty that it almost didn't matter that I had a view of an air conditioner. For what I paid on the weekend night--$130.00, I hoped for something a little better.

Must say that the saving grace of the room was the incredibly comfortable bed--great pillows, nice sheets and I did get a fabulous rest. There is an exceptional fitness room and a nice outside pool area. Internet access is included in the resort fee. There is cable, but not all of the channels like HGTV--but lots of porn choices.

The restaurants are good, but on the high priced side. Not sure that they know vegetables... The first night of my stay, the waitress in one of the restaurants dropped my dinner in my lap. She felt really bad, so I let it go and was able to wash the buffalo chicken sauce out in my room. Walk down the street to enjoy many other exceptional dining options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,834
    2,431
    795
    349
    270
See reviews for
2,549
4,383
576
1,517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,070)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
big island hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Very nice room overlooking the pool. The windows opened fully to get fresh air. Large room, comfortable bed and linens. Bathroom was large with seperate sink area. Nice t.v. in main room and sink area. In room safe and wet bar. Hotel is not near downtown.
Great restaurants with excellent food. We ate at Bimini Steakhouse, Biscotti's and the coffee shop. All the food was cooked to perfection, tasty and delicious.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matnikstym V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stayed in at least 5 otherReno hotels- these rooms are the closest to the best in Vegas. Huge room with jumbo flat screen- wonderful bed- great bath with another flat screen- two outdoor pools- quiet - free internet inc. in resort fee- - Rooms at Peppermill itself are on par with say Nugget- cheaper and not as nice. The only thing to consider is that in winter- the Nuggets INDOOR pool - is one of the best anywhere.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrustratedTravelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Previous reviews by other guests are mostly accurate, so I won't retread them much.

Unlike some other Reno/Carson City/Sparks hotels this is no bait and switch - a room in the newer Tuscan Tower is everything most folks could ever want in a resort styled room - they are really spectacular. The pictures you see from other guests are in fact what the rooms look like - they are exquisite, posh, comfortable, clean, and quiet.

The Montego Bay rooms by comparison are older, dated, and just rooms - so know the difference when making reservations.

Sometime this year they moved check in for the Tuscan towers up to the Tuscan lobby so we at least did not experience or see any long check in lines - ever.

The different pools offer different water temperatures, and some are in shade part of the day, which is nice. Lots of supervision and assistants pool side, with comfy lounge chairs, umbrellas, etc. There is also a waterfall and a fountain to stand under that kids will love. If we had kids I would feel like a super hero buying two adjoining rooms and putting kids in the one next door - there are specially configured lock off entry ways for each pair of rooms for just this purpose. This feels more like a resort than a hotel, with plenty to see and do.

The second floor has all the veranda rooms and while the entire floor is designated as non-smoking the first few rooms, rooms 80301 to about 80309 are above the poolside smoking area. Many guests also felt it necessary to smoke on their verandas during our stay. That's the only down side I could find.

Mid week prices 2/3rds what weekend prices are. Players club discounts made our room just over 110.00 per night mid week, which while a lot in Reno was worth it to us. We use to stay at the Silver Legacy, and have stayed out at the Grand Sierra but no more - this is "The place" to stay in Reno for us. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bfrazier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calistoga, California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

We loved the resort!! We spent most of the day in the outdoor pools. Pools were very clean and spacious.The service was over the top. The kids Extreme Arcade was so much fun for my young son and my teenager. The restaurants were also wonderful. We enjoyed everything about the hotel. One minor problem was we asked for a non-smoking room and when we checked in it smelled a bit like cigarrete smoke in the room,beacuse we stayed in an adjoining room with our friends it was too hard to move to another room so we stayed, but other than that the rooms were extremely clean and beds were comfortable. We will definitely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinamom68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelating
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2010

I stayed in one of the lowest-cost room at the Peppermill, in the Montego Bay Wing.

I came here from the Atlantis, where my vacation package included their lowest-cost room, and it was a horrible, dumpy little motel in the back parking, where I could hear my neighbors' squeaking bed above, and every suitcase dragged by my door. The bed was torture and I woke up constantly in discomfort. I was told I could pay more to "upgrade" to a real room. I think we call that bait-and-switch. They also charged a ridiculous "resort fee" for the pool, the parking (free anyway) and wifi (free anyway). I left the Atlantis early, giving up a night on a prepaid visit, and they didn't even ask why I was leaving. Hmmm, maybe this happens a lot.

So at the Peppermill I found a room that was just fine. The Montego Bay wing takes an extra minute of walking (inside) from the main hotel. The room (for one) seems new, and is furnished well enough. The bed is good, the bathroom spacious enough for 1-2 people and it has all the usual nice hotel amenities, including a decent cup of coffee in the morning.

I didn't come her for a luxury spa experience, just for some nice gambling at a good casino and a comfortable relaxing room. As for service, all I can say is that they were all fine with me. In fact, I find the Peppermill staff to be especially friendly compared to many casino-hotels.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedalia, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2010

Stayed for 2 nights in a deluxe tower room. I will admit some of what I'd read in the reviews were true, long line at check in only a couple of people behind the counter and
with it being the beginning of Hot August Nights you'd think they would have figured that in. They did try to give me a standard room even though I'd paid the extra for the upgraded one, so had to be firm with the gentlemen, but finally did get the room. Unfortunately there was a huge mystery stain under the table, which they did try to remove, but it was there for the whole stay.
Good things, beautiful room and beds, flat screen t.v.,great bathroom, and all was recently remodeled. View of the strip so that was nice.
Wonderful pool area and great restaurants. Love the overall (over the top and lots of neon and colors) atmosphere of the place. Reminded me of a christmas tree. No luck on the slots. They do charge a resort fee which includes the valet parking which is worth it. Would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.1 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
2.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
2.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppermill Resort Spa Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermill Resort Spa Casino

Property: Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Address: 2707 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-4213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#1 Family Hotel in Reno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#2 Spa Hotel in Reno
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#2 Casino Hotel in Reno
#4 Business Hotel in Reno
#5 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppermill Resort Spa Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond rating for hospitality industry excellence, the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino in Reno, Nevada offers a first-class experience as well as upscale amenities that create an unforgettable stay. Peppermill offers 1621 guest rooms, including 600 lavishly appointed suites, 10 award-winning restaurants, 15 bars and lounges, two geothermally heated resort pools, the three-story Spa Toscana, and free live entertainment or dancing until the wee hours in Reno's hottest nightclub, EDGE. Accommodations now include custom pillow-top mattresses, hypoallergenic pillows in both soft and firm comfort levels, Egyptian cotton sateen T300 bed linens, single-cup Keurig brewing systems, in-room smart refrigerators, 42-inch LCD high-definition TV and movie stations, and complimentary Wi-Fi with speeds up to 32mbps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Peppermill Resort Spa Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppermill Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing