We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confusing slot machine promotions. Be careful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Ranked #5 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Clearwater, FL
Level Contributor
118 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Confusing slot machine promotions. Be careful”
Reviewed October 15, 2006

First the good. We enjoyed the restaurants. They exceeded expectations. The bad is, be careful with their promotions. The slot promotion they were running at the time was deceiving. The information desk did not explain it properly which aggravated many of the guests. There was no consideration of a resonable resolution from the hotel. Basically they had a "you should read the fine print attitude."

  • Liked — Restaurants
  • Disliked — Casino
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not trust the promotions. Do not take their word for anything. Read all fine print.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank DrCro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,680
    2,383
    788
    346
    264
See reviews for
2,465
4,298
564
1,497
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,012)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2006

Don't believe the HYPE about Peppermill...it is a smoke-filled dump. Be sure you're in renovated room, the rest are terrible. To top it off, front desk and managers disrespectful and don't care. Do not stay here. You'll regret it.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't Stay Here
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank DCSteveTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2006

Was booked to stay at the Peppermill in Reno for 3 nights, but checked out after the first night.

We arrived on a late flight, so when we checked in our "requested" non-smoking room was not available. We were told our room was in the newly remodeled Montego Bay wing, so they expected the cigarette smell wouldn't be too bad. We were also told they would move us to a non-smoking room the next morning.

The room stank so badly it was difficult to sleep. My husband is a smoker, and it was even too much for him to handle. Then, when we called the front desk in the morning about the room change we'd been promised we were told they were sold out and might not be able to accommodate us. They also, not so politely, reminded us that smoking versus non-smoking is only a "preference" and we couldn't be guaranteed any type of room. Ugh.

Then the toilet backed up and overflowed. Next the hairdryer didn't work. Time to check out and find somewhere else to stay.

Helpful?
8 Thank GotToGoSomewhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2006

We stayed in a Jacuzzi suite in April 2006 and had a great time. Check-in was quick and easy, valet parking was useful and speedy.

The casino was easily the best in Reno and whilst the Peppermill is "downtown", there is plenty to do.

Our room was great, really big with a great view over the pool area and to the mountains. Room was very "kitsch" with the jacuzzi next to the bed and mini-lights all round the ceiling, TV in the bathroom, fantastic sauna/shower, bar - we got exactly what we wanted.

Yes, there was construction going on, but it did not intrude on our stay at all. The Peppermill diner inside the casino was fantastic - the reason we chose the Peppermill in Reno was that we had eaten in the Peppermill in Las Vegas and we hoped it would be as good - it was!!!!

Great room, good location, no problems!!!!

  • Liked — The room - very 80s porn star - but in a good way!!!!!
  • Disliked — Poor fast food selection when diner closed.
  • Tips/Secrets — Pay the extra few dollars for a jacuzzi room!!!! Ignore the bad reviews!!!!!
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank bikergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roswell Ga
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2006

We went to Reno on our 50th wedding aniversity, we were late arrivles because of our flight.i called the hotel, they said they would hold room, guess what, did not. we paid for a non smoking room with a view of the city, ended up on bottom floor next to construction which started at 6am sharp. we were there 7 days and never were congratulated on our aniversity. Front desk was a joke, personial was a joke. LIT UP LIKE A CHRISTMAS TREE. PLEASE STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE AND HAVE A BETTER TIME. PS RENO IS A FILTHY TOWN!!!!!!!

  • Liked — buffet
  • Disliked — noisey
  • Tips/Secrets — go somewhere else
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank lledeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Don't stay here. Rooms are shabby and dirty. They are in the middle of a major remodel and the construction is a mess. Maybe after they remodel things will be ok. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank KDB17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2006

Room was large, but average. The decor seemed a little dated. The front desk staff and concierge were extremely helpful and courteous. It cost $10/day for high speed internet access, which I didn't like. The hotel is undergoing an almost $300 million renovation, which closed the business center and took away from the overall appearance of the hotel/casino. However, we did not hear any construction noise. The workout room was nice and the waterfall pool was nice, although it was very crowded. There also was a free shuttle to and from the airport.

The casino was nice - tables games were aplenty - but they had too many nickel and penny slots. There were also many $1 slots, but not many $0.25 slots. Food selections were great.

Be aware that this casino is not in downtown Reno (it's about a 15 minute bus ride into town). So, if you want to be near many of the casinos on Virginia St., you may want to stay somewhere downtown. Although it's a very nice hotel/casino, it's not as glitzy or glamorous as the website says it is. We thought the room was average (3 out of 5 stars), but gave 4/5 stars because of the front desk staff.

  • Liked — Hotel, Casino, Restaurants all in one location.
  • Disliked — Dated interior of room and distance from downtown Reno.
  • Tips/Secrets — Although room was nice, it's not as nice as the website proclaims. It was nice, but don't expect one of the top 10 casions (as stated by the hotel).
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
15 Thank Juff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.1 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
2.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#18 of 64 in Reno
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppermill Resort Spa Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermill Resort Spa Casino

Property: Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Address: 2707 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502-4213
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#1 Family Hotel in Reno
#2 Casino Hotel in Reno
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#2 Spa Hotel in Reno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Business Hotel in Reno
#4 Best Value Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppermill Resort Spa Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond rating for hospitality industry excellence, the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino in Reno, Nevada offers a first-class experience as well as upscale amenities that create an unforgettable stay. Peppermill offers 1621 guest rooms, including 600 lavishly appointed suites, 10 award-winning restaurants, 15 bars and lounges, two geothermally heated resort pools, the three-story Spa Toscana, and free live entertainment or dancing until the wee hours in Reno's hottest nightclub, EDGE. Accommodations now include custom pillow-top mattresses, hypoallergenic pillows in both soft and firm comfort levels, Egyptian cotton sateen T300 bed linens, single-cup Keurig brewing systems, in-room smart refrigerators, 42-inch LCD high-definition TV and movie stations, and complimentary Wi-Fi with speeds up to 32mbps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppermill Resort Spa Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppermill Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing