We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT for families!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Ranked #4 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
A TripAdvisor Member
“NOT for families!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2005

We stayed at the Peppermill May 10-12 2005 with our 3yr old after searching for a place that was near skiing (for dad) and had a pool (for mom and kiddo).
We paid $169/nt for a NON smoking 'luxury' suite (most rooms go for $50/nt) and found a very tacky but fun mirrored room w/jacuzzi....that smelled ALOT like smoke. Even the pillow cases smelled like smoke - the next day we were switched to another nonsmoking room that was a bit better, but no compensation was made for our night of coughing (we had checked in late the first nite and didn't switch b/c child had fallen asleep immediately).
When I had called to make the reservation and asked if it was 'family friendly' I was assured that it certainly was!! Even the pool had an animatronics show that children loved, I was told by the cheery reservationist!!! So the next day we went to the pool (remember, this IS Reno, so you have to walk through choking smoke to get to the pool, restaurant or ANYthing in the hotel). My child and I were summarily kicked out of the otherwise empty hottub 45 seconds after getting in it, as she was 'too young to be in that kind of heat', said the nasty spa manager lady. I told her that since I was pregnant, I couldn't even be in something 'too hot' and it was certainly cooler than our hottub at home, so it would be fine for our child if I was with her. She said "NO-GET OUT." When I confronted her with her unnecessarily nasty attitude and said "I was under the impression that the Peppermill was 'family friendly'", she said "I would NEVER tell people that we are family friendly nor do we try and bill ourselves that way" My response was, " well, clearly YOU are not, but why do you have a fuzzy animal show above the pool (that, by the way, was not working but you could see the animals in their 'caves')?" She just said again, " We are not family friendly and you are NOT allowed to bring your child in the hottub!" and walked away from me.
So that was that. You heard it from the manager's mouth. NOT FAMILY FRIENDLY!!!!!!
Go to gamble, I guess, but leave the kids at home!!!

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6,489
    2,331
    769
    345
    263
See reviews for
2,390
4,198
546
1,464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,952)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, NV
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2005

I stayed one night in an Imperial Suite (4th upgrade from smallest suite) on Jan. 20th, 2005. It was a clean and spacious suite that included a jetted hot tub (enough room for two people), a living area with a winding sectional sofa, coffee table and tv, a separate sleeping area with king-size bed, another tv, two very large windows (ask to be put up higher to get a good view of the city) and steam shower.

The room had these really neat streaming lights across the trim of the room in addition to many lamps and lights throughout the room. There were also heavy curtains that blocked out a lot of sunlight, which I loved because I like to sleep in when on vacation!

I got a good deal. I paid only $110 for this 595 sq. ft. room. It was in a good/safe location, but it's not located directly in downtown, which may be either a good or bad thing depending on the traveler. It's about a 5-min. (or less) drive to the heart of downtown Reno.

Sometimes they offer a "Lovers' Weekend Getaway" special that offers a Spa Suite (smallest suite/392 sq. ft.) and a $50 meal voucher to use at some of the casino's restaurants. This costs about $120 (maybe a bit less).

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank sweetpixee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2005

We stayed at the Peppermill for 3 days and thought the casino was nice but the rooms we got were not that great. The rooms were in an older section attached by a sky bridge. The rooms were small and on the dark side but they were very clean.
We enjoyed the casino but if we went back we would not stay in that section of rooms again. The food at the cafe was OK, nothing great. We decided to eat our meals elsewhere after having a breakfast and dinner at the Peppermill.
We went downtown our second night there and couldn't believe how much it has changed since our last visit to Reno many years ago. It was dirty and we did not feel safe walking down side streets. We did not go back downtown during our stay and if we went back we would stay at the Peppermill and not bother to go downtown at all. We heard they were trying to clean up the downtown area and it really needs it.

Helpful?
9 Thank stitcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, CA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2005

We stay here a lot - we keep the comps coming. The rooms are always good, and we are almost always accomodated nicely by the front desk staff in whatever we're looking for (we're not high maintenance and we're not high rollers, so we're staying in regular tower rooms). The food is always good, no matter which restaurant we try. The steak house is particularly good. The casino is neon-glitzy - fun. They've redone some of the areas and made it look even nicer. All-in-all, it's always a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Auburn_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2005

I travel to Reno two or three times a year on business and this time I decided to check out the recommendations on Trip Advisor. Boy, am I glad I did! The Peppermill is really a very cool hotel in an otherwise depressing hotel town.

I will not use this forum to knock Reno, it’s just that....well...this is not the place that I would plan my two week vacation around if you catch my drift.

Back to the Peppermill- This place is an interior decorator's delight. I would not be surprised if Interior Designer schools (If there are such schools) have field trips here and/or use this place as a case study. All I can say is that this casino is a garden of visual delights - wacky and neon colors bright. Now, you would not want the folks who designed this place to decorate your office or country club, but here, at this casino in Reno, NV, it all comes together in a glorious way. The rooms are interesting, too. Very clean and decorated in a Studio 54 - VIP lounge kind of way. My room has black carpeting and a love seat! Beds are comfortable, bathrooms are very good and clean and the staff is very pleasant.

Free Valet parking with in and out privileges and broadband (extra, of course).

There is every kind of dining in this hotel/casino, but the best is Oceano. This restaurant has awesome- fresh seafood and depending on where you are seated, you can actually watch the chefs cooking it. They even make specialty seafood soups from scratch and to order. The prices are very good. Sushi looks good, but I couldn’t get past the fresh Alaskan oysters on the half shell and their outstanding soups to try it. This restaurant gets my highest recommendation in all of Reno.

I think anyone coming to Reno for whatever reason will love The Peppermill.

Do like I did-take a deep breath and dive into this place, I promise that you will thank me.

  • Stayed April 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
22 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2005

I booked a hotel room through hotels at the Peppermill in Reno, NV. I have stayed at the Peppermill many times before and loved the rooms. When we checked in we were given a room in the "motor lodge" section of the hotel, which, I was unaware that they even had this option. When I booked a room at the Peppermill I assumed I would be staying in one of the nice rooms in the hotel and not the "motor lodge" behind the hotel which was next to the loading dock. Trucks were in and out all night and early morning, uncomforatble beds and barely enough room for the bed.

What an extremely unprofessional service that does not inform its members that such an option even exists. If I wanted to stay in a motor lodge I would have booked myself in the Motel 6, which, by the way, would have been 100 times better than the room that I stayed in at the Peppermill "motor lodge."

I will never use hotels again and I am removing it from my favorites and alert links.

I recommend that when using this service you make sure get all the facts regarding your room.

  • Stayed March 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
23 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2005

We visited the Peppermill in March 05 and it was great! The hotel and rooms were like 70's disco glitz Vegas, but in a good way - tacky, but clean, comfy and retro. Mirrors and velvet all over the place! Check in was smooth, staff were friendly, rooms were large and quiet, and the casino staff were friendlier than I could ever expect. Hotel sushi restaurant was good too. If you want a preview of some Vegas glitz without the nightmare of Vegas crowds and prices, this is the place to go!

Helpful?
10 Thank ellisreese_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
2.5 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
2.1 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
2.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#19 of 64 in Reno
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
2.2 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Reno Tahoe Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peppermill Resort Spa Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peppermill Resort Spa Casino

Property: Peppermill Resort Spa Casino
Address: 2707 S Virginia St, Reno, NV 89502
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#1 Family Hotel in Reno
#2 Casino Hotel in Reno
#2 Spa Hotel in Reno
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Peppermill Resort Spa Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1621
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awarded the prestigious AAA Four Diamond rating for hospitality industry excellence, the Peppermill Resort Spa Casino in Reno, Nevada offers a first-class experience as well as upscale amenities that create an unforgettable stay. Peppermill offers 1621 guest rooms, including 600 lavishly appointed suites, 10 award-winning restaurants, 15 bars and lounges, two geothermally heated resort pools, the three-story Spa Toscana, and free live entertainment or dancing until the wee hours in Reno's hottest nightclub, EDGE. Accommodations now include custom pillow-top mattresses, hypoallergenic pillows in both soft and firm comfort levels, Egyptian cotton sateen T300 bed linens, single-cup Keurig brewing systems, in-room smart refrigerators, 42-inch LCD high-definition TV and movie stations, and complimentary Wi-Fi with speeds up to 32mbps. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Peppermill Resort Spa Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peppermill Hotel Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing