We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Made us pay twice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eldorado Resort Casino
Ranked #7 of 64 Hotels in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 22, 2006

Took my money from Credit Card when I booked on behalf of my son, from New Zealand. Took his money when he checked in, did'nt refund my money. Too hard to chase for a few dollars, hope they spent the extra on something nice.

15  Thank andrewS609LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10,703)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10,561 - 10,567 of 10,703 reviews

Reviewed May 19, 2006

Three of us stayed in the Eldorado May 12-14. We booked the homepage website package with the room upgrade, show tickets, and free drinks at several bars for $220 for both nights. I don't know what the room upgrade was, probably a different view, because the room was so small we were not allowed to get a cot due to fire hazard. I don't know what the $3 resort fee is, why not just make the package $226? The TV was small (didn't matter) and the bathroom was big (nice). The Balagan show was ok. It is a Cirque du Soliel wannabe. I wouldn't pay too much for it after having seen other Cirque shows. Having an attendant at the elevator in the lobby gives a feeling of class. The lobby and common areas look luxurious, especially the fountain by the restaurants. It is kind of a maze getting around though; there is no restroom on the casino floor. You have to go up or down escalators. The hotel is connected to the Silver Legacy next door so if you go in the winter you don't have to go outside in the snow. The staff was friendly, prompt, and helpful. When we decide to go back, we will go to the Eldorado.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank peteinkeizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
220
Reviewed May 2, 2006

I have been a regular in Reno for the past 19 years. My parents and I go at least once a year. We have stayed in many different hotels, and for the first time stayed at the Eldorado in January/Feb of 2006. What a huge disappointment. We booked through Alaska Airlines Vacations and the room was included in the package. Our room was very small, very outdated and had NO air conditioning. Checkin took forever as did checking out. We left after the first night and went to stay at the Peppermill. The machines were tight and the casino was HOT. Never again.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Francisco, California
13
Reviewed April 29, 2006

My family and I expected to sleep in a one king room but got uprgraded to a one room suite for no extra charge. The room had two tv's, a baar area, sectional couch, two closets, one bathroom, one king room, and a huge dining area. We always got food to-go just to enjoy the huge dining table.
Beside that, the only downside is the pool. It was pretty small, constantly shaded by the surrounding towers and there were only a few people to enjoy it with. We also never bothered to order room service because of the over-pricing.
All in all, El Dorado was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2006

The best value I have ever gotten out of a hotel. Payed about $50 a night. Buffet is great. Cassino in hotel was cool too. Feels like your are staying at a Hyatt but not geting stiffed.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dikthompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2006

We booked for a deluxe room for 4 nights. When we arrived we were asked if we wanted to upgrade for $50 more for a 'Jacuzzi room', well we did! Our idea of this trip was to RELAX! So the Jacuzzi tub came in handy for a mineral bath/soak. Our room had a great view and was nice and quiet! It was great! We ordered room service one night and had so much food leftover that we requested a fridge (which came promptly. We had chicken tenders, cold cuts, cheese and bread for the next few days for snacks! The staff at the El Dorado are great, from registration, concierge, bellboys, room service, housekeeping, cashiers, dealers, pit bosses (especially Nick who set us up with VIP cards), etc.. All were friendly, courteous and helpful. We were NOT disappointed by the food at the hotel restaurants, either! You can't go wrong with any of the restaurants. We were able to see Balagan. We were in awe of the gymnists, music and overall performance. I have to say our stay at the El Dorado was EXCELLENT.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank ggtwothreeseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2006

Stayed mid-week at the El Dorado, first week of April 2006. The hotel is on the older side but I was happy with my room. Security checking room keys before allowing people up into the room elvators which was fine by me. Hotel is in the heart of downtown Reno. Reno is still a second city compared to Tahoe or Vegas. Shower pressure above average, towels had good thread count. Didn't like the daily extra room charge of $3 for ?? Still can't figure that out. TV worked great, elevators fast enough. No internet in room, had to go to Business Area and was charge $3 for 5 minutes of slow internet access. Hotel has plenty of restaurants, buffet is at least average. The casino was not as smokey as in the newer Atlantis Hotel, where the smoke was pretty bad as soon as you walked thru the door. I will stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank JeffHalfMoonBayCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reno hotels
0.2 mi away
Circus Circus Hotel and Casino-Reno
1.9 mi away
Grand Sierra Resort and Casino
0.2 mi away
Harrah's Reno
Harrah's Reno
#20 of 64 in Reno
4,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Sands Regency Casino Hotel
0.1 mi away
Whitney Peak Hotel
0.3 mi away
Plaza Resort Club
Plaza Resort Club
#19 of 64 in Reno
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eldorado Resort Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eldorado Resort Casino

Address: 345 North Virginia Street, Reno, NV 89501-1136
Location: United States > Nevada > Reno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Reno
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reno
#3 Casino Hotel in Reno
#3 Family Hotel in Reno
#3 Luxury Hotel in Reno
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reno
#8 Business Hotel in Reno
Price Range: $75 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Eldorado Resort Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 815
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience timeless luxury and friendly, personal service in the heart of Downtown Reno. Escape to the Eldorado Hotel Casino, named "Best Rooms and Suites" by Casino Player Magazine, where every detail has been considered in order to provide you with the stay of a lifetime. Lose yourself in the nonstop excitement and elegance of our luxurious Reno hotel casino. Choose from our nine award-winning Reno restaurants, including the world-renowned La Strada and Roxy. Browse for one-of-a-kind memorabilia in our shopping boutiques, or check out a Broadway-style performance in Reno’s newest showroom. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, the Eldorado offers the ultimate choice among downtown Reno casinos. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Eldorado Resort Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eldorado Hotel Reno
Eldorado Resort Reno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing