We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“quiet, tasty dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlie Palmer Steak Reno

Charlie Palmer Steak Reno
Reserve with OpenTable
Charlie Palmer Steak Reno is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 905 Restaurants in Reno
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Jensen Street
Description: Charlie Palmer Steak Reno in the Grand Sierra Resort is a study in contemporary contrasts, from blonde wooden walls enhanced by mica and leather accents, to midnight blue, deep terracotta and espresso texture fabrics, and stylish booths, featuring natural grain faux leather baguettes, with floor-to-ceiling stretched fabric panels, creating a Mondrian effect. Showing his culinary diversity, Executive Chef Dave Holman, who oversees all the Palmer Grand Sierra Resort restaurants, skillfully mixes the past, present, and future in neo-traditional renditions of steak houses classics, like Pan Seared Sea Scallops & Crispy House Bacon with tangerine marmalade and poultry jus. Charlie Palmer Steak Reno is imaginative resort dining topped off with just the right amount of finesse.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
253 reviews
205 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“quiet, tasty dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

[This review is specific to the Charlie Palmer Lounge, not the main Charlie Palmer restaurant] My wife and I were staying at the Grand Sierra Casino & Resort for a 3-day weekend. Around dinner time we toured the casino's restaurant row, looking for a place to eat. We weren't starving, so we thought we would try the menu at the Charlie Palmer Lounge. Great decision! The wine list included a crisp and delicious Annabella chardonnay ($8). My meal included a Beet Salad ($8.25), a pan-crisped Sea Scallops appetizer ($16.25) and a side of fire-roasted Asparagus ($6.75). Altogether, a very delicious meal. On a separate occasion we ate at the lounge during the Happy Hour (ends at 7 pm). The Happy Hour menu included a nice selection of appetizers and small plates that sufficed for a full dinner at perhaps one-third the price. I also must note the friendly and professional service provided by Katie. You couldn't ask for better service! "Traveling the world one meal at a time..."

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DSteveCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    65
    41
    21
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
236 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best steak house can be compared to vans and Lugers in NYC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

The ribeye mushrooms twice baked potato was beyond our expectations. The giant crab legs and lobster bisque can easily be compared to anything in New England. We were apprehensive to try Charlie's but glad we did the staff absolutely went out of the way to accommodate us. Two in our party split an entree. The 18 oz ribeye the lobster bisque salad they were in charged a splitting fee and the chief split all the food in the kitchen and served it on separate plates. The deserts were Devine you were also served a complimentary desert tidbit plate and each couple in our party was given a tiny gourmet cake loaf delivered with the bill. The food presentation, service, cocktails were better the every commercial fine dining steak house we have frequented ie Ruth Chris Spencer's Sullivan's mccormick and Schmidt etc. A must try if you are a lover of fine dining.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pookeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
272 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A little pricey but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

This is a slightly pretentious restaurant but it has good food and an extensive wine list. This wasn't our first choice of places to eat, but, foolishly, I waited until the morning of the day before Mother's Day to make a reservation for a party of 8 for the same day, and it seemed to be the only place in town that would take us. For that, I am grateful, even though the table seemed to have been stuffed into a space that would normally have been for other guests to walk to and from tables. I had a seared tuna dish that was excellent, my wife's halibut was satisfactory. Some of the table had steaks that they appeared to enjoy.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gogocar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robina, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Best Steak Restaurant in Reno, Nevada”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

ABSOLUTELY NO ARGUMENT WITH THIS DESCRIPTION.
We decided to have a couple of cocktails before dinner in this restaurant & had the most interesting server who engaged us @ every opportunity exercising wonderful 'customer related' dialogue.
Was a student earning his way through studies in Fire Management.
Well dinner was great & we were served & again entertained by a lovely young lady studying Nutrition & doing a Masters @ UNR.
Just a wonderful evening facilitated by ALL the Grande Seirra staff after a very long drive from LA.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Artificer101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
180 reviews
153 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great choice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

The Hostess and waut staff were excellent. Friendly and accomodating. Menu choices plentiful and prices in line with a quality steak house. The french onion soup is a must try even though it looks like a pot pie. Even with no dessert our waiter brought out a tray of treats and mini loafs forr the women to take home.
Only issue I had was the Manager visited all the tables checking on the dining experience but skipped our twice even though he stopped at all the tables around us.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chiefbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Charlie Palmer Steak Reno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing