We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good enough for my time”

Pahrump Valley Museum
Ranked #7 of 18 things to do in Pahrump
Attraction details
United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good enough for my time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

I visited a small town for a class my husband took; while he was in the class we visited the city museum. It entertained me and my children for a couple of hours with historical artifacts, abe lincoln artifacts, nuclear testing info and pictures and old time school, home, etc. from the pioneer times.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Mykro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    24
    11
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pahrump, Nevada
Level Contributor
260 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Very small”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

I was disappointed with the size and content of the museum. I know the town is small but the museum did not have very much of the town's history either.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank 1athomeinthewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, NV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting Regional History”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

A clean well organized museum which provides good insight into the history of the Pahrump Valley, the Yucca Mountain project and the Nevada Nuclear Test Site. Staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. A great value since admission is free.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank H&H-Hacienda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
182 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Unexpected delightful museum!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

I did a bit of research on Pahrump before going to visit and found they had a museum. Our husbands were busy, so a friend (retired teacher) and I headed for the museum. We were both surprised at its size as I had expected one small room. It took us over an hour to go through. They had collections, history, information on Yucca Mountain, and a special room on Pres. Lincoln. Also a cabin showing early life was outside (don't miss it). We were very impressed with the facility and the lady working there was very helpful and knowledgeable. If ever in Pahrump you should visit. No fee, but surely worth a donation.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank CalifSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pahrump Valley Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pahrump Valley Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing