We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Local Eatery!! Huge Servings!!”
Review of Sugar's Home Plate

Sugar's Home Plate
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Overton
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 8, 2017

After our second day at the beautiful Valley of Fire state Park (Reviewed by me separately), we followed a recommendation from a local and went to Sugar's for dinner.
The place is simple in appearance.
The staff was friendly (Although our server failed to give us a hint as to the size of the portions and we ended up eating like pigs......).
We took the beef barley soup and chicken wings for starters, followed by the Pirate Burger (with Jalapenos and cheese) and a Kiddie Burger (for my wife......Sensible lady) and Chili Fries (which were HUGE, but very tasty).
All in all, pleasant place, tasty food, nice service.
Beware of the serving sizes!!
Good place for lunch or dinner in Overton!!

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Yariv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (192)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

44 - 48 of 192 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2017

down home country cooking always good food and good service small town friendly. some gaming and beer and wine. great deserts too

Date of visit: March 2016
Thank Vicki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017 via mobile

People will have mixed reviews but for our area this is great food, great portion great price. I had the hamburger with onion rings and cheese and it was fabulous. The French fries are amazing. It's a great stop after hiking the Valley of Fire. The staff is also friendly.

Date of visit: February 2017
1  Thank wendyk895
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

one of my eating highlights of our trip. portions were huge, most would be splittable.
i had pork chops,,,they were huge and two of them, plus the extras that went with it. i recommend them...wifes had taco salad and only ate half of it,,,,,it was very good, just way too large for them.....just a regular old bar. excellent service. we really liked it.

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ronk699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2017

After touring Valley of the Fire went looking for a place to eat. Best Chicken Fried Steak in a long time and very friendly service.

Date of visit: February 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gene m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar's Home Plate also viewed

 

Been to Sugar's Home Plate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing