We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Amazed... this town site was once underwater!

We have visited many old ghost town sites but never a site that was once underwater. St Thomas... read more

Reviewed March 10, 2020
KMVV
,
Pennsylvania
via mobile
St. Thomas , Neveda

Very interesting. It was a cold , somewhat rainy day. The road in was slippery for my Prius C, but... read more

Reviewed January 15, 2020
Getaway771406
via mobile
Read all 21 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Overton
More Info
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveler rating
9
3
7
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
9
3
7
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 21 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2020 via mobile

We have visited many old ghost town sites but never a site that was once underwater. St Thomas also has a unique history in that it was left a ghost town when its first inhabitants, the Mormons, left in 1870. Settlers rebuilt the town in the 1880s only to have to remove when waters began to rise after the completion of Hoover Dam in the mid and late 1930s. To get an idea of the amount of water which has subsided from Lake Meade. A hike to the town site is enlightening. As you stand in the valley, along what was once the tree lined Main Street, the scope of the distance once covered by water is immense. Amazing, more so, that the dam is 54 miles from the site and along the Muddy River not the Colorado. Lake Meade has lost 2/3 of the water it once held. Truly scary thought. The round trip hike from the parking lot & through the town site is almost 3 miles. Among the old building foundations and cut off tree stumps informational placards depict the towns history. We enjoyed our visit.

Date of experience: March 2020
3  Thank KMVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Very interesting. It was a cold , somewhat rainy day. The road in was slippery for my Prius C, but we made it. We saw 3 burros hiking in and out. It was better than I expected.

Date of experience: December 2019
Thank Getaway771406
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 16, 2019 via mobile

It is a nice open area hike but little to see and not very interesting. There are other nicer hikes in wave of fire park.

Date of experience: June 2019
3  Thank Dan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 5, 2019 via mobile

It’s the first week of June and the thermometer reads 107 for our visit. From the end if the dirt road, it’s a 2.5 mile hike....not much to see. Still worth the drive out there just to envision what the Mormons considered a lush valley. There is a bathroom at the end of the dirt road. Good view of the old Overton marina.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank CRAIG C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Very educational. There are podiums with information throughout the trail. Ahead of time I printed out a 6 page brochure on the trail. Which had a "city map" of the town. So I used that to walk the city blocks. It was really neat to say "we are on corner of Main and 2nd st". Of a town that was underwater for 60 years.

Date of experience: November 2018
3  Thank Char C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews