We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, welcoming place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
North Shore Inn at Lake Mead
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Overton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2012

What a lovely place! We spent a week at the Inn and were warmly welcomed by our hosts. Breakfast was always great - fresh and varied. Everyone was friendly and helpful. We met a number of interesting guests both over breakfast and in the lovely pool. We also loved having the little fridge in the room, it gave us some low cost options for meals. We came to feel the Inn was our home-away-from-home and would happily return when we next visit the area. Many thanks to Chris and Debbie for making our visit so enjoyable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ACVPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
There are newer reviews for North Shore Inn at Lake Mead
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 291 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

What a great find!
After visiting the Hoover Dam, we took a scenic drive around beautiful Lake Meade. We enjoyed winding our way through mountains and desert flora. We ended our day at the North Shore Inn.
The room was nice and included a refrigerator, coffee maker and the air conditioning was greatly appreciated (it was toasty outside).
A full breakfast was included in the cost of the room and had a delicious variety sure to please any palate.
But what really made my stay so great was the wonderful way I was treated. The staff was more than friendly and helpful. You could just tell they liked what they did. I didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Chris and Deb have done a great job with their new property. Reasonably priced, clean rooms, good breakfast = great value. Friendly folks working hard to make your visit successful. I enjoyed the pool and the internet was great.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FiddlerDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

We heartily agree with all the positive reviews! GREAT place to stay for an in-depth or multi-day visit to Valley of Fire without having to drive back to Las Vegas. We stayed for 2 nights in May; the staff is friendly and helpful, breakfast included, room nice and with refridgerator (and microwave I recall although we didn't use it)... used the refridgerator YES. Chill your drinks before taking them to the Valley of Fire when the weather is hot! We ate one night at the diner in town; large, tasty, reasonably priced steaks. For the second night for something different, we ate at the Chinese restaurant up the road in Logandale. Hope to return next year when it's not so hot!

Room Tip: all locations seemed to be fine; no preference needed, just book a room!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyWF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

Thank goodness for the North Shore Inn. Approaching the hotel through miles of sweltering desert, and miles of run-down Moapa Valley and Overton, our hearts began to sink. Luckily the hotel turned out to be fine. Our room was clean, well-furnished, and seriously cool (despite the 112 degree temp outside). The reception areas are bright, open, and again with aircon that works. Breakfast was OK -not gourmet, but fine to get you going for the day. And the staff (owners?) were very friendly and welcoming.
The only real drawback is food at other times of day. The hotel has no restaurant, and local dining options are severely limited, with McDonalds being the highlight!
So even though the hotel is like an oasis in the desert, why would you bother coming here? The answer lies half an hour down the road -the Valley of Fire State Park. This small-but-(strangely) formed park features some of the weirdest rock shapes and colours this side of planet Mars. Absolute paradise for photographers (see seaparate reviews).
In the meanwhile, three cheers for the North Shore Inn for making it possible to explore the VOF from a comfortable local base.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malvern09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The price was decent, the room was nice, the staff was friendly and the breakfast was just fine. A perfect place for the overnight we had.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hans M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This is a pleasant, comfortable motel that lives up to what other reviewers have said about it. Since they basically have no real competition in the area, I admire the owners for continuing to work hard on upgrading, updating and improving the property. And it does feel more like a friendly family B&B than a motel. It's also very convenient to Valley of Fire State Park, our reason for visiting Overton, which is not very well known outside of Nevada but which is gorgeous and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pathfinderNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to North Shore Inn at Lake Mead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Shore Inn at Lake Mead

Address: 520 N. Moapa Valley Blvd., Overton, NV 89040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Overton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Overton
Price Range: $85 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — North Shore Inn at Lake Mead 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The North Shore Inn at Lake Mead hotel is hidden in the heart of Moapa Valley. The lodging offers the beauty and quiet tranquility of the desert while only being located an hour north of Las Vegas. The perfect hotel getaway to experience everything the area has to offer. The Valley of Fire state park is a photographer's paradise. Come to enjoy majestic Lake Mead, boaters, swimmers and fishermen will revel in the crystal clear waters of the Lake Mead. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your North Shore Inn at Lake Mead reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing