We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Super place close to Vegas!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Valley of Fire State Park

Valley of Fire State Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$118.99*
and up
Valley of Fire Hiking Tour from Las Vegas
Ranked #1 of 9 things to do in Overton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Valley of Fire is Nevada’s oldest and largest state park. Ancient trees and early man are represented throughout the park by areas of petrified wood and 3,000-year-old Indian petroglyphs. Popular activities include camping, hiking, picnicking and photography. The park offers a full-scale visitor center with extensive interpretive displays. The park is open all year.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
USA
Level Contributor
211 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Super place close to Vegas!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is an amazing place to visit. It only costs $10.00 for one person and $20.00 for a car load. And there are some outstanding and unique things to see. Go first to the visitor center and get the detailed map and it will guide you along the route. Look for the Poodle Rock (just past arch rock) and if you get in just the right place you can see light through it's eye. Also dont miss the colored rocks at sundown. It's a little walk about 3miles round trip but well worth it...bet there a couple hours before sundown for the best photos. Bring a tripod as the light can be low if overcast. This is a gem of a place and well worth the drive.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank texbambam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,059 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,579
    425
    40
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
172 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

Well worth the short drive North of Las Vegas.Just under an hour. Beautiful reddish -orange rock formations in the middle of the desert.There is a fair amount of regional history to go along with this National Park site s0o a visit to the information centre is worth the stop. Apparently it was the first National Park established by the federal Government so it has been protected longer than any other park. Don't miss it. There is much more to Las Vegas than the Casino's and the Strip.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mertoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barre, VT
Level Contributor
126 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Petroglyphs at Last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have wanted to see petroglyphs since I first hear about them in second grade. Finally, at 63, I had the chance! As a Vermonter I am not used to the heat that we found in late September, but once on the trail to Mouse's Tank we found it much cooler and totally accessable. The three of us were almost always on our own in the 1/2 mile canyon...often even losing sight of each other...which gave us the feeling of being in another time. It was wonderful!

The trail bed is sandy with hidden rocks. Take your time. Bring water. Watch your step. Stand in one place for a few minutes as soak in all the lies around you.

Limited time in the park gave us plenty of reasons to return!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Neegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“amazing red rock wilderness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

The sandstone rocks are eroded, forming strange shapes. There are dozens and dozens of petroglyphs, ancient writings of the native people who lived here. It's a small park and there are great things to see from the east to west entrances. My advice is to hike Mouse's Tank, a easy 1/2 mile hike that will get you up close and personal with these wonderful rock formations and petroglyphs. About 1 hour from Las Vegas.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caythorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
98 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“On a par with Red Rock Canyon.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was our first visit and will not be our last. Took about 45/55 minutes to get to the the park from LV, but well worth the time and energy. Another scenic drive, absolutely excellent views and the difference in all the colours of the geological formations are stunning. As with all drives of this nature, take time to get out and walk and take in the sights and the peace of this place, compares so well as a contrast to LV. One small observation, make sure you back track if you arrived at the park from the I15, if you leave the park from the other end, you will go into the Lake Mead area and have to pay another $10 park entrance fee. We only did the drive, but for the more energetic of you, park and hike!
Again superb value $10 for the car with 5 occupants. Excellent and must see.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Tricky273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Valley of Fire State Park also viewed

 

Been to Valley of Fire State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing