We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice retreat from the heat!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Mount Charleston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mt. Charleston Lodge
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Mt. Charleston Lodge has that rustic and warm feeling about it, The lounge is small but very friendly...... The restuarant has awesome food and sometimes they even have wild game! Back in the seventies and eighties they had a dish called the wild game platter that i cant find anymore. Being from Vegas and i travel a lot, This really is the place to go in a short distance!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nashvillejonny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (164)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2011

Spent one night here after 4 days on the Vegas strip, figured it'd be a nice way to "wind down" our trip before flying home. Great idea, this place is delightful. Our cabin was nicely appointed with a fireplace, tv/dvd player (no tv reception, but they stock a big selection of dvd's at Redbox prices), huge whirlpool tub, microwave, fridge. Big king bed. There's a nice covered balcony with a swing chair and also chairs and a table to eat out there. Friendly front desk staff. Short walk to a hiking trail if you want (bring real hiking gear, it's not an 'easy' trail). And all at a reasonable price, I think we paid $125 + tax.

We are in cabin #16, which I recommend because it's a "lower" cabin. You'd think it would not be preferable, but the upper cabin's balconies look across at the lower cabin's rooflines. The lower cabins look out across... mountains. :)

I can't comment on the dining room because we stopped at Whole Foods on the way from Vegas and brought dinner with us.

Room Tip: Lower cabin = better balcony view of mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MalteseFalcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

For $200+ I was expecting at least a nice bed. These cabins haven't been updated in a very long time. Plus our cabin was decorated for Christmas (in August!). The decorations are obviously permanent. Very strange.

The room deodorizer smell was overwhelming. Even after opening all windows and doors it wouldn't go away.

The fireplace was the only nice thing about the room.

The service at the restaurant was horrible. A flyer in our cabin said there was seating both inside and outside the restaurant if you have a dog. The hostess was incredibly rude when I showed up at the door with my dog. After she threw her hand up in my face we decided to head down the mountain and find a restaurant that had heard of customer service.

We had takeout nachos the night before - uuggghhhh! Food from 7-11 would have tasted better. Even if you do decide to stay at the cabins don't eat at the restaurant. Bring your own food - there is a microwave and small refrigerator in the cabin.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SVinLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We were here for a wedding...stayed in one of the log cabins--great view from the log cabin porch...Cabins well stocked with plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, refrig, gas fireplace and comfy bed. The price was 220/night for the cabin and we had to pay $27 extra for extra bed--which I didn't like. The restaurant was great with awesome view and good food--waitstaff pleasant! No pool or workout room but plenty of hiking!! Only negative was that the bride and groom given the cabin right off of the parking lot. This was very noisy in the A.M. with all of the bikers coming up the mountain on their motorcycles and parking right in front of this particular cabin. There were plenty of cabins off of the main parking lot/street why give newlyweds the one right in the middle of the action?? Great place to visit for wedding, hiking! Address of Mt. Charleston Lodge is 5355 Kyle Canyon Road, Mt Charleston

Room Tip: ask for cabin away from parking lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanebytheSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We booked well ahead of time and I asked the woman I booked with to recommend a cabin with a great view. We were in #24 and it didn't disappoint, the views were spectacular! The cabin itself is a little shabby (think old dusty silk flowers, cowebs you can see when the light shines in, and rust in the sink and tub). But we weren't expecting the Ritz, we just wanted a cozy place to curl up and watch movies and play games and relax after long days of playing in the snow and sledding and that's what we got! The only thing I wish was that the staff was a little more knowledgeable and forthcoming with info but we ended up getting some good ideas and tips from the restaurant staff next door instead. For example, there is no cable or satellite or even rabbit ears for the TV in your room and when we asked at the office about the weather for the next day (ie is more snow coming and could we have a problem getting back down the mountain) the girl in the office literally shrugged her shoulders and said "your guess is as good as mine".

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GlobalK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

nice and close to the ski resort, clean rooms, good restaurant

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle2286
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2011

On Saturday a group of us decided to go up to Mt Charleston for a day of skiing, before skiing we headed to the Lodge for some lunch. We were immediately greeted by the Manager/Hostess Julie who was very polite and after a minute of chatting took us to our table. We asked her if our favorite bartender Jerry was working, but she informed us he had the day off. Our server Jason was very nice took our order got us our drinks and checked back to make sure everything was alright. Some of us had the Turkey burger and others had the Buffalo, all were cooked very well. As we were leaving another manager Thomas was seen at the front and told us to have a good day, he seemed quite pleasant. Though we did not stay in one of the cabins, we would like to next time.


This place is great to get a way from the ''craziness'' of las vegas.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukebluedevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Charleston
Summerlin
Red Rock Casino Resort & Spa
Summerlin
La Quinta Inn & Suites Las Vegas Summerlin Tech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Resort on Mount Charleston
#1 of 1 in Mount Charleston
375 reviews
Bonnie Springs Motel
#1 of 1 in Blue Diamond
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mt. Charleston Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mt. Charleston Lodge

Address: 5375 Kyle Canyon Rd, Mount Charleston, NV 89124-9234
Location: United States > Nevada > Mount Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Mount Charleston
Price Range: $145 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Also Known As:
Mt. Charleston Hotel Mount Charleston
Mt Charleston Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing