We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scary”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Carson Valley Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Carson Valley Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Scary”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

You should know the details of my stay so perhaps you will be able to make some improvements that are really necessary. . The room I stayed in (and others I saw) was barely passable.

Good news:
Bathroom and towels were clean and white
sheets on bed looked clean

Bad news: because of the bed bug scare, i always pull the bed away from the wall to inspect the area of the mattress at the headboard and around the mattress. I didn't find anything that looked like bedbugs (thank God) BUT it was totally filthy and there were spiders, ants,other varmints under there...and inch of dust piled around base of bed. The carpet was torn, worn and totally filthy all over the room, not just near the beds.

Except for the bathroom the rest of the room was really dirty, stains on bedspread, cobwebs in the corners of the ceiling with dead bugs stuck in them (so they were there a while) and I frankly did not feel comfortable sleeping the night on those beds and cuddled up in the middle of one of them surrounded by the sheets. Had I not arrived in that night late I would have left and reported you to the health authorities.

I did mention to the housekeeper the next morning what i found (filthy the rug... dust and small bugs around the box spring of one of the mattresses) and they did come in an thoroughly clean the carpet. I ended up staying but not sure I will again because the place was so dirty. The rest of the property looks pretty good so I was shocked at how bad the condition of the room was. I do not expect 5 star at your price point but I do expect clean and not to see dirt and leaves, torn rugs and old stained bedspreads which was all a bit creepy for a well known casino property.

Get a carpet guy in there and change them out. Even if they are cheap new ones at least they are clean. And you can replace them more often which is better than expensive carpet that is torn and filthy dirty. Take the bedspreads off the beds and use 2 sheets with a blanket in the middle. Tell the housekeeping staff to look above eye level for stuff when they clean .....along the ceiling lamp shades etc.

It wouldn't cost that much and would make a huge difference.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmandell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    87
    30
    8
    10
See reviews for
59
101
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Millbrae, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Every year my husband and I go to Minden and stay at the Carson Valley Inn. We had a rude awakening this year. The new owners, (whoever they are), do not accept Triple A or AARP discounts. There is no longer a 2 for 1 prime rib dinner night and they do not issue any kind of coupons..free slot play, free drink, etc.
This may sound like cheap nit-picking but, as a couple on a fixed income, we appreciated the effort.
Also, the room we had, (307) smelled like dirty feet. Thank goodness we could open the windows.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandybella8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparks, Nevada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Made reservations at hotel and got a price for the hotel and was put in a lesser room at the Motor Lodge, which was 1 block away. If we wanted to use the pool or eat at the restaurant , we had to drive 1 block or call for the hotel shuttle. Was told that we could stay in the hotel if we wanted to pay more $$ The restaurant staff and parking staff at the hotel were fantastic but the reservation dept was not.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPL64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2010

We were visiting family nearby and used the motor lodge as a base location for about a week. The rooms are clean and they have the best soap of any place we have ever stayed. We ate breakfast daily at the resteraunt (Katies's maybe?) and, although it was okay, it wasn't anything special. The service was very good all around and everyone was very friendly. Minden is much nicer than Reno. No sirens during the night, no walking through a giant casino to get to your room, and very little traffic. The only negative to our stay was our last night. The people occupying the room next to us were very, very loud. Television blaring, doors slamming, shouting matches concering the merits of line cooks. I did call the front desk to complain and withing ten minutes they were quiet. And if that was you next door, sorry, we didn't mean to slam the door when we were leaving very, very early the next morning. We also don't have a clue how that "Service Room Immediately" signed ended up on your door.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hometown1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2010

I hope someone in Management gets this!

Friday, June 18, 2010 @ 4:30 pm I was visiting with my brother-in-law relaxing at your bar having a good time. My brother-in-law bought the first round - I bought him his second drink a bartender (bald headed) took my $20 bill and left the change on the bar with the receipt - I then finished my first drink and ask the same bartender for another drink he complied took the money from where HE left my change from the $20 and left the change and the second receipt. I glanced over, while I was talking to my Brother-In-Law, and noticed the two receipt and my change. I must say that we had left a tip behind the machines on the bar. Anticipating having another drink I seen no reason to move my change. While I was facing my Brother-In-Law, about half way into my second drink, an Asian bartender walked over to MY change and took it off the bar. My Brother-In-Law noticed and stopped the Asian bartender from taking my money and explained to him that he had already taken our tips that we had placed behind the machines. He replaced MY money and the receipts and told me that if I didn't want him to take MY money I shouldn't leave it there - LIKE I MADE A MISTAKE. I explained that I did not leave it there my bartender left it there along with the receipts and he had no right taking claim to MY money. My Brother-In-Law then got up and said let's get out of here which terminated what we thought was going to be a pleasant afternoon. When I made my point of view known to the Asian bartender a third bartender stepped in to defend the Asian bartender leaving me amazed because he should have kept his mouth shut. Why did the Asian bartender take my change when he wasn't the bartender that served me? The bartender that serviced me was still working at my end of the bar. I want the bartender that served me to take his tip - I don't care how they split it up later - it is his tip- not some unrelated bartender. Was this some scam? How many people has he ripped off this way? Was he trying to get away with something while I wasn't looking? He should have asked and I wouldn't have had a problem with explaining that it was my change. I hope you have surveillance cameras and can follow my explanation of the situation. It wasn't the mistake the bothered me it was how the Asian and the third bartender reacted to the mistake. I have nothing good to say about Carson Valley Inn to anyone. I hope you see where I am coming from they ruined a good afternoon for us. And I did not deserve any of the negative treatment. I would have handled that situation in a different way. Not by making me feel like I cause the situation. Where is it that the Customer gets treated like poop and then expected to spend there money. You will not see a dime of mine.

Acknowledge Receipt or I will find another means to make my point,

Fred Scott

Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank CaliforniaNavada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

CVI is under new ownership and they have made some nice improvements in the casino. New layout, carpet and games, make the casino look much better than the last time we visited. However, the hotel rooms remain the same and really need some updating as does the ventilation. The bedspreads in our room had some holes in them and the carpet was stained. Hopefully the owners will give them some attention in the near future because the property is the center of beautiful downtown Minden and it would be a shame to let the rooms continue to age and deteriorate. We were there on a Friday night and the casino was so busy and crowded, it was difficult to find a place to play! The service was friendly and fast, from the hotel desk to the coffee shop. Our dinner in the coffee shop was very mediocre, but again the service was excellent. They have a new steakhouse that looked much better, so you may want to try that instead.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smalltowngalReno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2005

Spent the first weekend of November at the Carson Valley Inn, and thoroughly enjoyed the cozy ambience and friendliness of the staff. The Inn presented the Rhymers Rodeer, a weekend of Cowboy Poetry and music - entertainers were excellent, food was very good, and service was polite and friendly. Rooms were clean, and while I parked my own vehicle, I wanted to, so not a problem. Definitely a relaxing experience... only thing that could have been better would be coffee pots in the rooms. No one likes to go in search of coffee in their pajamas. I really enjoyed my stay at the Carson Valley Inn.

Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
3.9 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 3 in Minden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
BEST WESTERN Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
21.6 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carson Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carson Valley Inn

Property: Carson Valley Inn
Address: 1627 US Highway 395 North, Minden, NV 89423-4323
Location: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Carson Valley Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carson Valley Inn is a full service hotel/casino located in Minden, Nevada 15 miles south of Carson City and 20 minutes from world class skiing at Heavenly at Tahoe. We are 25 minutes from the South Shore of Lake Tahoe. The Carson Valley Inn has been completely remodeled in the last 5 years. Our casino features table games, live poker, 600 slots and Race and Sports Book. We have two lounges, one with free live entertainment nightly. Our main hotel features a pool, spas, business center and fitness facility. WE have free Wifi. For our value conscious guests we have a motor lodge adjacent to the main hotel. We also have an RV Resort featuring full hook-ups and shower facilities. There is a laundromat. Restaurants: In CV Steak, enjoy great dining, exceptional value and a comfortable atmosphere perfect for a special occasion, casual gathering with friends, or a let's-not-cook-tonight escape. Katie's Country Kitchen, our 24-hour coffee shop has a comfortable atmosphere, generous menu selections, and value-packed specials that makes this restaurant a favorite among locals and hotel and RV park guests. Katie's Nightly Dinner Specials. Stop by Job's Perk for morning coffee, pastries, sandwiches, afternoon snacks and wine. The Carson Valley Inn has 6000 square feet of meeting space and TJ's Corral is our concert venue featuring some of the biggest names in country and rock & roll. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carson Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carson Valley Hotel Minden
Carson Valley Minden
Carson Valley Inn Minden
Carson Valley Inn Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Minden, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing