We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel and good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Reviewed October 8, 2010

Good motel: quiet, clean, comfortable and modern.

If I think really hard, the only small negative is that I wish they supplied tea bags (not Chinese) at breakfast and in the rooms (plus those little milk cartons). The previous occupant of the empty room next door had left the alarm buzzer set for 6am but fortunately I was already awake by then and I suppose it could happen anywhere.

One other hint is to be sure that you don't book Minden Louisiana by mistake, as I did. (I have a reservation, no you don't, let me show you the confirmation, oops!)

The Basque restaurant (The Country Club) 4 miles down the road on Highway 395 is very good and is particularly recommended if you haven't eaten for a week and like lamb kebabs.

I think many people would prefer staying in Minden instead of the Tahoe area which like a major city at the south end of the lake. If all you want to do is see the lake then it is less than half and hour away, though about two hours to drive all round it.

Finally take a glider ride at Soar Minden at the airport about 1 mile north.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jmcc150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 82 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2009

This place is just bad. I was forced to stay here because I travel with my dog. Never again. I'd rather camp outside in the rain. This place is old and beat, and the service is the worst.

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DogDoggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2009

We spent that last three nights at the Best Western Minden. We choose this hotel because we had a dog with us, otherwise it was not my first choice and next time not even in my top 100 choices. Our experience was ... odd.

The night we arrived the area was infested with mosquitos. When I checked in there was no mention of the problem and it was a shock to have to go mosquito hunting in the evenings in order to prevent from being eaten alive. Later when I spoke with the front desk about this they said it was a problem in the county. And though I found that there are mosquitos in the area, my cousins don't have as big a problem a few miles away.

In addition to this, my son got sick during the night and I asked housekeeping the next day to make sure they gave the bathroom an extra cleaning and I was shocked when I came back for the day and found the bathroom being the only thing cleaned. Our beds weren't made and it didn't look like they did anything else.

The next day we had a chocolate milk accident in the bed and I again asked housekeeping to be sure to not only make our beds but to change our sheets. When I came back for the day I found they did make the bed and change the bed sheets but did not change the pillow cases (there was a stain on one still), they were just moved around between the two beds.

Oh! Forgot to mention that two days before we arrived they put "a shock of chemicals" in their pool and until the day before we left, it was not open - in almost 90 degree weather. My poor boys were very upset about the letdown of the only highlight of staying in a hotel.

Finally, my cousins who live in the area told me the "smell" outside and occasionally making it inside was because the hotel is next to some kind of waste reclaimation plant. Perhaps this is the real reason for their mosquito problem?

So there is my experience. Do with it what you may - but personally I will travel a bit further for a dog friendly hotel, if I decide to bring one with me again. If not, I am going to stay over at the Carson Valley Inn. I have heard great things about them and from the street they look like a nice place.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gillianerinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Needed to cancel my reservation by 4pm. Called Best Western Minden at 3:50. They tell me they can't cancel the reservation, that I have to call the corporate number.

I call the corporate number, and by the time they pull up my reservation it's 4:01, and they say they need approval from Minden to do the cancellation. Minden denies the cancellation because it's 1...minute...late.

I hear back from corporate the next day: Minden still refuses to honor my cancellation, so corporate is issuing me a refund since Minden is charging me for the full cost of the room.

I was relieved that the corporate office would go so far to keep up good customer service despite the terrible local service from Minden. Nevertheless, I won't be giving that Best Western location my money again.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Thank chadtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2008

We had our house fumigated and wanted to get away from small little Palo Alto, CA so my dad drove to minden. They let pets in gereat! We got adjoining rooms (me and my sisters and one for my parents) They were great and extremely clean. However, the rooms were warm because the A/C was not on in neither rooms. The shower was soothing. It was also great because there was a park across the street for my dog to run around at. There are 2 vending machines in the hallways and laundry services. This Best Western had a variety of cable channels not just a couple basic ones. The Fan on the A/C works well! Early in the morning, I was too cold. I started to pace around my room and our dog came in and jumped in my bed. I banged into the microfridge and microwave oven combo (I forgot to mention). The continental breakfast was good, but a little basic. (but hey its free!) We did not go into the pool area but it looked clean!

I will definitely want to stay here again
good job Best Western Minden!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PlaceLover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Look Elsewhere! Do not subject yourself or your family to this establishment. Besides a dirty room, plugged toilet in room when we arrived, and poorly kept breakfast (I have had much better at other best westerns) – The topper was being electrocuted by a shorted light cord (Thought the sparks and flames in the room was the only exciting thing about this place), which blew the circuit in the room. There was no manager on duty so an Individual reported to be the owner came out and proceeded to insult myself and my family and berate me for getting him out of bed. We have pictures of the frayed cord with the burn marks. His argument is how dare we unplug the light to plug in our kids DVD player to charge. No apology, No are you alright, No concern – He Insisted on fixing the cord at night in room while my kids were sleeping (My guess to get rid of the shorted cord). What an embarrassment to the Best Western Chain – Fortunately there is a brand new Holiday Inn Express being built about ¼ mile away that will be ready in Fall of 2008, Carson City is only about 12 Miles away – Better & Cheaper rooms and more options as well – And Carson Valley Inn is always a local favorite. I know we will never stay here again, our Extended family which lives in the area will not, and I hope that you will not either. This location needs to learn what customer service involves, and more importantly safety of their guests. Hopefully fewer guests will cause them to reevaluate their priorities.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank dbakeraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

After reading the mostly bad reviews for this place, we almost stayed elsewhere, but this turned out to be clean, with a very comfortable bed. Free wi-fi, average breakfast, good air conditioner. The one woman we did encounter checking in, etc. seemed very nice. This is within walking distance to several different restaurants, the movies, Starbucks, etc. Also, there's a great little park right across the street with a nice playground and a huge expanse of very thick grass. Our dog was welcome at this hotel, too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.8 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
254 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
2.4 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#3 of 6 in Gardnerville
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
368 reviews
4.1 mi away
1862 David Walley's Hot Springs Resort and Spa
8.5 mi away
Montbleu Resort Casino & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1795 Ironwood Dr, Minden, NV 89423-4704
Location: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range: $69 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® & Suites in Minden, NV is located in beautiful Carson Valley – historically the staging arena for adventurers as they prepared to cross the high mountain passes on their way to the gold fields of California. This hotel offers easy access to Carson Valley Museum and Cultural Center and Western Nevada College and a host of outdoor activities including water skiing, snowmobiling, parasailing, hiking, fishing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minden
Minden Best Western
Quality Inn & Suites Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Minden, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing