We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Reviewed October 25, 2008

Needed to cancel my reservation by 4pm. Called Best Western Minden at 3:50. They tell me they can't cancel the reservation, that I have to call the corporate number.

I call the corporate number, and by the time they pull up my reservation it's 4:01, and they say they need approval from Minden to do the cancellation. Minden denies the cancellation because it's 1...minute...late.

I hear back from corporate the next day: Minden still refuses to honor my cancellation, so corporate is issuing me a refund since Minden is charging me for the full cost of the room.

I was relieved that the corporate office would go so far to keep up good customer service despite the terrible local service from Minden. Nevertheless, I won't be giving that Best Western location my money again.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
Thank chadtastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 76 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2008

We had our house fumigated and wanted to get away from small little Palo Alto, CA so my dad drove to minden. They let pets in gereat! We got adjoining rooms (me and my sisters and one for my parents) They were great and extremely clean. However, the rooms were warm because the A/C was not on in neither rooms. The shower was soothing. It was also great because there was a park across the street for my dog to run around at. There are 2 vending machines in the hallways and laundry services. This Best Western had a variety of cable channels not just a couple basic ones. The Fan on the A/C works well! Early in the morning, I was too cold. I started to pace around my room and our dog came in and jumped in my bed. I banged into the microfridge and microwave oven combo (I forgot to mention). The continental breakfast was good, but a little basic. (but hey its free!) We did not go into the pool area but it looked clean!

I will definitely want to stay here again
good job Best Western Minden!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank PlaceLover10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2008

Look Elsewhere! Do not subject yourself or your family to this establishment. Besides a dirty room, plugged toilet in room when we arrived, and poorly kept breakfast (I have had much better at other best westerns) – The topper was being electrocuted by a shorted light cord (Thought the sparks and flames in the room was the only exciting thing about this place), which blew the circuit in the room. There was no manager on duty so an Individual reported to be the owner came out and proceeded to insult myself and my family and berate me for getting him out of bed. We have pictures of the frayed cord with the burn marks. His argument is how dare we unplug the light to plug in our kids DVD player to charge. No apology, No are you alright, No concern – He Insisted on fixing the cord at night in room while my kids were sleeping (My guess to get rid of the shorted cord). What an embarrassment to the Best Western Chain – Fortunately there is a brand new Holiday Inn Express being built about ¼ mile away that will be ready in Fall of 2008, Carson City is only about 12 Miles away – Better & Cheaper rooms and more options as well – And Carson Valley Inn is always a local favorite. I know we will never stay here again, our Extended family which lives in the area will not, and I hope that you will not either. This location needs to learn what customer service involves, and more importantly safety of their guests. Hopefully fewer guests will cause them to reevaluate their priorities.

Stayed: September 2008
1  Thank dbakeraz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2008

After reading the mostly bad reviews for this place, we almost stayed elsewhere, but this turned out to be clean, with a very comfortable bed. Free wi-fi, average breakfast, good air conditioner. The one woman we did encounter checking in, etc. seemed very nice. This is within walking distance to several different restaurants, the movies, Starbucks, etc. Also, there's a great little park right across the street with a nice playground and a huge expanse of very thick grass. Our dog was welcome at this hotel, too.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank LDenise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2007

Someone needs to tell the management of this property that they're in a service industry. We arrived about 1:30 in the afternoon. I realize that the advertised check-in time is 3:00. I very politely said that I knew we were early, but was there any chance we could check in early? The desk clerk said "Your rooms are being cleaned." Since I was sure housekeeping started in the morning, and the parking lot was empty, I said "I'm sure SOME of the rooms are clean..." The response was (no eye contact)"My manager says we can't let people check in early". I can't see a valid reason for this policy. I see it as an indication of indifference, and I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TTPCalifornian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

The room was adequate, if overpriced at $89, but I was subsequently billed for a taking a pillow from the room, which I most certainly did not do. An additional $35 showed up on my Visa bill and, when I called the motel to question the charge, I could never get in touch with the manager. After three attempts, I gave up on reaching him or having him return my call. I finally dealt with Best Western, who sent me a card worth the equivalent amount. I can't help but think it was a scam as the motel pillows are the cheap uncomfortable type that are certainly not worth stealing, much less $35. This happened in April 2006.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coppertessie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Brandon, Mississippi
12
Reviewed March 3, 2006

We were here for a funeral in Febuary of 2006 and the staff was very helpful. The clerk was very nice and friendly and went out of his way to make us as comfortable as possible. We will definately choose Best Western in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minden
0.9 mi away
Carson Valley Inn
Carson Valley Inn
#1 of 3 in Minden
247 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Minden
2.4 mi away
Historian Inn
Historian Inn
#5 of 6 in Gardnerville
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.4 mi away
Super 8 Gardnerville Topaz Lake
8.4 mi away
Lakeside Inn and Casino
Lakeside Inn and Casino
#2 of 9 in Stateline
803 reviews
22.2 mi away
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
Best Western Topaz Lake Inn
#1 of 6 in Gardnerville
358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 1795 Ironwood Dr, Minden, NV 89423-4704
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Minden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Minden
Price Range: $69 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® & Suites in Minden, NV is located in beautiful Carson Valley – historically the staging arena for adventurers as they prepared to cross the high mountain passes on their way to the gold fields of California. This hotel offers easy access to Carson Valley Museum and Cultural Center and Western Nevada College and a host of outdoor activities including water skiing, snowmobiling, parasailing, hiking, fishing and boating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Minden
Minden Best Western
Quality Inn & Suites Lake Tahoe (Nevada)/Minden, NV

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing