We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A surprising find”
Review of Minden Food Company - CLOSED

Minden Food Company
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
New England
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A surprising find”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Out in the Lake Tahoe area in November, we happened upon this restaurant quite by chance. The decor was quite amazing with a roaring fire in the fireplace and it was bright and cheerful inside. You could also sit at the bar to eat.
Our server was friendly and knowledgeable about the menu. The portions were a very good size, and my steak quite delicious. Even went for dessert this time, but the chocolate cake was rather too large. We will definitely go back there on a future visit to the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank morehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    8
    1
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not the Best experience”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The restaurant is now under a new name ...Minded Food Co. I was not there when it was under other ownership. The restaurant is lovely and has nice ambiance. Our waiter/waitress were excellent. The food was expensive and not very good at all. My steak was overdone and tough. The garlic mashed potatoes were runny, but the carrots were good.

We thought there was going to be nice piano entertainment until...the entertainer had his little daughter sing and then the children/wife played on the floor by the piano. Totally unprofessional, noisy and distracting. I will not return to the Minded Food Co.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CJL1CJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Gorgeous interior, good food, well prepared.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The name has changed - it's call Minden Food Company now. Beautiful architecture and decor inside. The restaurant is knowledgeable about gluten-free requirements and the chef is open to off-menu items and substitutions.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kmcmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Perfectly Prepared”
Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Formerly Barone and Reed, now Minden Market. Have been going here for years, before and after the ownership split. As Minden Market, the food is always excellent. The chef is very professional and cooks your beef exactly as you ask for it. Have never had a bad meal here. Service can seem slow but attentive. On Wednesdays, wine is half-priced. Strongly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SuperRVer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fairly pricey”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Been a while since I have been. Hopefully it has improved, otherwise just an average steak house. Have had better

Helpful?
Thank nvkrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Minden Food Company also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing