We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent breakfast”
Review of Cowboys Cafe

Cowboys Cafe
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Minden
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
CANOGA PARK
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stopped here when passing through while traveling. It was a little hole in the wall but was packed with people. I had the cheese and choriso scramble and my wife had the blueberry pancakes. The choriso in my scramble tasted home made and was excellent. Both choriso and cheese were present in generous portions. My wife loved the blueberry pancakes - said the blueberries were large, plump and delicious. The service was so-so, but after all, this IS called the cowboys cafe.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IVAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    29
    6
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Lake Tahoe, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cowboy Cafe Minden, NV”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Unfortunately, we came about a month ago and breakfasted at The Cowboy Restaurant. No issues with the food. It was great and fair-priced. However, we would be hesitant to return as we felt so rushed by the owners and staff. Nothing good to say about being able to relax and enjoy the coffee after your meal, and we aren't the type of clients who tie up your profit by sitting for too long...but we feel 45 minutes to an hour should be reasonable and if you can't make your clients feel comfortable and relaxed, why spend our hard earned money on your restaurant. We would rather eat at a drive thru then feel the way we felt while dining. We eat out a lot and we used to run a restaurant ourselves...so words of wisdom for you...we hope.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ancenay1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best breakfast ever!!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is a wonderful little cafe in Minden, NV. The service and food are just fabulous. On this most recent visit there were four of us and each of our meals were delicious, hot and fresh. The biscuits are to die for but the chicken fried steak with gravy is also amazing. The other great feature is they listen when you order and my eggs were done to my request which is unusual. The toast isn't burnt or underdone.

Anytime you're anywhere near Minden, NV, stop in to the Cowboy's Cafe, you won't be sorry!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Breakfast fit for a hard-working cowboy!”
Reviewed May 24, 2014

I've eaten here twice in the short time since moving to the Carson Valley. Both times were breakfast, both times were outstanding. From the friendly waitresses to the ranch-sized excellent meals and reasonable prices, the only thing that I could with for is that they'd start serving dinner instead of just breakfast and lunch!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GHJ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Home style food and atmosphere”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Friendly servers, great food, casual feel. Breakfast and Lunch only and done well. What more could one ask for?

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lndkrzr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cowboys Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing