We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ms”
other travelers have booked this property
Our fab swimming pool, which catches the sun until late evening, is heated and has a safety fence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our fab swimming pool, which catches the sun until late evening, is heated and has a safety fence
La Chataigne's huge lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
9 reviews
Our fab swimming pool, which catches the sun until late evening, is heated and has a safety fence
La Chataigne's huge lounge
La Chataigne's dining room
La Chataigne's well equipped kitchen with range cooker
Private terrace with BBQ overlooking the garden and pool
La Chataigne's sunny front door
La Chataigne has its own private corner of our huge, child friendly garden
Our new bike shed has a range of family bikes to borrow
The garden features a kid's (and dad's) camp fire ...
The garden features a huge picnic table for meals with friends old a new ...
The garden features a boules court ...
Our little lane sees hardly any traffic
Our local village has night fab night markets in summer with food, wine, music and dancing.
Our local market at Piegut is the biggest in the northern Dordogne
Visit beautiful Brantome and hire a canoe ...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Champniers-et-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
gillyb23...
1 review
“Ms”
Reviewed June 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A real gem in stunning location. Peace and quiet to hear morning and evening birdsong. The gite is very high spec with all you could hope for. Full of country character and charm with Gill's wonderful eye for Renaissance style. My mum and I had a wonderful time travelling through stunning towns and villages. This is the heart of France. Highly recommend this place. The hosts Gill and Pat were wonderful.

Date of stay: May 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2016
Thank you for staying with us. We aim to please and it's great to hear you had such a lovely time. We hope to see you both again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaryZ60
UK
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“La Chataigne is a relaxing hideaway”
Reviewed June 6, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had a lovely stay at La Chataigne. The accommodation is very attractive, comfortable and spacious. The sofa is great for sitting and reading - not that common in rentals! And the beds very equally comfortable. The patio is also a great place to sit and read or have a glass of wine and I loved watching the lizards being territorial.Sadly the weather wasn't good the week we stayed so I didn't use the pool, although I imagine swimming in the rain might have been fun.

The area is beautiful and the driving easy. although a large-scale map makes exploring easier. The walks from the cottage are fantastic and varied - we didn't need to stray far to have a lovely time.

Our hosts were delightful and helpful, even down to doing a little food shopping for us so we had something for supper on our last night. They were attentive without us feeling they were watching us all the time!

I can imagine us returning as this is a great place to relax and enjoy the countryside

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean Y
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautifully restored gites with swimming pool, perfect base from which to explore idyllic Dordogne region.”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

After a 45 minute drive from Limoges Airport on quiet country roads we arrived at Les Arbres to be greeted by our genial hosts Gill & Pat. As a family group we were fortunate to have both La Chataigne and La Noisette, two beautifully restored adjoining gites. As Gill showed us round we were hugely impressed with the spacious, clean and comfortable living space. Things got even better when we saw the gardens, the barbecue area and of course the pool! We knew we had found the perfect base from which spend a few days away from the hustle and bustle of urban England. You won’t find any theme parks, but you will find beautiful countryside, sleepy villages with markets and chateaux, small but lively towns and lots of authentic French cuisine. Gill & Pat are more than happy to give expert advice on where to go, what to do, where to eat. They have obviously worked hard to create a pleasant environment in which to enjoy your well earned break.

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 29, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We hope to see you again here soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael D
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations were high, and we were not let down”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at La Chataigne a period cottage, very spacious and well equiped. The BBQ and patio area we put to good use most days. The good weather I requested, Gill, somehow managed to pull off too. The garden ( which is huge) and pool area are beautifully kept. I almost felt guilty watching Pat working in the garden while we enjoyed the sun.
A visit to the Piegut market is worthwhile, we all enjoyed our couple of hours checking out the cheeses, breads and meats.
Brantome is not too far away and we had a very nice lunch overlooking the river, while we basked in the sun.
Pat & Gill have a host of local restaurants to suggest. I must be hell having to go to check them all out. Although we only managed to eat out one night, The Pork Pie. Perhaps sitting on the patio sampling the local wine looking at the stars made it too much effort to go out.
To say that Pat & Gill are congenial hosts is an understatement, nothing was too much trouble.
We will definately consider coming back and we have already told a host of people to check out the website.
A car is a must

Date of stay: June 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2013
Thank you! We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves and that you had a relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila M
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful property, wonderful, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Had a fantastic family get-together at La Chataigne. The house is absolutely gorgeous, very spacious and finished to a high standard with lovely furnishings etc. The lounge smells beautifully of wood from the floors and ceiling beams. Fantastic to have meals on the sunny patio or even round the camp fire in the extensive gardens in the evenings. The pool is lovely and a real bonus being heated. A very peaceful, relaxing area but with plenty to do nearby if/when feeling energetic.

Date of stay: May 2013
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2013
Thank you, we love making your holiday a holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine B
Haddington
1 review
“Perfect house, perfect location, perfect hosts”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful house with exceptional attention to detail that makes a holiday a pleasure. Everything is tastefully done and the gite, pool and facitlies are outstanding. For the last three years we have booked the next holiday on the first day of our holiday unable to resist the lure of this magical place and lovely part of the country. Pat and Gill are warm hosts without being intrusive and have organised some superb activities. They go out of their way to be helpful and provide lists of local markets and events so you benefit from their local knowledge. Couldn't rate it more highly!

Date of stay: July 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and the lovely pool
Liked least: Nothing to dislike - zero complaints!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2013
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayoBridi...
Castellane, France
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent gite, highly recommended!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Had a fantastic time at Les Arbres last Summer staying in La Chataigne. the house was so spacious and so well equipped. We had everything on hand that we needed to make our holiday such a success! We had the added benefit that we travelled with friends and their children and La Chataigne was interconnected with their house called La Noisette. The garden is massive and the pool is amazing, great that it was heated! Gill and Pat were really helpful and were always on hand if we needed any advice on restaurants, places to visit etc.
Will definitely be back to Les Arbres someday and have recommended it to loads of our friends!!

Date of stay: June 2012
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2013
Thank you, we look forward to meeting you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing