We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Expectations were high, and we were not let down”
other travelers have booked this property
Our fab swimming pool, which catches the sun until late evening, is heated and has a safety fence
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Our fab swimming pool, which catches the sun until late evening, is heated and has a safety fence
La Chataigne's huge lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Our fab swimming pool, which catches the sun until late evening, is heated and has a safety fence
La Chataigne's huge lounge
La Chataigne's dining room
La Chataigne's well equipped kitchen with range cooker
Private terrace with BBQ overlooking the garden and pool
La Chataigne's sunny front door
La Chataigne has its own private corner of our huge, child friendly garden
Our new bike shed has a range of family bikes to borrow
The garden features a kid's (and dad's) camp fire ...
The garden features a huge picnic table for meals with friends old a new ...
The garden features a boules court ...
Our little lane sees hardly any traffic
Our local village has night fab night markets in summer with food, wine, music and dancing.
Our local market at Piegut is the biggest in the northern Dordogne
Visit beautiful Brantome and hire a canoe ...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Champniers-et-Reilhac, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Michael D
Buckhurst Hill, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expectations were high, and we were not let down”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We stayed at La Chataigne a period cottage, very spacious and well equiped. The BBQ and patio area we put to good use most days. The good weather I requested, Gill, somehow managed to pull off too. The garden ( which is huge) and pool area are beautifully kept. I almost felt guilty watching Pat working in the garden while we enjoyed the sun.
A visit to the Piegut market is worthwhile, we all enjoyed our couple of hours checking out the cheeses, breads and meats.
Brantome is not too far away and we had a very nice lunch overlooking the river, while we basked in the sun.
Pat & Gill have a host of local restaurants to suggest. I must be hell having to go to check them all out. Although we only managed to eat out one night, The Pork Pie. Perhaps sitting on the patio sampling the local wine looking at the stars made it too much effort to go out.
To say that Pat & Gill are congenial hosts is an understatement, nothing was too much trouble.
We will definately consider coming back and we have already told a host of people to check out the website.
A car is a must

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2013
Thank you! We are pleased you enjoyed yourselves and that you had a relaxing time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila M
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful property, wonderful, relaxing holiday”
Reviewed June 23, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Had a fantastic family get-together at La Chataigne. The house is absolutely gorgeous, very spacious and finished to a high standard with lovely furnishings etc. The lounge smells beautifully of wood from the floors and ceiling beams. Fantastic to have meals on the sunny patio or even round the camp fire in the extensive gardens in the evenings. The pool is lovely and a real bonus being heated. A very peaceful, relaxing area but with plenty to do nearby if/when feeling energetic.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2013
Thank you, we love making your holiday a holiday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine B
Haddington
1 review
“Perfect house, perfect location, perfect hosts”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

This is an absolutely beautiful house with exceptional attention to detail that makes a holiday a pleasure. Everything is tastefully done and the gite, pool and facitlies are outstanding. For the last three years we have booked the next holiday on the first day of our holiday unable to resist the lure of this magical place and lovely part of the country. Pat and Gill are warm hosts without being intrusive and have organised some superb activities. They go out of their way to be helpful and provide lists of local markets and events so you benefit from their local knowledge. Couldn't rate it more highly!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attention to detail and the lovely pool
Liked least: Nothing to dislike - zero complaints!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2013
Thank you so much!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MayoBridi...
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Excellent gite, highly recommended!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 for a stay in June 2012

Had a fantastic time at Les Arbres last Summer staying in La Chataigne. the house was so spacious and so well equipped. We had everything on hand that we needed to make our holiday such a success! We had the added benefit that we travelled with friends and their children and La Chataigne was interconnected with their house called La Noisette. The garden is massive and the pool is amazing, great that it was heated! Gill and Pat were really helpful and were always on hand if we needed any advice on restaurants, places to visit etc.
Will definitely be back to Les Arbres someday and have recommended it to loads of our friends!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2013
Thank you, we look forward to meeting you all again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian D
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Super, super holiday”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

There are too few superlatives to describe what a great holiday we had. We travelled with our children, their partners and our two young grandchildren and stayed in La Chataigne and an adjoining gite - La Noisette. The gites were delightful and very well furnished. The owners, Pat and Gill, live opposite and were always on hand to help and were wonderful hosts - nothing was too much trouble for them. Our grandchildren loved the play equipment in the gardens and the swimming pool. There are lots of places to visit in the vicinity including Piegut market on Wednesday mornings, which is a must. A car is essential. We are already planning to return next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accommodation and facilities
Liked least: Leaving
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2013
Thank you, we enjoyed making your holiday a success!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing