We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...nothing fancy here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Virgin River Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mesquite
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Stayed here one night to meet up with friends from out of state. We got a non smoking room with 2 full beds and paid $30. The up side of this deal is that we also got $20 to be used on a players card in the casino so figure that we only paid $10 for the night stay. Not bad. The room was pretty basic with the 2 beds, small sink area outside of the shower/toilet area. Room was clean and had air/heat available for use. Bed linens consisted of basically a few sheets. I felt that it would have been nice to have a blanket available for use should you need it. Casino is smoky but all the slots and tables are there for your enjoyment. We dined at the buffet which was ok...nothing great but decent for $11/person. Staff very friendly and courteous. Basically folks, you get what you pay for here, nothing fancy.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lois R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 930 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stopped for the low advertised room rates. Paid $34 for the night. The casino was active and running. The buffet was great.
The room appeared fine - clean and presentable. The mattresses on the beds had big compression holes in them which made comfort difficult. My wife had to sleep in the other bed as the holes were so large. During the night I went to the bathroom to meet the local tenants - cockroaches. The toilet would not flush clean.
Never agaim.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I've stayed here before and thought it was okay for the price but never again. The toilet didn't work, the sheets on the bed didn't fit, the old TV had a remote with only channel and volume controls so you have to scroll through all of the channels to find the one you want. The phone doesn't have a directory on it and you have to call the reservation number to get any help. They've taken the refrigerators out of the rooms. The restaurant food is good and cheap but if you plan to spend any time in your room, somewhere else might be a better choice.

Room Tip: There are elevators so if you are on the 3rd floor, you won't have upstairs neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lyn84321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Not wanting to spend the night in Las Vegas, but heading south through Nevada, we stopped here and were pleasantly surprised. We enjoyed a simple but clean room for $30, along with a pool and hot tub. The casino also has bingo, a buffet, a bowling alley, and a Starbucks. Thought not fancy, for $30/night this is a great deal, comfortable accommodation, and good stopping point between St. George (UT) and Las Vegas.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hmm6789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Older room but very large and spacious. Hotel is external to the casino and is easily reached by a short drive to the 7 outbuildings in the parking lot. Good TV programming and comfortable.
Casino is good and restaurants are just fine. Great for a night. $23 for 2 during the week.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dirsppro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed there overnight going to California and then coming back. Going down my room was comped by a friend who lives near Mesquite and I paid $86 for the one coming back. Free is great ($27 is great) I thought $86 was high especially when they advertise $56 online. However there was a car show in town and just about everything was booked, so we were lucky to get it.

I thought the room was nice, although minimally decorated and furnished, we were tired and I was glad to get there. It was a good size, the beds were large enough, comfortable and clean, the first room we had was on the second floor and there was an elevator which made it better to haul luggage. The only thing it lacked was a coffee maker, but I am sure they expect you to spend all your time in the casino. I brought my own 1 cup packets and used hot tap water.

We were slow getting there on our return trip and they called me to confirm our reservation stating my credit/debit card had been declined (I expected to pay cash and had told my bank I was only going to CA so they blocked anything other than that) but they took my word for it and saved our room reservations even without taking another credit card I offered. I was thrilled they made that extra effort.

It is what it is, a nice place to stay overnight or a good gamblers weekend. We don't gamble but there is an arcade for kids and we went to the on-sight restaurant which was good and well priced however they do allow smoking there (and the casino of course) so expect that when travelling with kids. We walked through the casino the first time then went in through outside doors nearer the restaurant the second time. I don't believe they had room service. Because of the car show the restaurant had an hour wait the morning we were leaving so we went across the street to McDonald's.
All in all I would stay there again...nothing fancy, but meets the need.

Room Tip: Bring a 'hot pot' to boil water for coffee, expect to go out to eat as there is no fridge or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sanah54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Okay--yes it is dated. Yes, the carpets are old. Yes, the TV was an old tube-style box. Yes, the lamp shades were dusty. Yes, the walls are thin and it is easy to hear what is going on in the adjacent rooms. There is nothing fancy about this place. Having said that, we just needed a decent place to get a night's rest after a long drive--and it worked for that. The beds were not great, but they were clean and decent. Remember that this is a casino hotel and you are going to have lots of people staying up late at night--many of them there to party. If you are there to sleep, I suggest requesting a room in a building away from the casino and main lobby area. Even then, there is no guarantee who is staying in the room next to you. Anyone who travels knows you may have a bad experience at almost any hotel. At a property like this, the odds increase--so it's a roll of the dice (so to speak). We did have some loud guests around 2:00 am. Fortunately, it lasted only a few minutes. If we had spent $100, it would have been disappointing. For $30, we were pleasantly surprised.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, request a room in a building away from the casino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Familyman61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mesquite hotels
0.4 mi away
Eureka Casino Resort
Eureka Casino Resort
#1 of 9 in Mesquite
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rising Star Sports Ranch Resort
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mesquite Inn
0.3 mi away
Highland Estates Hotel & Resort
2.1 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel, Casino, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin River Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin River Hotel & Casino

Address: 100 E Pioneer Blvd, Mesquite, NV 89027-4929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Mesquite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mesquite
Price Range: $28 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Virgin River Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 722
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Virgin River Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin River Hotel Mesquite
Virgin River Hotel And Casino
Virgin River Mesquite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing