We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No-Frills, but not No-Fun” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Virgin River Hotel & Casino

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Virgin River Hotel & Casino
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mesquite
Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“No-Frills, but not No-Fun”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2008

Stayed at the Virgin River w/9 other golfers in Mid-April. Nothing to really write home about, but it was a very good value. Picture a Super 8 with a casino and you're about there. Having said that, we really enjoyed the dealers and thought the food was fine. Having visited some of the other properties while there, we'll probably upgrade next time, but no complaints about Virgin River.

  • Liked — Value/Price
  • Disliked — dated rooms and buildings
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ksgolfer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

840 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    284
    233
    111
    107
See reviews for
245
266
83
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2008

You can't beat the price.The buffet was really good,and it was great that one of the hotel wings was set aside for dogs and their owners.The regular casino was nice-especially with sports betting.For something different we bowled and played bingo and enjoyed both.The only negative thing I can say is the casino was very smokey when we were there.If they could somehow circulate or vent out the smoke that would be great.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
Thank ggbasalt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2007

We stopped on our way to fly out of Vegas. The room was clean and spacious, if a bit worn. If you sign up for their club card BEFORE you check in for a room you can get a free night!! Not Bad!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vwkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2007

I recently spent a weekend at the Virgin River. After reading reviews online, I was a little nervous about the condition of the property. I was pleasantly surprised...

First, the room I had was pretty good for the price I paid. It was clean, and they are quite large. There were 2 beds in my room, one you could see was a lot older than the other, the mattress was about 2 inches higher and the pillows were newer and firmer. I found the mattress to be firm, but quite comfortable!

Everyone I talked to in the casino and restaurant was very friendly. Yes, the whole place is showing its' age, but the slots were updated, the food was good, and service was even bettter. I really enjoyed my weekend at the Virgin River!

  • Liked — Friendly employees
  • Disliked — location of rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
296 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2007

We stayed here for a week. Had a ground floor room. The room was clean and the beds were decent. Two pools, one was closed the entire time. Ate at the Chuckwagon restaurant everyday, they had a friendly staff, very low prices and the food was really good each time. Liked the casino except for all the smoke. I know its a casino and I've been in a hundred of them but the smoke in this one was really bad, one of the worst. People at the front desk were pretty cool. The entire hotel was ok, nothing great. I don't think I'll stay here next time I come to Mesquite, but it wasn't a bad experience. Hotel seemed a little run down in areas and needed work but it was well worth the price we paid.

  • Liked — price, restaurant
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv-that-farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2007

My friend and I drove up to Virgin River for the night and our room was big with good sized bath. The room was well used but I thought it was clean and since we didn't pay much for it the room was just fine...we weren't in it except to sleep. The restaurant was located in the casino and had good food. We took a shuttle (free) over to the other casinos and it brought us back also. We didn't use the pool but there were kids in it anyway. All in all if you are looking to go to some casinos this would be an ok place to sleep...I didn't see any critters in our room or bed.

  • Liked — The location right by the expressway
  • Disliked — The rooms were well used...but clean.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lov2tvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanna, Wyoming
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2007

My husband and I stopped at the Virgin River on our way to LV because of great reviews from our neighbors.

Rates were not what was advertised, and the only way to get their deals was to spend 6 hours in the Bingo Hall. We checked in around 11PM.

The room was very standard, few amenities, and the bed was so hard that we did not sleep at all that night. Curtains did not close all the way to keep the lights from the parking lot out.

The Buffet was horrible! Food was overcooked, and cold, nasty.

We have stopped in Mesquite (for a break) every time we drive to LV, and these machines are by far the tightest. Although we did hear people hitting some form of jackpots around us.

There are several Hotels in the area that will get our business next time we come though.

  • Liked — Next to the Interstate, and we were exhusted
  • Disliked — Bed, food
  • Stayed April 2005, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Richard and Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mesquite
0.2 mi away
Eureka Casino Resort
Eureka Casino Resort
#1 of 9 in Mesquite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Best Western Mesquite Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Highland Estates Resort
Highland Estates Resort
#4 of 9 in Mesquite
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
2.2 mi away
CasaBlanca Hotel, Casino, Golf & Spa
9.6 mi away
No photo provided
Historic Beaver Dam Lodge
#1 of 1 in Beaver Dam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Virgin River Hotel & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Virgin River Hotel & Casino

Property: Virgin River Hotel & Casino
Address: 100 E Pioneer Blvd, Mesquite, NV 89027-4929
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Mesquite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Mesquite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Virgin River Hotel & Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 722
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Virgin River Hotel & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virgin River Hotel Mesquite
Virgin River Hotel And Casino
Virgin River Mesquite

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing