We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
43
16
5
0
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
43
16
5
0
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews drawing room afternoon tea bridal suite taster menu pre christmas former glory impressive building looked amazing sunday lunch wedding venue from start to finish staff were brilliant bed and breakfast the blue room hogwarts sympathetically slippers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 73 reviews
Reviewed April 20, 2019 via mobile

We stayed in the family room for one night on the way to visit family. The building is beautiful and has been sympathetically renovated and decorated (gorgeous wallpaper too!). Staff were friendly, accommodating and very welcoming.

This is such an interesting building with amazing proportions. Peacocks roam the grounds and you’re free to explore (our children really appreciated the giant swing).

The beds were incredibly comfy and the linen great quality.

There was a lovely fire in the fireplace downstairs and when we returned in the evening from going out to dinner, we loved listening to the brilliant Frank playing piano (so friendly and happy to take requests). He’s a gem!

We weren’t too sure of what to expect before we arrived as the photos we had seen don’t do it justice. It’s very atmospheric, however I imagine it’s not everyone’s cup of tea. We loved it and would stay again.

A couple of negative points (regrettably);

1. The coffee we had in the morning wasn’t very nice - admittedly we are picky about coffee but it would make a huge difference if it had been proper coffee, not instant (had that fake wheatabix taste).

2. I was looking forward to breakfast in the hotel but couldn’t justify spending £80 for four of us.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Coastcakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2019

Enjoyed a really good Afternoon Tea at Rossington Hall. The selection of sandwiches was superb, the tea and coffee was very good, they even had a soya milk option for my wife. There speciality Rosso Rat was an interesting and very tasty addition.
The shame was that there were no other people there in the Drawing Room to create a little atmosphere. The staff were brilliant and very attentive.

Room tip: Go and try the Afternoon Tea
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ralph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

What a beautiful place, great location, open fires, beautiful rooms, food and ambience. The staff were fabulous, especially Debbie the Manageress who tried to get the peacocks to come to see us, but they were in hiding, maybe next time. The pianist was amazing and from the minute we arrived, we felt at home and totally chilled. We stayed in the Blue Room which was stunning, can't wait to return, thankyou.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Timtuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

I visited here as part of a competition win, but I can honestly say I will be returning again. Myself and my husband were made very welcome from the moment we stepped foot into the place until we left. The room we stayed in was out of this world. It had everything in the room that you could want from teas and coffees too slippers and bath robe. The evening food was amazing and definitely worth 5stars. The breakfast was exactly the same 5 star rating. Each and every member of staff were friendly, helpful and made you feel so welcomed. Really can't wait to return again with my children next time.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 1982adams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2019

Loved this place beautiful inside and out wonderful staff very friendly nothing to much trouble food very good and loved sitting outside for drinks after if you have children there lots of space to run around and play safely

Date of stay: July 2018
Thank DOE70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews