We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Lovely find in Sussex”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of ROCK HOUSE MEWS

Comfortable  lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Comfortable  lounge
ENTRANCE to the mews PATIO
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Comfortable  lounge
ENTRANCE to the mews
PATIO
THE SOUTH DOWNS
view from mews
Bert !
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Chailey, East Sussex, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Janet H
Vermont, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely find in Sussex”
Reviewed May 27, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were not disappointed with our stay at Rock House Mews, the reviews were all very positive and so was our stay. Clean, comfortable and cosy with a perfect location for our travels around the district. We can highly recommend The Witch Inn and Limes Bistro in Lindfield as placed to eat close by. If we return to Sussex again we will certainly be staying at The Rock House Mews. It is a long way to come from Australia for a short break.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed April 18, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
Port Hawkesbury, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 16, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This was a lovely unit and immaculatly clean. Jill was delightful. She provided a basket of goodies upon our arrival which included fresh eggs from her chickens. The setting is lovely and rural yet close to amenities. We highly recommend this holiday let.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cleanliness and ameities
Liked least: there was nothing we didn't like
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 17, 2016
Thank you very much for your review , I do believe you had the best weather as it has now turned cold , hope you had a good trip back and thank you for staying with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guide5637...
1 review
“Gem of a place....home from home.”
Reviewed October 29, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Just got back after staying an amazing five nights. The apartment had everything we needed. It was exceptionally clean, we had a lovely welcome pack left for us and Jill and John were so friendly. Will definitely go back. Don't think we will ever stay in a hotel again after this experience. Highly recommend it to anyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Freedom do as you want
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Thank you Paul , what a lovely review you have given us , it makes it all worth while when we read such good comments , thank you both , have a good week
Jill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy returners”
Reviewed October 26, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Having stayed here earlier in the year we had no hesitation booking again. It almost feels like a second home. Stylishly furnished, compact but well equipped and (...welcome at this time of year) warm. Location is good for short drives to excellent pubs and near enough for visiting family in Brighton. Husband even remembered this time to watch the beams in the bathroom and bedroom!.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 26, 2016
Hi Shelia
Many thanks for your review
It is so nice to have returning guests, the news is very cosy in the colder months . We do hope you had a good trip back and bear us in mind if you feel the need for a break thank you again jill and john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
357steffi...
Province of Malaga, Spain
1 review
“Very comfortable and peaceful stay”
Reviewed June 30, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at Rock House Mews. The accommodation was excellent and everything we needed and beautifully presented. Jill and John were very helpful and friendly. The beakfast during our b&b stay was a typical farmhouse breakfast, delicious and so much choice. The welcome basket was excellent too. We thoughly enjoyed our stay and would be happy to recommend this accommodation. Also the wifi was excellent. I could not fault this stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful presentation
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 1, 2016
Thank you both very much for your kind review , hope Italy was all you expected it to be and you are both well, we enjoyed you staying and hope to see you both again
best wishes to you
jill and john
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheila B
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great space”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

As advertised. Well appointed, warm, cosy and peaceful. Had everything a couple would need for a short stay. Hens and sheep just outside. External spiral staircase would not be easy for older people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing