We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and homely out house” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redmarley D'Abitot
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and homely out house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2013

After a dreadful (6 hour!) journey from London we arrived at Pauntley Court to a warm fire, the most delicious luxury fish pie and a freshly baked Victoria sponge, just what we needed! We were the first to stay in the out-house and it was absolutely beautiful, so homely and so many sweet touches (hot water bottles in the bed- which were UNBELIEVABLY comfortable, water at the bedside, table laid, fluffy White Company towels). After an early night, my boyfriend spent the morning at the Lake and caught six rainbow trout while I went out walking across the beautiful, tranquil countryside (take a map!). We then had a massage in the bedroom by the local masseuse and went for a great meal at the Butcher's Arms.

We could not fault the house and Mark and Melissa could not have been any more accommodating, we will definitely recommend to others and return. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Owner at Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hello Sarah, it was great to have you both come and stay in Elinor Fettiplace and be one of the first to try out this self catering wing of the main house. We were so sorry you had a troublesome drive out of London with your misfortune to hit a traffic accident along your route to Pauntley, as I know if you had a bit of luck next time, you should reach us in normal conditions in 2 and a 1/2 hours. It was fantastic that Alex managed wet his line and with evident skill hook a few large trout from the Old Mill Pond. Alex will have to come back in the spring and try for some of the brown trout that are hiding away at the moment, as they are a bit more wary! We hope you will return to Pauntley Court again soon.
Many thanks.
Kind regards,
Mark and Melissa Hargreaves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
88
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

What a treat. On my almost last night in the UK I stayed in the family home, Pauntley Court, of my Great, Great, Grandmother, Mary Stokes, and visited the church where she was married before she emigrated to New Zealand in 1851 with her husband, Dr Fredrick Hall Richardson, and children.
Melissa and Mark gave my husband and myself such a warm welcome and catered with delicious afternoon tea and supper culminating in two deserts. The rooms are luxuriously equipped with attention to detail for comfort. We walked around the grounds and enjoyed the spacious lounge. I was able to view a book on the history pf the house and view a copy of my Gt Gt Grandmothers marriage certificate and gain new information about the family. Thanks Melissa and Mark.
Margie and Rob, NZ

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Owner at Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Hello Margie and Rob.
Thank you for your lovely comments all the way from New Zealand!
We really enjoyed having you to stay and were very excited to hear about your Great, Great, Grandmother, Mary Stokes...and were pleased to be able to find her marriage certificate in our history book. When you are next over in the UK, we love to welcome you back to Pauntley Court. Many thanks.
Kind regards, Melissa and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have just returned from a truly wonderful stay to celebrate our 39th wedding anniversary and wished it could have been longer. Just wanted our warm and charming hosts, Melissa & Mark, to know that my right shoulder is now on the mend. We endorse all the fantastic reviews. You have made us so welcome in your beautiful and cosy home, which has been restored to such high standards. I love all the history behind it especially having slept in the Dick Whittington bedroom too which just oozes comfort and luxury and your special touch of hot water bottles and a tin of homemade shortbread to go with the varied tea and coffee was just so thoughtful. The roaring fire was so welcoming on our arrival, together with your freshly made sponge. The grounds and gardens were beautiful too and we managed to meet your friendly pigs and Batman, the cat. Thank you too for showing us round the new holiday let. We look forward to returning for a longer stay and wish you both continued success.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nellie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Owner at Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Hello Nellie - Thank you for your kind words about Pauntley Court B&B, we really appreciate your comments and are happy that your shoulder has improved. We look forward to seeing you both again in the near future and making your stay another special and memorable one. Many thanks, kind regards, Mark and Melissa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Arriving late afternoon, we made our way down the picturesque driveway, taking in the beautifully manicured lawns and gardens, to the entrance of the house.
Thankfully, Melissa had started up a log fire and after seeing our room, made our way to the lounge for tea and a freshly made Victoria sponge. A selection of papers and several cups of tea later, we got a taxi out to the Duke of York pub which is a short taxi ride away.
On our return, we were greeted with hot milk, carefully selected Neal's Yard toiletries and hot water bottles. A great nights sleep later, we made our way to breakfast with home made organic treats, warm bread and a great cooked breakfast.

Overall, the setting is perfect with the hospitality warm and indulging. I would recommend this B&B to anyone and hope to visit again in the future.

Tom & Jess, NW6

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Owner at Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Jess - Thank you for your kind comments, we are really thankful to know that our efforts to try to make our guests as comfortable as possible, seem to be working, which is enormously pleasing. We hope to see you again in the near future and would love to welcome you back to Pauntley Court.

Many thanks

Mark and Melissa Hargreaves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We were greeted at Pauntley Court by our lovely hostess, Melissa who welcomed us with tea and homemade cake by a roaring log fire. The house is breathtaking, with beautiful grounds and gardens. The rooms are perfectly elegant and extremely comfortable with everything you could possibly need from tea bags and chocolates to writing paper and dressing gowns.

Our hosts, Melissa and Mark were the incredibily welcoming and accommodating, taking every opportunity to ensure that our stay was the best it could possibly be. They arranged taxis to and from the wonderful 'Butcher's Arms' for an exquisite dinner from which we returned to find two fresh hot water bottles on our bedroom doorstep, and a gorgeous handmade bag with complimentary Neal's Yard soap inside.

We enjoyed a delicious home cooked breakfast in a beautifully elegant room overlooking the gardens with a view down to the lake, with local produce and home made bread rolls, juices and compotes.

We will definitely be returning for a longer stay in future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Owner at Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Hello Lydia,

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will come and see us again.

Kind regards

Mark and Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

What more can I add to earlier reviews other than to say that I endorse them completely? We have just returned from a blissful three night stay at Pauntley Court and feel utterly rejuvenated. We arrived to find the house glowing in Autumn's golden evening light, the terracotta hues of the walls reminiscent of houses from far-flung foreign climes. Stepping inside the beautiful interior we began to feel like specially invited house guests. We were warmly welcomed by Melissa Hargreaves and were looked after attentively yet unobtrusively by both Melissa and her husband Mark, throughout our visit; nothing was too much trouble and we felt instantly relaxed and at home. Thoughtful touches such as hot water bottles left out for us when we returned late after supper out and a delicious freshly-baked cake to have with tea after a busy day exploring were delightful surprises. We both enjoyed wonderful massages from Grania Naish of Unfold Massage during our stay and also one of Mark's excellent "rustic suppers" - actually, an intimate dinner taken in front of a crackling fire in the lovely ballroom, to the strains of Bach and Beethoven. Yes, it might be nice to be able to stay in and around the house during the day but there is so much to explore locally - beautiful countryside and interesting market towns, cathedrals and country houses. If going out for supper, don't make the mistake that we did and confuse the two establishments both called The Butcher's Arms! We have been captivated by the magic that this place weaves and have carried a little of that enchantment back with us into our everyday lives, to last until we are able to return one day ...

Room Tip: Both rooms are delightful but choose "John Masefield" if your preference is to luxuriate i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzy742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Owner at Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello Suzy. Thank you for your lovely comments, we are really pleased that you had such a great time at Pauntley Court and look forward to your return in the near future. We will definitely make sure that you end up at the Butcher's Arms at Eldersfield next time! Many thanks, Mark and Melissa Hargreaves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

An air of tranquility pervades this impeccably restored farmhouse (really more of a small manor), home to the Hargreaves family. They are new to the hospitality trade, but it doesn't show -- Melissa is a wonderful host, easy and thoughtful, and filled with the kind of warm curiosity about her guests that makes you come away feeling like you've visited friends for the weekend, rather than merely stopped over at a countryside B&B.

The setting is gorgeous, and utterly peaceful -- acres of rolling hills and farmland, through which you're free to wander. An evening walk could take you past the little medieval church at the end of the driveway, before sauntering over to feed a handful of grass to an inquisitive pony, or pick an apple or two for a profoundly grateful Gloucester Old Spot).

But it's the interior of the building that truly impresses -- the restoration is stunning, particularly in the old sitting room, with its roaring log fire, antique furniture and art, and minutely detailed painting on the old wooden beams. Guestrooms are comfortable and stylish. We chose the smaller of the two -- a pleasant, quiet space, from which the only sound we were ever aware was the cows on the hill overlooked by the bathroom.

There's no restaurant, but Melissa will fix you a delicious 'rustic supper' with a bit of notice (we were served fish pie and a heavenly bread and butter pudding with cointreau cream). Bring your own wine, though, as they don't have a license to sell alcohol. Otherwise there are some good pubs nearby, so we hear.

Pauntley Court was once the home of Dick Whittington - yes, THE Dick Whittington - and so it should come as no surprise that it's a place full of tales. The owners will happily chat to you about them, or show you a painstakingly researched book about the history of the house and the estate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack_4000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa H, Owner at Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Thank you for the glowing review. We really appreciate your comments and it inspires us to keep trying hard to make staying at Pauntley Court a special and unique experience. We also thought your photos that you have uploaded are great, and in particular the one of our pigs, Flotsam and Jetsam!
Many thanks and we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Mark and Melissa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redmarley D'Abitot
5.1 mi away
Corse Lawn House Hotel
Corse Lawn House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Corse Lawn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
17.0 mi away
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
Tudor Farmhouse Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clearwell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
23.9 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Speech House Hotel
The Speech House Hotel
#1 of 3 in Coleford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 656 reviews
8.6 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
12.3 mi away
Ferndale House
Ferndale House
#1 of 3 in Lydbrook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast

Property: Pauntley Court Luxury Bed & Breakfast
Address: Pauntley Court Pauntley Drive | Pauntley, Ledbury,, Redmarley D'Abitot GL19 3JA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Gloucestershire > Forest of Dean > Redmarley D'Abitot
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Redmarley D'Abitot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pauntley Court must be one of the most enchanting houses in which to stay. It is said to be the birthplace of Dick Whittington, who travelled from here to become Lord Mayor of London. Pauntley Court has beautiful formal gardens and is situated in a stunning position. The village of Pauntley is on the edge of the Cotswolds, two and half hours drive from London. Mark and Melissa welcome you. We have two beautiful Bed & Breakfast rooms in the main house and a third bedroom in our holiday let Elinor Fettiplace, which is a self catering wing off the main house. Pauntley is a peaceful and magical place to come and relax and enjoy the beautiful gloucestershire countryside away from the strains of modern day life. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing