We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mini Vacation”
Review of Tropicana Laughlin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tropicana Laughlin
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We were enticed to visit the Tropicana in Laughlin with a mailing offering complimentary rooms, with two food vouchers and free casino play. Our check in was smooth and even though it was 3:00 and check in was 4:00 our room in the adult tower was ready. The first thing we saw when we opened the door were the four inch white plantation shutters at the window. What a nice decorator touch! The room was furnished with two queen beds, a dresser, nightstand and table and chairs in a dark finish with brushed chrome pulls. Although there were three lamps in the room, they were all mismatched. The beds were comfortable and the linens nice. There was a coffee maker, hair dryer, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, clock and flat screen TV. There was a daily charge for internet access. The bathroom was tiny - a large person would struggle here. There was one sink and a fiberglass shower with glass doors and no tub. The bathroom door could not be opened or closed while sitting on the toilet. The toiletries were minimal - two bars of soap and a bottle of shampoo, but the towels were large and fluffy. We had fish and chips at Carnegie's Diner and were pleased with the large portions. The Roundhouse Buffet was an average buffet for Laughlin, but the desserts were disappointing. Passagio's Itaiian Restaurant was perfect and very reasonable. The Poolside Café offers coffee, bagels, wonderful pastries and gourmet sandwiches. There was a pool and two spas and were opened from 7am till 10pm. We had a great mini vacation and will return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the adult tower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SueAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

534 - 540 of 1,161 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed in the Tropicana as a stopover between the Grand Canyon and LA.

Laughlin, is an outdated Casino town that has a little character. The Tropicana, by day looks run down but at night with the lights looks like it belongs with the other hotels on the Vegas strip.

Rooms were comfortable, clean and tidy with a flat screen television, coffee maker and bathroom supplies.

I am not sure I would stay here for longer than one night but it makes a perfect stopover hotel and is quite reasonably priced.

Room Tip: We stayed in the larger tower at the back. Reception was quite. Distance to this building but was cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mgoodchild00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

On our last visit to Laughlin we were very disappointed in the Golden Nugget so we decided to try the Tropicana. The service here is much better and the quality of the rooms are good. Not a lot of things going on as far as entertainment but they do have a lounge act.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pulpwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had an Amazon Local deal, for 2 nights, 2 breakfasts at $89. Based on the reviews, we expected what could have been a disaster. Nice surprise. We were only able to stay 1 night and made arrangements to arrive early thru a somewhat difficult telephone reservation. When we got there, around 3 after all, the front desk clerk couldn't have been nicer. She switched us to the king bed, non smoking room we wanted all along, handled the voucher seamlessly, and gave us 2 vouchers, which we used for dinner and breakfast buffets - both really good, with unexpectedly great fruit and vegetables and good people watching with no rush to finish. Our room was perfectly fine: good bed, super clean, shower and bath clean and worked well, linens and all parts of the room clean and functional. The hallways are dark and there was no view but hey, does that really matter? We had a great little getaway, with good walks on the waterfront and water taxi at sunset. Location is good, parking was free, and it did us good to skip wifi for 24 hours (as with most hotels, it's a ridiculous charge). We would do it again!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lauranlauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I like the casino hotel better than the other hotel. It is closer and quieter since it is for over 21. The casino is small, but fun, with different slot machines. Could have more blackjack dealers! Weather was beautiful.


Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank sweeney47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Clean updated rooms,Great entertainment, and good food. We stayed 2 nights midweek for $50 a night which I think was a great value. The seafood buffet on Friday night was a good deal for $17. They had two good cover bands playing each night. We did gamble a little which was fun. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegasdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We got there and were excited they let us check in early. But room wasn't finished being cleaned or, that's the way they are cleaned. Tried to put us into smoking room, even though it firmly stated non smoking on my reservation. We ended up with NON, but only after they made it seem like they were doing us a great favor. The room was ok, not 5 star, but in good shape. They only have shutters so lights from signs shined in room all night. A/C was either freezing cold or warm.
They ended up comping us another stay, just not sure I want to go back. DO NOT eat at buffet , we tried it twice. Lunch and dinner it was horrible. Housekeeping needs to be retrained, don't leave a tip envelope if room is not clean!
WE stayed at
Edgewater last stay and Beds were the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Rooms were nice and CLEAN. So I will be going back and stay at the Edgewater.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bolx22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.4 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort, BW Premier Collection
0.2 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
386 reviews
0.9 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
10,145 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropicana Laughlin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropicana Laughlin

Address: 2121 S. Casino Drive, Laughlin, NV 89029-1519 (Formerly Tropicana Express)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range: $28 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropicana Laughlin 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Tropicana Laughlin, we thrive on remaining your number one vacation destination along the Colorado River. Our charming property features an expansive gaming floor, complete with roulette, blackjack, craps and tournaments, clean & modern hotel rooms, and nightly entertainment throughout our several concert venues. When you're ready to crash, enjoy our two 1500-room hotel towers, newly renovated and tailored to your needs. Splash around in our gorgeous outdoor pool located in our Town Square area, outfitted with plenty of lounging, jumbo TV and an adorable coffee/sandwich cafe. Cool off inside by browsing our gift shops or sitting down to dine at one of our several restaurants and bars located alongside the casino floor. When the sun goes down and the casino glows green, stick around to catch one of our legendary entertainers at Tango's Lounge or outdoors in our Victory Plaza - we promise it will be worth your while! Interested in booking a large event or wedding reception? We've got that covered, too! Call or visit us today to inquire about our two spacious private event rooms, accessed by a dazzling spiral staircase and draped in classic decor. Oh, and did we mention free WiFi capabilities in all public areas?! There's so much to see, what are you waiting for! Tropicana Laughlin is a Tropicana Entertainment Property. Tropicana Entertainment Inc. Owns and operates eight (8) casinos and resorts in Indiana, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, New Jersey Aruba and Missouri. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cancelon so you can book your Tropicana Laughlin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropicana Express Hotel Laughlin
Tropicana Express Laughlin Nv

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing