We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOR PETS” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Fullerton, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“GREAT FOR PETS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed for four nights in a king room with our Golden Retriever. All in all, it was a really good stay and wonderful for our dog. We got a nice non-smoking room with great air conditoning. Liked the old western feel of the decor. Rather than being out-of-date, it was refreshingly different and had personality. TV was small, but I do not go to Laughlin to watch TV....I can do that at home. Our room was clean and Russell, our housekeeper, was really awesome and willing to help in any way he could. However, I did see into some of the other pet rooms which looked just terrible so that is why some other reviews are bad. But some other rooms were good, too. Having said that however, I did notice that the management are redoing some of the rooms, so hopefully soon they will all be acceptable to us guests. Our bed was clean, comfortable, and we got a good night's sleep. We would definitely stay there again. It was great being able to park the car outside the room. The hotel is well-situated and their part of the river walk is the nicest. The casino is charming, but slots too tight, but there are lots of other casinos to choose from with looser machines. Downside for us was that we got a connecting room so we could hear our neighbors even though they were a quiet couple.....HATE CONNECTING DOORS. Also, on arrival the receptionist was not at all nice, but beyond those couple of things we had a really good time. The other people on the desk were very nice. If you get a terrible room or sagging bed.....refuse it.....Maybe then management will improve them all for us. For the price we paid, we feel we had a good deal, especially as our dog was welcome.

Room Tip: If you get a bad room or sagging bed, refuse it, and ask for another one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank GoldenSong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    94
    67
    55
    70
See reviews for
75
145
39
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Lake Havasu City, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed at the Pioneer for the first time and it was a totally enjoyable experience. The entire staff was very friendly and ready to assist you with anything you required. Very quiet during the night.

Room Tip: Stay in the back for a river view and you can park your car right in front of your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

if you want a place that's clean ,well maintained and reasonable this is it try to get the river front rooms , for that old time motel feel always have a good time -------------------------------------

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank don s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Our stay here was freat. The front desk employees were were GREAT!! Always cheerful and friendly. The rooms were cheap but very clean. But who spends there time in room anyway. We loved the hotel. We would not hesitate to stay there again. The waitors in resturant were excellent. Can not say anything bad, it was great!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie4655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buena Park, California
Level Contributor
99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

I was looking for a cheap place to stay on the river and got so much more. It started with Pam at the reservation desk. I called in to make a reservation and wanted something special for my girlfriend and was told that the river view rooms were sold out but asked her to give me the best she had. When I arrived to check in I was told Pam had a surprise we went to our room to find we had a beautiful waterfront river view! The whole weekend the staff was amazing and so friendly from the restaurant to the maintenance staff. Very cool western atmosphere! Delicious food for an amazing price never thought of going to any other buffet in town. Central spot in town make it perfect for the river walk!!! Can't wait to come back next summer...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Post Falls, Idaho
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Really rude staff. Especially at check in, even the supervisor, Donna doesnt like people. The room is full of bugs. The mattress is old and our dog growls at it. Its a non smoking room...NOT! The wall paper is peeling from the walls. NO WI FI, even though they advertise free wifi. When I asked when wifi would be available I was told never and to go to the mall. Just a super rude supervisor. Couldnt get one of the four pop machines to work and they ate the $2 everytime. When I reported it to a staff member (whom I believe was a maid) he said, "I dont care". Our 22nd anniversary is a bust and all the hotels afe sold due to the holiday. Crap. Spending money on a terrible memory. The pool has duck pooh in it and gets sun only one hour a day. Waited a hour forbreakfast and finally left hungry.

Room Tip: Stay at the Gold Nugget. Great staff, pool and rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sheri W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

Edmonton
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We were traveling through to Yuma with my mother in law and her cat. This seems to be the only pet friendly hotel in Laughlin. Very rundown. Old carpet on the floor, old old bedspreads, tv's from the 60's and staff that really doesnt seem to give a damm. We asked for non smoking. We were put in a room that must of become non smoking an hour before we got there. There was no way we were going to stay in that room.. the front desk clerk just looked annoyed when I told him that.. didnt say sorry or anything.. just handed me another key for another room. The casino seemed a bit sketchy..all in all unless you have a pet i wouldn't bother with this one..

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank dixiebelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.2 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#3 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 stars 2,372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
0.8 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
4.0 of 5 stars 5,950 reviews
0.3 mi away
Laughlin River Lodge
Laughlin River Lodge
#9 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Property: Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Address: 2200 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1515
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laughlin
#11 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme located right on the historic Colorado River. The Pioneer has earned its well-known reputation as the "Friendliest House on the River". At the Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, our Guestrooms are being refurbished, and new amenities have been added to our guestrooms....complimentary bottled water, complimentary in-room coffee, and upon request, iron with ironing boards, and mini-refrigerators Our Pet Rooms are all tiled floor. Great Friendly Services, and lots of activities to do in Laughlin, NV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing