We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Red Deer, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap and Clean”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Pioneer Hotel was quiet, clean and all the amenities we wanted especially for 28.00. We would stay there anytime. We were travelling to Yuma, so we just wanted a bed and carry on down the road. We did not gamble.

Room Tip: We wanted a room with 2 queen beds, bottom floor so I could step out for a smoke. For 28.00 could no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    116
    82
    63
    86
See reviews for
101
173
44
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second stay at Pioneer. My husband and I like to visit Laughlin for a nice getaway. Our first stay was in a comped room and it was pretty unpleasant- the rooms are clean I'll give them that but the bed was uncomfortable and the tv was small. This stay we came for the Reba concert and got a river front suite. Again, very clean, spacious room but the beds are old. We brought our own sheets, blanket and pillows this time which helped. Shower has good water pressure and lots of hot water and river view can't be beat. Pioneer is well maintained outside and Granny's has good breakfast. Parking is great because you can park in front of your room and its a central location to several casinos and the mall. Overall, its a good place for the money but I prefer other hotels in Laughlin.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liz1567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The rooms are reasonably good size. The decor is sort of western-homey with unique wallpaper up a part of the walls. Chairs and all are homey. I was going to splurge on a river-view suite at $69 but did not. But, $69 won't get a suite anywhere else. Good thing about this is you can park your car and go right into the room without having to drag your bags a quarter mile in a big hotel parking lot/garage.

Room Tip: Try a suite for $69. They have bars and more room. Come on, spoil the little girl one time. For sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Larry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yachats, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

Don't waste your time here! The room was old, dirty, smelled like an old bar (booze, smoke and sweat). The carpet was beyond filthy. It was torn and just plain nasty. Pay the extra and stay at one of the other hotels.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, at least get a room with a view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jess w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

The room was nice and clean. It was very simple and the bed was fine. Also, had a tub/shower combo but not nothing fancy. It's was a great place for a couple nights stay. The staff was friendly from checking in, to the bartender and to the cocktail waitress. We liked that everything was close and you can basically walk between casinos. We had a good time in the casino and inexpensive slot machines but didn't win very much but had a good time. The waitress kept the drinks flowing and we kept tipping her too. You basically park your car in front of your room and I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Great place and walking distance to other casinos. Also, nice place to walk on the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Utah_traveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Havasu City, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Stayed in a non dog comp room. Better than the pet rooms as far as cleanliness of carpets and beds. Perhaps there has been a little work done on all the rooms in preparation for the winter visitors. This room was well worth going to bed in.
The casino seems to have lost some of its better slots. Cocktails waitresses do well with the free drinks. Older crowd and many locals. This casino has an old time feel to it and may be past its prime, but I do enjoy it. The dog rooms require a refundable deposit and the area for dogs is nice and grassy. Worth a try if you are not expecting glitz and up to date furnishings. Asked for a room change once and it was cheerfully accomplished. It is nice not to have to walk through the casino to get to your room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravelerWithDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
2,820 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lodge on the River
Lodge on the River
#4 of 14 in Bullhead City
128 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
8,966 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Property: Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Address: 2200 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1515
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laughlin
#11 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme located right on the historic Colorado River. The Pioneer has earned its well-known reputation as the "Friendliest House on the River". At the Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, our Guestrooms are being refurbished, and new amenities have been added to our guestrooms....complimentary bottled water, complimentary in-room coffee, and upon request, iron with ironing boards, and mini-refrigerators Our Pet Rooms are all tiled floor. Great Friendly Services, and lots of activities to do in Laughlin, NV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing