We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Threadbare, rode hard and put up to dry.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Sacramento
Level Contributor
128 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Threadbare, rode hard and put up to dry.”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Maybe the view rooms are good but the parallel units behind are worn out. Cheap but not a good value. The place lacks good maintenance and upkeep. Comparable to one of the many forgotten mid-century properties in the shadow of the Vegas strip. Not the worst place I've stayed, but I won't be back. Morning breakfast was served by a surly waitress whom I somehow offended, and I hadn't said a word. Place was empty, yet she sat me in booth neart the entrance with no river view and didn't bother to tell me about a breakfast buffet.

Entire experience was a huge turn-off. Never plan to be back to Laughlin again. Seems the people here are just waiting to die.

Room Tip: Apparently spend more attention to the river view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curtismapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    115
    81
    62
    84
See reviews for
99
171
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

After a long days driving we needed a place to sleep for the night and just happened to drive by the Pioneer Hotel. It had outside access to the rooms which we like so we stayed. The place is falling apart and needs serious renovations, it's decorated in 1960's farmhouse style and is all worn out. Bathroom light was full of bugs and it smelled of cleaner / deodorizer. We were near the pool and hot tub and there was drunken singing and loud voices late into the night and the people in the room next door were coming and going until 3am. Front desk was nice but knowing we were travellers they could have put us in a quieter area. The main resort and restaurants are pretty run down and everything smells of cigarette smoke. Unless you are a gambler and smoker I would give this a pass. We ate dinner and breakfast at the hotels on either side which were far nicer.

Room Tip: If you have to stay, ask for a room on the far side from the pool and casino or possibly a room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

Port Orchard, Washington
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

approx 33 yr old, best of the older low teaser price. Have stayed at two others close by and found this one cleaner and great service. Opted for the riverside 3d floor as can't beat the morning wake up view. Despite mixed reviews on the breakfast buffut, we found it to be very good value, great taste large variety. Plenty for the none meat eater. We did go in at 7 am, so was freshly stocked. I wonder if some of those disappointed went near the end of the meal? I also liked that the parking is near the room, rather than off in a garage. Our room and the common areas were very clean. Will opt here in the future.

Room Tip: Given the mixed reviews, ask to see your room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Arriving at the hotel I felt like a local as the hotel staff were very freindly and made me feel welcome. The rooms are in desperate need of renovation, however the price was right for what I got. The rooms are well used and need new furnature, fixtures,doors, locks, beds,tv etc, etc, etc.
I do have to say the room was clean and functional and for the price I paid I would probably stay here again. If you are looking for just a place to sleep then this will be ok. If you are wanting to spend some time in the hotel room then I would recommend another hotel. This was my only complaint about the Pioneer, as the restaurant and the gaming area etc are excellent. Please see my review on the boarding house restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nearpar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

"Best of the Best" is not a fair assesment. This place is in horrible shape. Photos attached are upon check in. The hotel was booked and there was nowhere else to go and we were being charged.

Needless to say, we will not be back. It's time they address the problems they have.

No appliances are a joke! It's a sad day when management can't afford the basic appliances provided by all the hotels and establishments around them. People can go next door to Starbucks for coffee, we did each morning. We also found Harlow's is a wonderful restaurant with great staff and clean as a whistle! It was pretty hard to overlook (and this is 100% accurate); No hot water, or no water for showers, running toilets, over flowing toilets on first flush, no working phone to call to report issues, no working television remote. Did I mention the filth, (see photos) there was mold everywhere, not sure WHAT was on the wall in pictures attached, splattered dry blood(?), questioning what it was. We were locked out of our room, our cards shut off for no apparent reason after the maid came. When we went to the desk to have it corrected, nobody confirmed we were actually staying in the room we said we were. They didn't ask for ID, the counter clerk just whipped out two fresh cards and handed them out!!!!! There are no credit cards taken at the bar in the casino; Pioneer suuuuuuure would have made a boatload of money off the group we had up there - everyone took their money elsewhere to gamble/drink/eat and had a marvelous clean time. The staff enjoyed the tips too!!!!!!!!

I don't care what's advertised on the flashing neon sign, there is no best of anything.

Room Tip: I've got nothing. Buyer/Traveler beware.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wiffqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beulah, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

booked 5 days in a dog friendy room,strong urine smell,decor from 1950,waGON WHELL THEME SHEETS ,HEADBOARDS,dirty carpet,13 inch tv,norman rockwell paintings on walls,we have stayed in many dog motels,motel 6 ,red roof inns etc,they still clean rooms,here they do not clean,we went camping after 1 night in 40 degree weather it was a upgrade over this.could not eat snacks in room due to smell etc whole property is dingey including casino.we left after 1 night and we are not pickey.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

I have to admit my perception of hotel/motel values has changed since HOTEL IMPOSSIBLE has dawned. I pay closer attention to all aspects of my vacation stays. My second visit to the Pioneer was even better than the first. Chose a riverfront non-smoking suite and was most pleasantly surprised. Check-in staff was rather humorous and the room is by far the best $40/including taxes room I have EVER stayed in anywhere! Tested everything from hot water in sinks and shower to toilet flushing to availability of electrical outlets. Outstanding all around.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianMillerSantee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
2,775 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Bullhead City
Days Inn Bullhead City
#1 of 14 in Bullhead City
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
8,633 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Property: Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Address: 2200 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1515
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laughlin
#11 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme located right on the historic Colorado River. The Pioneer has earned its well-known reputation as the "Friendliest House on the River". At the Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, our Guestrooms are being refurbished, and new amenities have been added to our guestrooms....complimentary bottled water, complimentary in-room coffee, and upon request, iron with ironing boards, and mini-refrigerators Our Pet Rooms are all tiled floor. Great Friendly Services, and lots of activities to do in Laughlin, NV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing