We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Laughlin
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheap!”
Reviewed September 24, 2011

For the price you can't expect the Hilton. Beds are a little on the hard side and room is dated. They DO NOT have hair dryers, which sucked! Price is cheap and hotel is centrally located ... Not much more to say.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MzSpoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    115
    81
    60
    84
See reviews for
96
171
44
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

My husband and I didn't stay at the Pioneer, but did stop in for the first time while in Laughlin. Our first stop was to Sassy Sue's Saloon. We played at the quarter machines at the back end of the bar, where you have a chance to win a $25 free play bonus if you hit a 4 of a kind on "Beat the Deck." For more information on how this works: http://www.pioneerlaughlin.com/sassy-sue.htm

We each hit an open card & won the bonus! We then ventured into the casino and played at the bar. Both of us got a hand pay there!

This is a blast from the past, as all winnings come out in coin. My hand pay was for $400.00 due to the machine not having enough coins! lol

We went back a second time on a different day and hit Sassy Sue's once again. It was a nice surprise to find that they were serving free hot dogs during the football game. The bartendar even gave us each a free koozie for our beer. Beers are served in cans. There was a raffle at the end of the game, although we didn't win. The raffle tickets were given every time a drink was ordered (which is comped while playing).

We've been to Laughlin three times, and this is the first time we've been to the Pioneer. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaughlinSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed at the Pioneer in laughlin this time, I always stay at the belle, but since the passing of my husband a year ago, it just doesnt seem the same, and it seems to be impossible to win at the belle anymore, and they've taken out a lot of their machines, I dont' know why, but I've seem to win at pioneer so thought i would stay there for a change, and i always eat breakfast at their buffet, very good, and the rooms were very nice, and the best thing about the pioneer is when your in your room they have cable tv, which the belle does not, they only have about 10 channels, so that was great, the only thing i didnt like is that all the riverview rooms are smoking only, and I like to have a view of the river and dont want to smell smoke, so next time i will be back at the belle for that reason only.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jbrick8125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I LOVE the Pioneer. This is my 4th visit - I wouldn't think of staying anywhere else. Full moon over the Colorado River, complimentary first cocktail for ladies, and the friendliest staff around. Can't wait to come back and jet ski on the river!

Room Tip: ask for river view - definitely! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali-Jae A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I enjoyed the cozy atmosphere of the casino and sportsbook, as well as the western theme of the hotel. Everything was reasonably priced from the room to the food. Beat view of the Colorado River in Laughlin. Beach on property was awesome and convenient. The landscape was great, I appreciated the convenient parking... Very close to my room. I highly reccomend the Pioneer for a weekend away whether you're traveling with family, your wife/husband, friends or by yourself!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DougJC8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banning
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

our second trip to THE PIONEER was just awful, no ice in any of the machines ,the room was horrible stained carpet mis matched furniture beds were older than dirt and hard, whom ever made the beds had no idea how to make a bed, leaking toliet, and the toliet seat was old with splits and bubbles in it,the sink dripped constantly and there was stains in the sink also .Also the TV was so small you had to sit directly in front of it in order to see it.Curtain had a rip in it. Just to say we will not be back to that place again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank jreynoldsBanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Laughlin hotels

San Bernardino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

the pool is nice, you don't see it from the street very sunny and nice! The gambling hall was great! Food and evening staff in Boarding House were helpful, entertaining and pleasant. Service and food was great for the price. We had all you can eat ribs, tender, juicy with Sweet Baby Ray's sauce and the fixin's were also good.

Room Tip: nothing to say here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chef4sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Laughlin
0.6 mi away
Aquarius Casino Resort
Aquarius Casino Resort
#2 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,728 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colorado Belle Hotel & Casino
0.3 mi away
Tropicana Laughlin
Tropicana Laughlin
#7 of 11 in Laughlin
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Lodge on the River
Lodge on the River
#4 of 14 in Bullhead City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.7 mi away
Harrah's Laughlin
Harrah's Laughlin
#1 of 11 in Laughlin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8,273 reviews
0.4 mi away
Edgewater Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall

Property: Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall
Address: 2200 S Casino Dr, Laughlin, NV 89029-1515
Location: United States > Nevada > Laughlin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Laughlin
#11 Casino Hotel in Laughlin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 380
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casino resort with an Old Western theme located right on the historic Colorado River. The Pioneer has earned its well-known reputation as the "Friendliest House on the River". At the Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall, our Guestrooms are being refurbished, and new amenities have been added to our guestrooms....complimentary bottled water, complimentary in-room coffee, and upon request, iron with ironing boards, and mini-refrigerators Our Pet Rooms are all tiled floor. Great Friendly Services, and lots of activities to do in Laughlin, NV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Pioneer Hotel & Gambling Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Hotel And Gambling Hall
Pioneer Hotel Gambling Hall
Pioneer Laughlin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing